Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
has anyone ever used
Old 05-08-2004, 09:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
LivingINDaytona

 
JaysonFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35280
Location: Daytona Beach. Fl.
Posts: 741
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to JaysonFromMaine Send a message via Yahoo to JaysonFromMaine

JaysonFromMaine is offline IP: 165.121.130.51
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

both a 2X and a 1.4X teleconverter ( in this case on 70-210 2.0 zoom ) or any other lens at the same time...i have some photos i wish to take but my 70-210 even with the 2x is to short...??
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JaysonFromMaine Visit JaysonFromMaine's homepage! Find More Posts by JaysonFromMaine
 
Yes, BUT
Old 05-08-2004, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35679
Location: Escondido
Posts: 852
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Soujrnr Send a message via Yahoo to Soujrnr

Soujrnr is offline IP: 68.171.206.81
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

you're going to have some very significant light loss and so if you do this, I hope it's for an outside shot or you have a good tripod and autofocus. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] Also, when you put TWO teleconverters in front of a lens, your images will be only as good as the cheapest glass in the chain. I take it that you want to photograph something that you can't get near or at least closer to?

Hey Jayson, I got to play with the new Nikon D70 tonight! Very nice piece of equipment! It's also only $999 but I have to call Jason in NJ because I promised him I'd never buy from Ritz...LOL Besides, Jason is way cooler than the guy at Ritz. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] (Jason, are you reading this???)

Need to run for now. It's way past my bedtime. Have a great weekend!!

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Soujrnr Visit Soujrnr's homepage! Find More Posts by Soujrnr
 
Re: has anyone ever used
Old 05-08-2004, 10:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
rixafter6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Member GG#: 37576
Location: Near Kansas City
Posts: 697
Comments: 0

rixafter6 is offline IP: 68.86.70.5
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You'll need to open your apeture up at least 3-1/2 stops (one stop per magnification ratio) if you use both of them together and your image will probably not be sharp. There's going to be a lot of glass between your subject and the film plane. Don't forget your tripod and cable release.

Rick D.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rixafter6 Visit rixafter6's homepage! Find More Posts by rixafter6
 
Re: Yes, BUT
Old 05-08-2004, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
LivingINDaytona

 
JaysonFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35280
Location: Daytona Beach. Fl.
Posts: 741
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to JaysonFromMaine Send a message via Yahoo to JaysonFromMaine

JaysonFromMaine is offline IP: 165.121.130.51
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

i want to get some red wing blackbirds at a marsh near where i live....but thay like to stay just to far away ...i am looking at the newer sigma APO teleconverters..my current 2 X kinda stinkith....as far as light loss it would be out doors... figure 3 stops loss of light that gives me F8 from my 2.8 ..i think....... I am haveing lunch with jade tomorrow finaly
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JaysonFromMaine Visit JaysonFromMaine's homepage! Find More Posts by JaysonFromMaine
 
Re: has anyone ever used
Old 05-08-2004, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
LivingINDaytona

 
JaysonFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35280
Location: Daytona Beach. Fl.
Posts: 741
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to JaysonFromMaine Send a message via Yahoo to JaysonFromMaine

JaysonFromMaine is offline IP: 165.121.130.51
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

my nice heavy 4x5 tripod....
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JaysonFromMaine Visit JaysonFromMaine's homepage! Find More Posts by JaysonFromMaine
 
also what about extention tubes??? (nm)
Old 05-08-2004, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
LivingINDaytona

 
JaysonFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35280
Location: Daytona Beach. Fl.
Posts: 741
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to JaysonFromMaine Send a message via Yahoo to JaysonFromMaine

JaysonFromMaine is offline IP: 165.121.130.51
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JaysonFromMaine Visit JaysonFromMaine's homepage! Find More Posts by JaysonFromMaine
 
Re: has anyone ever used
Old 05-08-2004, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
rixafter6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Member GG#: 37576
Location: Near Kansas City
Posts: 697
Comments: 0

rixafter6 is offline IP: 68.86.70.5
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That'll work [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rixafter6 Visit rixafter6's homepage! Find More Posts by rixafter6
 
Re: also what about extention tubes??? (nm)
Old 05-08-2004, 10:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
rixafter6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Member GG#: 37576
Location: Near Kansas City
Posts: 697
Comments: 0

rixafter6 is offline IP: 68.86.70.5
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

only good for macro/micro work. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

Rick D.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rixafter6 Visit rixafter6's homepage! Find More Posts by rixafter6
 
Re: Yes, BUT
Old 05-09-2004, 09:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35679
Location: Escondido
Posts: 852
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Soujrnr Send a message via Yahoo to Soujrnr

Soujrnr is offline IP: 68.171.206.81
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi Jayson. Photographing birds usually requires some very large lenses and a blind to get the really good, frame-filling shots unless it's a pteradactyl or something of that size. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] If you see a pteradactyl, forget the camera and run like hell or else you'll be dinner. LOL

Anyway, if you do decide to go with a teleconverter or two, make sure you don't buy a cheap one. You'll be adding a lot of glass in between your lens and the "film plane" and so you'll want to insure that it's GOOD glass. I used to shoot a lot of images with a 2x and a 1.4x years ago but I have yet to find one that is really sharp. They lose sharpness even though it appears perfectly focused. Must be something to do with the way the teleconverter manipulates the light as well as the quality of the converter. Like I said in my last post, your image will only be as good as the cheapest glass you use.

I hope you and Jade have a good time together. Tell her I said hi and hope we can work together again soon. I found a large costume shop here in Lewiston and would love to have her check it out with me and see if she'd like to do a shoot with a couple outfits.

Need to run for now. Have a great day!

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Soujrnr Visit Soujrnr's homepage! Find More Posts by Soujrnr
 
Can\'t recommend it
Old 05-09-2004, 03:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35218
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 717
Comments: 0

Doug_Lester is offline IP: 66.32.122.115
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I don't recommend using two teleco0nverters together, not at all. There's simply too much bouncing around of the light within the lens, it'll almost guarantee a loss of sharpnes. Rather than use two, I would recommend going to a single 3x or 5x converter. Another option would be to find an inepensive mirror (catadioptric) lens. there are a few problems associated with cat lenses, but far fewer than using multiple teleconverters together.
Distinctive Images
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Doug_Lester Visit Doug_Lester's homepage! Find More Posts by Doug_Lester
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93