Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Alienbees and Pocket Wizards
Old 03-25-2004, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Dax
Lifetime Photographer

 
Dax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35270
Location: Miami // Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 284
Comments: 0

Dax is offline IP: 67.34.80.211
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

My PW are not working with my alienbees.. anyone have this same problem? The wizards, work perfectly with my profotos, but not with alienbees.. =(
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dax Visit Dax's homepage! Find More Posts by Dax
 
I have the same setup.......
Old 03-25-2004, 09:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
adman227
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 24.166.162.98
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



B1600's and Pocket Wizards...and no problems.

What camera are you using? My friend came over the other night with his Hasseblad 500, and we couldn't get the camera to trigger the flash using the "wizards", but could with the sync cord. It obviously is a polarity issue.

 
 
S2
Old 03-25-2004, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Dax
Lifetime Photographer

 
Dax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35270
Location: Miami // Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 284
Comments: 0

Dax is offline IP: 67.34.80.144
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Actually now that you say that I have not tried it with my 35mm camera. But what is weird is that they do work ( s2 - profotos - PW ) Im gonna try to fire the AB with the PW and my 35mm camera.

Weird.. =(
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dax Visit Dax's homepage! Find More Posts by Dax
 
Re: Alienbees and Pocket Wizards
Old 03-25-2004, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oddly Irritating

 
ErnieR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35404
Location: Paragould
Posts: 260
Comments: 2

ErnieR is offline IP: 147.97.130.243
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You probably just need to replace the sync cord. My suggestion is to go to Radio Shack. You can get a 6 foot mini phone to mini phone cable for $3.50 that is much better than the $17 one you can get from Paramount or any other photo outlet. That is unless the profoto lights use the same plug as the Alien Bees light...which would seem to mean that it's something else. I used to have used my pocket wizards on alien bees before with no problem.


  View Public Profile Send a private message to ErnieR Visit ErnieR's homepage! Find More Posts by ErnieR
 
check the polarity of the outlets
Old 03-25-2004, 08:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35230
Location: new york
Posts: 478
Comments: 1
Send a message via AIM to glennusdin Send a message via Yahoo to glennusdin

glennusdin is offline IP: 68.83.79.157
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

had a problem with alien bees a few years ago. I called the factory and they told me that if the outlet was wired wrong, the bees would not synch correctly. I thought they were crazy and found out that were correct.

try the lights in another building and see what happens.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to glennusdin Visit glennusdin's homepage! Find More Posts by glennusdin
 
Re: Alienbees and Pocket Wizards
Old 03-25-2004, 10:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dax
Lifetime Photographer

 
Dax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35270
Location: Miami // Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 284
Comments: 0

Dax is offline IP: 67.34.80.144
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Funny...

I did call Alienbees and they said that it MAY be the fact that I am using Radio Shack cords.. hehehe... They are gonna send me some and see what happens.

thanks for the pointers!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dax Visit Dax's homepage! Find More Posts by Dax
 
Re: check the polarity of the outlets
Old 03-25-2004, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dax
Lifetime Photographer

 
Dax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35270
Location: Miami // Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 284
Comments: 0

Dax is offline IP: 67.34.80.144
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Will try that!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dax Visit Dax's homepage! Find More Posts by Dax
 
I am using Rat Shaq cords with mine
Old 03-29-2004, 12:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.8.57
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

HAHAH never had a problem with them on my bees or pw. however you might wanna make sure you have a mono audio plug and not the stereo...I figure you probably already checked that but hey only thing I can think of.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Re: Alienbees and Pocket Wizards
Old 03-30-2004, 12:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Oddly Irritating

 
ErnieR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35404
Location: Paragould
Posts: 260
Comments: 2

ErnieR is offline IP: 147.97.130.243
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That is funny. If that solves the problem please let us know. I've never had a problem with the radio shack cords but sometimes the cords from paramount have a monophone on one end and a stereo on the other. I don't guess that is paramounts fault, just the guy who filled the order. Anyway. I'd like to know. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ErnieR Visit ErnieR's homepage! Find More Posts by ErnieR
 
GOT IT!
Old 03-30-2004, 11:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Dax
Lifetime Photographer

 
Dax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35270
Location: Miami // Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 284
Comments: 0

Dax is offline IP: 67.34.80.144
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

oK, I tried the cords that the guys at alienbees sent me ( for free by the way ) and they work fine! =))

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dax Visit Dax's homepage! Find More Posts by Dax
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pocket Wizard Zakd Tech Talk Forum 4 04-01-2011 12:00 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93