Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
I BROKE MY 10D!!!!
Old 02-25-2004, 02:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
DWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35859
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 251
Comments: 0

DWilson is offline IP: 198.161.43.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Okay, well, I didn't break it on purpose and I didn't even know it was broken till I went to use it a couple weeks ago. I was driving down this hill during rush hour and noticed that the moon was haning in the sunrise sky. It was hovering just above a large bridge that crosses our river. It was great shot from my distant vantage point. Since traffic was at a stand still I reached of to my passenger seat where my 10D sits while traveling and picked it up to take a shot. Since it was early morning there wasn't a whole lot of light yet. Also, even though traffic was pretty much stopped I could have had to move at any moment. So I decided to switch my usual MANUAL mode to FULLY AUTOMATIC.

I could not make the switch!!!!!

However, it wasn't because there was a mechanical problem. It wasn't because the camera wouldn't register the change on the dial.

It was because I couldn't tell where to turn the dial to!!!! The little label plate that has all the diagrams for the different settings has gone missing!!!

With enough time to check what options are active and such I can figure out what setting I'm on, but it's a real hassle. The only setting I'm sure of is MANUAL. Turn the dial all the way clockwise and back one click! Beyond that is a struggle.

So, other than finding a picture online or using my partner's camera for the details and making my own cardboard label, would anyone happen to know where I could get an actual replacement? The camera actually works fine but my local shops have to send the whole thing away just to get that label replaced.

Thanks a bunch! See ya!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DWilson Visit DWilson's homepage! Find More Posts by DWilson
 
Re: I BROKE MY 10D!!!!
Old 02-25-2004, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
King of Useless Facts
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35691
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 499
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to StMarc

StMarc is offline IP: 67.100.161.234
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You might try making a new dial by using pictures from the web. You could scale it by measuring the diameter of your function dial, print it, laminate the top, and cut it out. I'd print it on a good printer, then use Twin-Tack to make it a sticker and put some Form-X film on the top to seal it.

There is a fairly good picture of the function dial here:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2003_...s/10d_pg3.html

There is also one on Canon's 10D website, but that's flash and you'd have to do a screen capture, I can't give you a direct link. You could probably also find more on the web in various places, or you could ask someone here to take one with a spare camera and send it to you. If you still have your manual, there might be a good picture of it in there that you could scan or take a photograph of.

St. Marc
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StMarc Visit StMarc's homepage! Find More Posts by StMarc
 
Quick method
Old 02-25-2004, 05:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 24.0.99.79
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Well if you turn it all the way to the right, that setting is:
Auto Depth of Feild

1 click left, manual
2 clicks left, AV
3 clicks left, TV
4 clicks left, P
5 clicks left, The green rectangle (total auto)

The rest are the settings that hardly anyone uses.

Hope this helps!
Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: I BROKE MY 10D!!!!
Old 02-25-2004, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
DWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35859
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 251
Comments: 0

DWilson is offline IP: 198.161.43.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hmmm, yeah I'd kinda like a more professional approach if possible...As a last resort I'll do the whole McGyver thing but I'd rather not.

Thanks for the tips though.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DWilson Visit DWilson's homepage! Find More Posts by DWilson
 
As a fellow 10D user ...
Old 02-25-2004, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 152.163.253.33
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I fully understand how not having the dial guide would suck. So ... after a quick visit to the digital photo review site and some fast tinkering in Photoshop ... one temporary knob guide at your service!

ftp://members.aol.com/hicspix/10Dknob.jpg

You will need to size it down in Photoshop since I was too lazy to actually size the thing for you. But I did run it through Genuine Fractals to give you max resolution for when you print it out. I also embedded a clipping path in the file for your convenience.

If you'd rather cut and paste, here it is too ...

[img]ftp://members.aol.com/hicspix/10Dknob.jpg[/img]

Take care,
Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Re: As a fellow 10D user ...
Old 02-25-2004, 07:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
DWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35859
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 251
Comments: 0

DWilson is offline IP: 198.161.43.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hehehe....actually I think it was the carrying it around in -40C weather that just caused the glue to crack free...

Thanks for the work! I'll definitely use it if it's my only option...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DWilson Visit DWilson's homepage! Find More Posts by DWilson
 
Re: As a fellow 10D user ...
Old 02-25-2004, 07:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
hicspix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35341
Location: Phoenixville
Posts: 866
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to hicspix

hicspix is offline IP: 152.163.253.33
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Glad to be of help.

Dave
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hicspix Visit hicspix's homepage! Find More Posts by hicspix
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I went to a car show and a photo shoot broke out! bnchrcr Main Community Forum 7 12-07-2005 02:47 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94