Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Lighting Questions
Old 02-21-2004, 09:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime of Obsession

Member GG#: 38218
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to kevgre Send a message via AIM to kevgre Send a message via Yahoo to kevgre

kevgre is offline IP: 69.139.84.170

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I am purchasing all new strobes for my studio, and as my background is in available light, I'm interested in some recommendations from the "seasoned" pros out there.

First, I am getting conflicting power stories from the various people I talk to. Some say for a 15x15' studio room 120WS is fine (4 light setup), and others say that 600WS minimum is what I want.

The main recommendation was a large softbox on the front, 2 fill lights (reflected umbrellas) and a hair highlight (overhead).. I have all the other hardware I need, but lights are a bit confusing.. Help if you can.. Thanks in advance.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kevgre Visit kevgre's homepage! Find More Posts by kevgre

Re: Lighting Questions
Old 02-21-2004, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 35872
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.166.209.153

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I'm not clear on what you are asking. Are you meaning to say that the 4 lights will total 120 WS (or each will be 120 WS). 120 WS for all 4 combined would be totally unacceptable. I have a 15 by 15 studio (more or less) and use 440 WS in 4 heads and that is enought to shoot at f8 with ASA 100 most of the time. So that is about the minumum power that one would need.