Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Question For 10D Users
Old 01-31-2004, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36315
Posts: 17
Comments: 0

Tim_A is offline IP: 195.92.67.209
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I heard that the software with the 10D is not particularly good.

Is it capable of allowing you to view photos as you take them on a laptop? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
And, if it's not too daft a question, what else will the software allow you to do?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Tim_A Find More Posts by Tim_A
 
Re: Question For 10D Users
Old 01-31-2004, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member GG#: 37184
Location: Plano
Posts: 7
Comments: 0

mjf71 is offline IP: 4.35.138.160
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Try Express Digital's Darkroom software. I've used other versions of their software and I am very happy with the results. You can find everything you need at www.expressdigital.com.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mjf71 Find More Posts by mjf71
 
Re: Question For 10D Users
Old 01-31-2004, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36315
Posts: 17
Comments: 0

Tim_A is offline IP: 195.92.67.65
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thank you, I will look into that.
What about the software included with the 10D?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Tim_A Find More Posts by Tim_A
 
I Never Use It.
Old 01-31-2004, 04:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37526
Location: Denver
Posts: 67
Comments: 0

tortuga337 is offline IP: 67.173.226.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I just shoot pictures; stick the memory card in a reader, copy the files to my hard drive and use Adobe Photoshop CS. Sometime when I have lots of pictures and want to sort them into folders, I use iView Multimedia Pro (Mac OS.) But most of the time I use Photoshop Cs's File Broswer function to look at, rotate (I keep the auto-rotate feature of the 10D off), and open the files. I use Photoshop's RAW conversion too although I hear it's not that great; it's good enuff for me.

I heard that the software with the new EOS Mark II will have the best RAW file conversion of anybody (third-party or otherwise) but Canon has not decided if they will make it available for the RAW files created with the D30-D60-10D family of cameras.

Joe Farace

  View Public Profile Send a private message to tortuga337 Visit tortuga337's homepage! Find More Posts by tortuga337
 
Re: Question For 10D Users
Old 02-01-2004, 02:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.8.150
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
I heard that the software with the 10D is not particularly good.


[/ QUOTE ]

more like it sux!

yeah you can view them on a laptop as you take them if you use the Remote Capture. I personally don't like being teathered so I don't use it.

My normal workflow is to hand the cards to the wife when I am done with a particular segment, then shoot on a fresh one while she dumps the other into the computer.

for general viewing I use CompuPic Pro from Photodex. For RAW conversion I use Capture One DSLR, and just recently picked up Photoshop CS for editing.

never touch the canon software....to slow
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Re: Question For 10D Users
Old 02-01-2004, 11:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Biker by the Grace of God

 
dynamike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35237
Location: St Marys
Posts: 1,552
Comments: 0

dynamike is offline IP: 69.11.160.236
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Normally, what I do is hand the cards to my assistant for downloading to the computer, then I use XP's Windws Explorer to ake my first cut. Just set your view to filmstrip and you can easily and quickly scroll through the pictures after they're downloaded to your HD.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dynamike Visit dynamike's homepage! Find More Posts by dynamike
 
A Great Windows Solution
Old 02-01-2004, 02:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37526
Location: Denver
Posts: 67
Comments: 0

tortuga337 is offline IP: 67.173.226.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Mike:

If I was usng a Windows laptop that's how I would do it. Except for the assistant part that is. I haven't had a real assistant on almost 9 years.

Joe



(My nextdoor neighboor acted as an unpaid assistant on this shoot)

  View Public Profile Send a private message to tortuga337 Visit tortuga337's homepage! Find More Posts by tortuga337
 
Allow me to mention...
Old 02-01-2004, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35737
Location: Foley
Posts: 180
Comments: 0

David Bunch is offline IP: 209.102.150.207
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

There's a template function in the Properties section of any folder. Once assigned either the Pictures or Photo Album template, Filmstrip view option will be added and available.

David
  View Public Profile Send a private message to David Bunch Visit David Bunch's homepage! Find More Posts by David Bunch
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question for AB softbox users only... Al_Nowak Tech Talk Forum 12 02-02-2008 10:58 AM
Question for you Hesnel Porty users.... mcherry Tech Talk Forum 1 07-06-2006 05:39 PM
Question for any D2X users out there Andy_Pearlman Tech Talk Forum 19 08-16-2005 08:12 AM
Nikon D100 vs. Fuji S2 - Question for users....... RichSchmidt Tech Talk Forum 22 09-25-2003 07:36 PM
Question for Fuji S2 users who have also used S1 David Bunch Tech Talk Forum 3 05-16-2003 06:36 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93