Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
RF type triggers
Old 01-30-2004, 06:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
JonScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37850
Location: Portland | Dallas
Posts: 835
Comments: 1
My Mood:
Send a message via MSN to JonScott Send a message via Yahoo to JonScott

JonScott is offline IP: 66.129.202.98
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I thought for certain that I'd seen a thread dealing with this before, but I'll be darned if I can find it, so here goes:

I'm looking at buying a set of Bees, and I've read several horror stories about connecting via wired sync to digital cameras (voltage variants cooking the guts, random setting changes, etc.), so I'm also looking at a "disconnected" trigger set up.

I'm leaning toward an RF system over optical because of even more horror stories that I've read about misfires and hangfires with (namely) Wein optical systems.

So with that setup, my questions are four:

Have you had experiences with remotes with Bees,

Which one did you use (Wein, PW or Quantum) and did you like it,

Was it reliable,

and has anyone else heard of REAL troubles with wired sync connections with S2's?

Thanks all!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JonScott Visit JonScott's homepage! Find More Posts by JonScott
 
Re: RF type triggers
Old 01-30-2004, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35737
Location: Foley
Posts: 180
Comments: 0

David Bunch is offline IP: 209.102.150.206
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I had an S2 and used it both wired and wireless with Bees. The 250V sync threshold of the S2 is WAY above the trigger voltage of the Bees, so wired operation isn't an issue. I've never heard of a problem. I know I never had any.

However,for those of us who hate messing with cords, I use the basic PW set with the Bees. Works great, huge range, no misfires ever and with the Sekonic meters, the transmitter module makes metering a breeze!

Go for it!

David
  View Public Profile Send a private message to David Bunch Visit David Bunch's homepage! Find More Posts by David Bunch
 
Re: RF type triggers
Old 01-30-2004, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dax
Lifetime Photographer

 
Dax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35270
Location: Miami // Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 284
Comments: 0

Dax is offline IP: 67.34.80.136
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have bees and have used both my digital cameras with it and so far so good.. No problem no burn out no nothing.

I *think* the burn out may happen when you plug your camera to a very high voltage box.. not a small head.

...or maybe i have just been lucky! =)
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dax Visit Dax's homepage! Find More Posts by Dax
 
Re: RF type triggers
Old 01-30-2004, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
johne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35558
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 254
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to johne

johne is offline IP: 207.137.21.43
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hey Jon.

I've been using the Quantum Freewire unit with the AB's and the Canon 1Ds. I experience occasional misfires with this combination, but I can't exactly attribute the misfires to the Quantums or to the the recycle times of the AB's. I suspect it could be partially both reasons because I've know a few times when there was plenty of time for the bees to recycle and they still didn't fire.

Best regards,
John
  View Public Profile Send a private message to johne Visit johne's homepage! Find More Posts by johne
 
Re: RF type triggers
Old 01-30-2004, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35218
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 717
Comments: 0

Doug_Lester is offline IP: 66.245.18.244
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I don't know beans about the S2, but have heard the same horror stories. I used a Quantum Radio Slave for several years when shooting film and continued to use it after getting my Canon 10D. It works great with my ancient Novatrons, it just doesn't miss, whether line of sight or not, with the added advantage of batteries lasting forever and a day. I have not used it yet, but picked up a little gizmo, I guess a voltage regulator to go on the hot shoe if I need to use a pc cord to fire the flashes. That supposedly prevents any damage.
My place
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Doug_Lester Visit Doug_Lester's homepage! Find More Posts by Doug_Lester
 
Re: RF type triggers
Old 01-30-2004, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35723
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 476
Comments: 0

Dman65 is offline IP: 63.243.17.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I don't use an S2, but I do use a D30 and Alien Bees.

I use a pocket wizard transmitter and a couple of pocket wizard receivers and have never had a misfire with them.

You can use a Wein voltage regulator and isolate the camera from any damage. I have also done this with my D30.

The regulator is obviously the least expensive option. But not having your camera physically connected to the strobe does help me move around a lot more easily.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Dman65 Find More Posts by Dman65
 
I use a Pocketwizard.....
Old 01-30-2004, 07:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
adman227
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 24.166.183.24
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote


...system with my Bee's, with no problem at all.

I use wireless pocketwizard's with all my cameras, film and digital. The potential problem you mention can happen with any lights and camera set up. I have heard that the problem is potentially worse with digital cameras.

By Bee's with no hesitation.
 
 
Pocket Wizard [NM]
Old 01-30-2004, 07:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Jerry_Avenaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35606
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 24
Comments: 0

Jerry_Avenaim is offline IP: 67.124.68.156
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jerry_Avenaim Visit Jerry_Avenaim's homepage! Find More Posts by Jerry_Avenaim
 
Re: RF type triggers
Old 01-30-2004, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
LivingINDaytona

 
JaysonFromMaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35280
Location: Daytona Beach. Fl.
Posts: 744
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to JaysonFromMaine Send a message via Yahoo to JaysonFromMaine

JaysonFromMaine is offline IP: 24.147.242.29
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

i have two pocket wizard sets...thay rock...i wish i could find some black classics...at a good price some day.... [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Hey ..you know who helped make pocket wizards big was SI...to me that says something...and Thay were invented in northern new england...always a good sign...lol [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JaysonFromMaine Visit JaysonFromMaine's homepage! Find More Posts by JaysonFromMaine
 
Yet another vote for Pocket Wizards
Old 01-30-2004, 08:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
StudioSixtySeven

 
frodofoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member GG#: 37417
Location: Orange Park
Posts: 70
Comments: 0
My Mood:

frodofoto is offline IP: 65.81.198.212
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Have an S2 but different lights, the pocket wizards work without fail and I chose a Sekonic meter that will also trigger the lights.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to frodofoto Visit frodofoto's homepage! Find More Posts by frodofoto
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RF, Wireless Flash Triggers: NEED TO CHOOSE Paragon Photography Tech Talk Forum 3 04-21-2011 09:21 PM
The last of the Polaroid Type 59 SamBeasley Photo Reviews & Critiques Only 7 12-03-2008 01:41 AM
umbrella type light modifiers nakins Tech Talk Forum 1 08-03-2007 03:36 PM
Canon 550 EX TYPE A or B luiszepeda Tech Talk Forum 4 11-27-2004 02:09 AM
Is a Nikkor D type the same as a G type lens? GG_Staff Tech Talk Forum 16 02-21-2003 07:15 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94