Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Anyone Use Novatron Systems ?
Old 11-16-2003, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
tommymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36369
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 273
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to tommymc

tommymc is offline IP: 205.188.208.8
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

My question is this. Im looking at used flash heads at KEH.com and they have a 2100c 2102c and a 2140c. I see these same heads in a 400 w/s 500w/s and 1000 w/s systems. Does the power unit determin the W/S output or is there a different flash units with the same numbers? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tommymc Visit tommymc's homepage! Find More Posts by tommymc
 
Re: Anyone Use Novatron Systems ?
Old 11-16-2003, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mhickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36016
Location: Franklin
Posts: 1,177
Comments: 2
My Mood:

mhickey is offline IP: 66.68.42.138
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have the 1000ws. You can set the power box to 1000, 500 or 250. Then on the 2140c's you can adjust them to 1000, 500 or 250 which of course leads to multiple possibilities between the two sources of power control. The 2100 head and I suppose the 2102 do not have controls on the individual heads but rely on how you set the power source.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mhickey Visit mhickey's homepage! Find More Posts by mhickey
 
Re: Anyone Use Novatron Systems ?
Old 11-16-2003, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
tommymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36369
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 273
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to tommymc

tommymc is offline IP: 205.188.208.8
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

So the power source determins the W/S. Ican buy the heads from $89 to $144
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tommymc Visit tommymc's homepage! Find More Posts by tommymc
 
Re: Anyone Use Novatron Systems ?
Old 11-16-2003, 09:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mhickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36016
Location: Franklin
Posts: 1,177
Comments: 2
My Mood:

mhickey is offline IP: 66.68.42.138
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Tommy

If you are shooting digital be careful of the power source. Old Novatrons had a problem with back-flashing digital cameras and blowing the cameras electronics. You need the D models. Also I'd make sure I had a good source for Novatron replacement bulbs before I ventured into their world. There are better lights but in the end we all do what we can afford.

By the way have the Vols just shocked the heck out of ya? I thought they didn't have a chance early in the year but man things have changed.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mhickey Visit mhickey's homepage! Find More Posts by mhickey
 
Re: Anyone Use Novatron Systems ?
Old 11-16-2003, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
tommymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36369
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 273
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to tommymc

tommymc is offline IP: 205.188.208.8
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The Vols always floor me. I've sent two kids thru the school and lived here for 30 years and you never, (key word never) know whats going to happen. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] I've never seen a team win so much on dumb luck as these guys. Always fun to watch. tommymc
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tommymc Visit tommymc's homepage! Find More Posts by tommymc
 
Re: Anyone Use Novatron Systems ?
Old 11-16-2003, 10:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
BarbInKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36196
Location: NW Missouri
Posts: 78
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to BarbInKC

BarbInKC is offline IP: 207.192.197.162
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Tommy,

I don't know anything about the Novatron's but I had to say, it sounds like we're both in about the same place. I just bought my first set of higher end pro lights. I've been using lower end semi-pro lights, but am excited to have bought the big guns. I invested in DynaLites. Good luck to you!

  View Public Profile Send a private message to BarbInKC Find More Posts by BarbInKC
 
Re: Anyone Use Novatron Systems ?
Old 11-16-2003, 11:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35679
Location: Escondido
Posts: 852
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Soujrnr Send a message via Yahoo to Soujrnr

Soujrnr is offline IP: 64.222.235.184
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

One thing you need to be aware of. While it is true that the power supply does determine the w/s output of the strobes, some strobes are limited in their maximum output power and if you try to overpower them, you'll blow them up. For example, if you plug in one light, you get 1000 w/s out of one strobe. If you plug in two, you get 500 w/s each, etc, etc. That ONE light plugged in by itself may not be able to handle the full power charge. I'm not sure if Novatrons work in this same fashion but it's worth checking into because I've seen this in other brands.

Good day sir!

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Soujrnr Visit Soujrnr's homepage! Find More Posts by Soujrnr
 
Re: Anyone Use Novatron Systems ?
Old 11-18-2003, 01:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36127
Posts: 4
Comments: 0

BSA_Martini is offline IP: 208.186.145.32
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have been using Novatron for years as a backup/portable lighting system. I origanally purchased a 400WS three lite "Fun Kit". I use the origanal powerpack for my fill light and purchased a 1600 WS pack that runs my Key light. I have had no issues using the origanal 400WS head on the 1600WS pack.

I don't know if I answered your question or not, but as far as I know the flash tubes are the same in the high end strobes, Th head doesn't contain anything special but the tube and the modeling light, a simplke 1/2 or full toggle swithc etc. But check with novatron to make sure but you should be off to the races.

P.S. They have lasted me a long time, and they are great lights. However I prefer to use large Mono Lights in the studio as I hate having a bunch of cables running everywhere. I just need to bring poer to wichever lights I need and I drop that from the cieling so no cords ever hit the ground.

BSA
  View Public Profile Send a private message to BSA_Martini Find More Posts by BSA_Martini
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendations for background support systems Kevin@rsp Tech Talk Forum 8 03-01-2007 09:58 PM
Epson R1800 - Ink Systems FotoTejas Tech Talk Forum 3 10-19-2006 08:24 AM
Filing systems - what to use. Driftwood Tech Talk Forum 9 09-11-2005 11:38 AM
Not much chatter about Photogenic Lighting Systems these days? **DONOTDELETE** Tech Talk Forum 5 08-28-2005 03:54 PM
Softbox suggestion for a Novatron system BhamPhoto Tech Talk Forum 12 04-21-2005 03:32 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94