Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamourô > Garage Glamourô Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Genuine Fractals
Old 10-06-2003, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35488
Location: East Sparta
Posts: 55
Comments: 0

medic319 is offline IP: 68.21.139.213
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have seen it mentioned here one other time. I have read their website, and the claims. They do everything but say you can shoot for a billboard with a 1mpx camera.

How effective is this program. I have downloaded the trial, but I have not printed anything with it. If it does 1/2 of what it says, I think I will buy it. Do enlargements with GF look better than with straight PS?

Please let me know what you think of this program (plug-in).

Again...Thank you for your time

Steve
  View Public Profile Send a private message to medic319 Find More Posts by medic319
 
Re: Genuine Fractals
Old 10-07-2003, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
NorthC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35498
Location: Cumming
Posts: 69
Comments: 0

NorthC is offline IP: 68.15.177.122
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have used the download and not seen much differance between it and photoshop. I had a photoshop class where I asked about this exact issue. And I got this answer. If you up size in photoshop correctly ie 2%-5% at a time Photoshop will do the same job.

But I have not used it my self, just his opinion.

Chris
  View Public Profile Send a private message to NorthC Visit NorthC's homepage! Find More Posts by NorthC
 
Re: Genuine Fractals
Old 10-07-2003, 02:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
roninsps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35855
Location: Blue Bell
Posts: 44
Comments: 0

roninsps is offline IP: 68.84.226.5
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Genuine Fractals:

I swear by it. First off, he says you need to start out with at least a 3mb file. I've successfully used between 2 and 3 with great success. Photoshop has a similar algorythm but does not work as well. I've scaled up 500% with little to no loss. At this point, I use it every time I print something. My native output from my e-10 is 144 dpi in SHQ jpeg mode. I first change the dpi to between 300-400 and your image size suddenly becomes equivalent to a 5x7. I then change the document size to 8x10 or even bigger. Amazing. You will most definitely see a difference. Anyone else?

-Steven Choi
  View Public Profile Send a private message to roninsps Visit roninsps's homepage! Find More Posts by roninsps
 
Re: Genuine Fractals
Old 10-07-2003, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36900
Posts: 34
Comments: 0

HendrikG is offline IP: 213.84.76.212
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I use S-Spline Pro, and like it very much. Maybe because itís a Dutch program, so it must be good. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Also see here: http://www.interpolatethis.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to HendrikG Visit HendrikG's homepage! Find More Posts by HendrikG
 
Re: Genuine Fractals
Old 10-07-2003, 08:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 67.82.32.217
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Steve,

I have and swear by GF Print Pro.... I have no problems with taking a image from the 10d or the d100 and going up to 13x19. Printer doesnt print any larger than that so past that I cant say.


Rick
Body Visons
 
 
Thank you everybody
Old 10-07-2003, 09:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35488
Location: East Sparta
Posts: 55
Comments: 0

medic319 is offline IP: 63.188.1.20
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thank you everybody for the input. I am considering purchasing GF Print Pro. Your input will be taken into account when I decide for sure.

Steve
  View Public Profile Send a private message to medic319 Find More Posts by medic319
 
Another questoin about GF
Old 10-08-2003, 09:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36037
Posts: 140
Comments: 0

objektiv is offline IP: 129.25.18.170
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If you are sending your files to a company like ezprints or shutterfly for prinitng is it better to use GF to make your file 300 dpi or is it better to send the file without any enlargement and let them upsample it to whatever dpi they require. I had heard that the machines/software these giant labs use is even far superior to genuine fractals or anything else you can do with your personal computer. Does anyone have an opinion on this?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to objektiv Visit objektiv's homepage! Find More Posts by objektiv
 
Re: Genuine Fractals
Old 10-08-2003, 10:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35853
Posts: 20
Comments: 0

nltrapani is offline IP: 63.115.132.3
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Steve,
Before investing in GF, take a look at Fred Mirand's Step Interpolater at a fraction of the price. I have used both and the SI seems to give much sharper and cleaner prints on my Epson 2200. Just something else to consider. You can find it at www.fredmiranda.com.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to nltrapani Visit nltrapani's homepage! Find More Posts by nltrapani
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does genuine fractals 2.5 work with photoshop CS? objektiv Tech Talk Forum 2 12-23-2003 04:04 PM
Enlarging an small section of a digital photo? gmfoto Tech Talk Forum 2 01-03-2003 02:17 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamourô




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93