Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Disk drive partitions and PhotoShop???
Old 09-24-2003, 12:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Always bet on Black

 
JeffBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35682
Location: Tampa
Posts: 147
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to JeffBlack

JeffBlack is offline IP: 65.35.195.231
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

What makes the most sense for editing photos? I know, I know get a MAC...but for us less worthy running PC. What do you suggest? I have about 100GB backed up on CD's....I just burned through my most recent 40GB drive...so now I plan to dump that to disc and pick up another 80GB drive tomorrow. So now knowing the history. My question.

I have a clean slate 40GB drive for my windows XP, AOL and a couple other programs. Now an 80GB drive. Question. Should I put PS on the 80GB drive and edit my pics, then save them to the 40GB?

I am running a 2.4 MHz with 512MB memory, and a half way decent Video card..what is the best way to get the most out of this computer???

Any time saving hints would be greatly appreciated!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to JeffBlack Visit JeffBlack's homepage! Find More Posts by JeffBlack
 
Re: Disk drive partitions and PhotoShop???
Old 09-24-2003, 12:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Tom_Hamilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35832
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 115
Comments: 0

Tom_Hamilton is offline IP: 66.167.253.179
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Photoshop for all its good features is a pig when it comes to RAM and hard drives. It really doesn't matter which drive you put it on, although logically it would be all your other applications.

Photoshop loves RAM, the more you give it the more it will take. The processing of images is done first in RAM, when it runs out of that, which in your case will be quickly, the program starts writing to disk. In preferences you specify your scratch disk(s). Now that you have two, select one as primary and the other as secondary. If both drives are always online/available you might choose the one with the bigger capacity as the primary.

The more RAM you can dedicate to Photoshop the faster it will process images. When it has to write to a hard drive it slows the process down. Photoshop will reserve 3-5 times the file size on the hard drive(s) when working with an image and then release the disk space after you finish.

Tom
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Tom_Hamilton Find More Posts by Tom_Hamilton
 
Re: Disk drive partitions and PhotoShop???
Old 09-24-2003, 12:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35977
Posts: 609
Comments: 0

Andy_Pearlman is offline IP: 24.130.241.138
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Jeff -

I always run a two-drive PC system (no apologies to MAC users!). I currently have two 40gb drives, but by next weekend will have a 40gb and a 120gb. I keep all my apps on the smaller primary drive, and all the images and data on the second drive (not counting images stored on CD). It makes it easier to back up, and find stuff. For a few programs' data (Quickbooks, my PIM, my stock database) I back up to a computer offsite, but having all the data in easy to folders on the same drive makes it simple. Also, while you're not using that drive (websurfing, bookkeeping, etc,) it can go to sleep.

One suggestion though. You might make a partition of 5-10gb on the primary drive just for use by the Photoshop scratch disk. This makes PS work a little faster.

Regards,
Andy Pearlman
Andy Pearlman Studio
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Andy_Pearlman Visit Andy_Pearlman's homepage! Find More Posts by Andy_Pearlman
 
my setup
Old 09-24-2003, 05:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member GG#: 35795
Posts: 48
Comments: 0

orlphoto is offline IP: 65.33.238.194
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am not sure a partition will speed things up since it is still on a physical drive.

My setup is a 60gb for OS and applications, and a 120gb for processing images only. I work in 16 bit as long as possible then convert to 8 bit. So right now on the 120gb I have 2 weddings I am processing that are eating up 50 gb. Including a couple of other projects in process I have only about 40 gb free. That free disk space fluctuates wildly as things get processed and archived to DVD. I guess my point is that you should get a very large drive for processing images only. Leave the Photoshop application and scratch disk on your other drive.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to orlphoto Visit orlphoto's homepage! Find More Posts by orlphoto
 
Re: Disk drive partitions and PhotoShop???
Old 09-24-2003, 08:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 129.42.208.182
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

My setup....

Machine has 3 internal drives.... a 80 gig primary...and 2 120 gig secondary... I then have two external drives a buslink 120 and a Maxtor 250 usb2.0 and firewire. then the standard DVD burner...cdrw etc.

I pull the images to the internal 120.....work on them there and then move the finals to the 250 external which is runnning on firewire. I back up to DVD and leave them on the 250. I have photoshop set to use the second internal 120 as a scratch drive.

I would suggest looking for a external storage means that fits your budget. Make sure it is running usb 2.0 or firewire....and then use the 80 as your primary...set the 40 as a scratch and work disk....and go from there. Windows will use the 80 as its swap file...leaving photoshop to use the 40 and since you are using external storage your drives stay clean. External storage can range from 100 to 1000 depending on your need and desires. Lacie makes an external 500 gig drive that kicks tail. I mean oyu may say its more than you need....but can you ever really have to much storage space?

Rick SHellhouse
Body Visions
 
 
Re: Disk drive partitions and PhotoShop???
Old 09-24-2003, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.8.99
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

as far as installation it shouldn't matter much...

but I would recommend setting the scratch disk to the fastest drive you have.

say your normal system drive is 5400 rpm, and the new one is 7200 or faster then install the acutal PS folder on the slower one, but set your scratch disk as the new one.

and make sure you have enough RAM
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93