Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Hazy picture or overexposed????? Canon 10 D
Old 08-24-2003, 10:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
CorpusPhotog
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35722
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 48
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to luiszepeda

luiszepeda is offline IP: 24.175.226.231
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



Shot my first few images using my unsuspecting kids. I was noticing that every one of my pictures was hazy on the LCD screen. I know that viewing images through the LCD is not an indicator of what you've really got, but on the G2 i've been using for over a year it was pretty close. i downloaded to my computer and image was the same. I used the action mode to see how the focusing would do. It did ok. The following was taken at 4.0 using available light 200 ISO, canon 80-200mm zoom 4-5.6. I just dont know what happened. I WILL read the manual but I am familiar with SLRs and not new to photography and even the camera meter had me right on. Thanks for any advice, help, and or opinions.
Sincerely,
Luis
  View Public Profile Send a private message to luiszepeda Visit luiszepeda's homepage! Find More Posts by luiszepeda
 
Re: Hazy picture or overexposed????? Canon 10 D
Old 08-24-2003, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
val
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35336
Location: manhattan
Posts: 31
Comments: 0

val is offline IP: 24.25.227.133
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

you can cut through much of that haze by hitting "autocontrast" or "autolevels" in photoshop. Perhaps the haze is lens induced -- try a better lens? Or perhaps it is light related -- check and see if you get the same haze in bright sunlight? beyond that I have no suggestions... [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]

  View Public Profile Send a private message to val Find More Posts by val
 
Re: Hazy picture or overexposed????? Canon 10 D
Old 08-25-2003, 02:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 172.190.120.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Luis,

dont know what to tell you as I am not a Canon guy, however I took your pic and ran it thru photoshop, I did not play with it too much, just did an auto contrast and this is what I got back.

hope this helps,

David

 
 
Re: Hazy picture or overexposed????? Canon 10 D
Old 08-25-2003, 06:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
CorpusPhotog
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35722
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 48
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to luiszepeda

luiszepeda is offline IP: 24.175.226.231
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thank you Dave,

I am going to have to figure this one out. No sense in paying 1400 for a hazy or lazy camera. I'm sure its something Im doing. But, if not back it goes. I will try a 50mm 1.8 and see if maybe the longer glass/smaller apeture had something to do with it.
Luis

thanks for the clearer picture
  View Public Profile Send a private message to luiszepeda Visit luiszepeda's homepage! Find More Posts by luiszepeda
 
Re: Hazy picture or overexposed????? Canon 10 D
Old 08-25-2003, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
jerrybrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35235
Location: Bayview/South Padre Island
Posts: 8
Comments: 0

jerrybrown is offline IP: 65.88.151.72
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Luis,
From your post and the revisions it looks like you're shooting in the Adobe color space rather than sRGB. When you select the Adobe color space (and I do), you must run your images through Photoshop to get things looking right. Alternatively, you can use the sRGB and let the camera do contrast, sharpening, saturation, and the like.I believe you have capability of setting three different levels which the 10D will hold for you.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jerrybrown Visit jerrybrown's homepage! Find More Posts by jerrybrown
 
Re: Hazy picture or overexposed????? Canon 10 D
Old 08-25-2003, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35662
Location: Lake Forest
Posts: 46
Comments: 0

RWJensen is offline IP: 68.4.252.42
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

This is not unusual for most people using a DSLR for the first time, even pros. Most DSLR'd tend to underexpose under many conditions if used in any of the Auto modes. Also when shooting in shade most meters will tend to under expose by a stop or two. So I'd expect one or both of those is what you're experiencing. Check out the Canon Forum at www.dpreview.com for some excellant advice. Don't take your camera back, just learn how to get the most from an excellant tool.

Sinerely,

Robert Jensen

Happy Nikon D100 owner
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RWJensen Find More Posts by RWJensen
 
My $0.02
Old 08-26-2003, 03:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35204
Location: Freehold
Posts: 59
Comments: 0

dksun is offline IP: 67.84.118.191
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hmm. Weird. The images I get from my 10D is a wee bit on the flat side, but not as bad as what I am seeing here. Did you post-process the image you posted other than resize? From looking at the histogram of the image, it does look as if the camera overexposed a bit, but not by that much.

Any chance you were playing with the settings and dropped the contrast setting too low?

Not sure what you mean by "action" mode. Was the command dial set to the "sports" mode or were you just using AI-Servo autofocus? If you were not using the "sports" mode, there might be a possibility that you were using "partial metering" and may have ended up metering on the dark colored shirt.

Also, just wondering what time of day this was shot as I see the lights on your lawn is turned on.

(FWIW- The image posted did not have any EXIF data, so there's no way to tell what settings were used by the camera.)
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dksun Visit dksun's homepage! Find More Posts by dksun
 
Re: My $0.02
Old 08-26-2003, 06:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
CorpusPhotog
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35722
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 48
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to luiszepeda

luiszepeda is offline IP: 24.175.226.231
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for your input. You are correct, I was in the sport mode. And it was about 7:45 in S. Texas about an hour before sundown. Is the image supposed to have EXIF? I am learning more and more as I go along.
Thanks again,
Luis
  View Public Profile Send a private message to luiszepeda Visit luiszepeda's homepage! Find More Posts by luiszepeda
 
Thank you for all the suggestions and help....(NM)
Old 08-26-2003, 06:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
CorpusPhotog
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35722
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 48
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to luiszepeda

luiszepeda is offline IP: 24.175.226.231
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

THANKS!!!
Luis
  View Public Profile Send a private message to luiszepeda Visit luiszepeda's homepage! Find More Posts by luiszepeda
 
Re: My $0.02
Old 08-26-2003, 07:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35204
Location: Freehold
Posts: 59
Comments: 0

dksun is offline IP: 67.84.118.191
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If you're shooting JPEGs, EXIF data should be attached to the image. For RAW, I believe EXIF data is attached to the (JPEG) thumbnail and Canon's software will grab the EXIF when you process the RAW images into a readable format.

Depending on the program you're using to post process or resize, some will drop the EXIF and some will not.

(Stumped on the diagnosis of your problem though...)
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dksun Visit dksun's homepage! Find More Posts by dksun
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Lens Quality? Sigma vs Canon LePhoto Tech Talk Forum 21 12-23-2006 02:00 AM
Nikon D200 and Sigma lenses. Driftwood Tech Talk Forum 9 01-05-2006 06:08 PM
Canon Advice Needed Brad Tech Talk Forum 24 01-02-2006 06:59 AM
Nikon vs Canon objektiv Tech Talk Forum 9 02-11-2005 12:12 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94