Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
10D and Capture One DSLR1.2 ??
Old 07-29-2003, 11:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.8.213
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

ok broke down and purchased software. and Must say ....WOW!

BUT I gotta couple of questions. ( I post them here because this is the by far one of the classiest forums on the net and I always get quick and consise answers)

First off I get a BIG difference in my soft proof compared to the raw rgb. why? not calibrated correctly or do I have color management settings in C1 set wrong?

second, I always sharpen up my image in photoshop, so should I leave them alone in C1?


  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Calibrate everything
Old 07-30-2003, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 65.60.143.10
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

And then it will look better when printed.

I have had the software for a while now, and still learning it. Since most of my work is BW that is where im really getting adept at it. It has cut my usage of the channel mixer in photoshop for conversions.

Other things to consider is sharpening in C1 or in Photoshop. And, check your noise reduction settings in prefrences. The noise reduction is wonderful! Then again, I like the 10D noise patterns anyhow, so Im using it less and less too.

Enclosed image shot iso 400, prepared for bw conversion in C1, converted gs in photoshop and resized.
Chip

 
 
Re: Calibrate everything
Old 07-30-2003, 01:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.8.213
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I recently did the monitor when bought a new one. and from the prints I have had (using the sRBG IEC61966-2.1 profile) made, they all look pretty dead on. these have been from printroom.com also.

that is why I was wondering why the difference (on the screen anyway) when I either selected or de-selected the Soft Proof button.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Re: Calibrate everything
Old 07-30-2003, 06:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
DWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35859
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 251
Comments: 0

DWilson is offline IP: 198.161.58.234
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hey Chip! Your comment about the B&W prompted me to finally check this out but I can't find a way to do B&W with it. The only desaturate option I can find doesn't take it all the way so what am I missing?

Thanks!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DWilson Visit DWilson's homepage! Find More Posts by DWilson
 
Re: Clint
Old 07-30-2003, 09:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35621
Location: Conway
Posts: 88
Comments: 0

Richie is offline IP: 65.67.87.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Clint, is the soft proof with a CMYK profile or the ICC profile provided by Print Room?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Richie Find More Posts by Richie
 
Here ya go
Old 07-30-2003, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 65.60.143.10
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

In capture one, set the viwing option to BW. Its on the top of the window.

Now, when you adjust exposure, tone, grey balance, and color, adjust the greyscale image to what you want. Ignore the color image. It will often get all funky looking. When you are settled on the tone and contrast of the bw preview, export that file as a tif and open in photoshop.

Then just do a straight conversion to greyscale.

It is alot easier and faster than using the channel mixer in photoshop, and combine that with the other options such as noise reduction, it makes for fast workflow. At least it does with me.

Hope that helps.

chip
 
 
Re: Clint
Old 07-30-2003, 08:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.137.30.51
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

no cmyk...it says either RAW RGB (which gives me a high saturation) and then the sRGB IEC61966-2.1 (which is listed as the 10D generic).

also printroom recognizes the emebedded profile for each image....
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94