Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamourô > Garage Glamourô Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Canon D60 exposure problems anyone?
Old 07-12-2003, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
vipglamour
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 65.34.85.126
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I bought a Canon D60 about 10 months ago, and have shot over 10,000 images with it so far. Even in the beginning though, I have had tremendous problems with consistent exposures. I'll meter, and even though nothing changes, one shot to the next can be as differently exposed as night and day. Mostly I get underexposed shots unless I go one stop over.

Shooting with my Canon Speedlight 550ex is an adventure in frustration also. Almost no way to get a good exposure with this flash. I think I have a bad body, but I have never been slow enough to send it back to Canon for debugging.

I asked a guy at the local pro photo joint to look at it, and he said his did the same friggin' thing. He then bought the 10D, and he reports that he has zero problems with it.

Can anyone confirm this to be a problem D60-wide?

Thanks!

 
 
i have almost
Old 07-12-2003, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member GG#: 35795
Posts: 48
Comments: 0

orlphoto is offline IP: 65.33.235.93
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

10,000 shots on my D60 in 6 months...the thing i have to watch is the thumb wheel to make sure i don't dial in some exposure on accident when moving to vertical (i have the bg-ed)...the 550exs and st-e2 are nice but I have resorted to manual metering for consistency...E-TTL is a bit of a pain in the neck. however i did read where a guy used a Custom Bracket with a 550ex/st-e2 bounced and an auutothryster via the sync direct flash on the same bracket for weddings...the photos looked great...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to orlphoto Visit orlphoto's homepage! Find More Posts by orlphoto
 
I still use my D30...
Old 07-13-2003, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Greco
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 12.84.201.5
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



I have shot so many photos with it that I actually had to have the shutter replaced in less than 2 years!

Yep....the thing I notice is ...when shooting continous mode,....I shoot in M mode all the time ....regardless of what the silly exit info says....it often says something like shutter priority mode or something like that......anyway, I am shooting a subject and I don't touch the settings......and I am in ambient light....and using no flash and I have it mounted on a set of legs...........I hold the shutter release button down and I see that I am getting slightly different white ballance....and slightly different exposures..... nothing major but I can see it and it erks me when I want to have everything look the same...and have to spend extra time in PS to correct it..

As far as the flash.....well, I am very familiar with understanding what the camera meter sees.....and I am used to "knowing" what my flash is going to do.... I often have to compensate with the flash when shooting "society" shots....like where I have to shoot a group of folks standing together....often they are dressed in dark colors....and I may have to compensate one way or another....or if I am shooting a back lighted subject...I'll punch it up a bit....according to how I am seeing the light.....

However, the best way to light a subject which there so far has not been a failure on the equipment's.....is manual flash exposure. If I have to shoot a subject that I already know is going to either be in the same spot.....like a person speaking at a podium........I will just set the flash to manual mode.....and I won't get any - /+ through out the speach... as far as shooting models with my 550ex, I can't say I know anything about that.....to this day, I have not used my 540's or 550 for shooting models.....I only use them for events...and photojournalism work.... I use my studio strobes...or my location strobes..can't help you there but the concept remains the same... "Know your equipment"..... [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

JP
 
 
Re: Canon D60 exposure problems anyone?
Old 07-13-2003, 01:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
John_Chennavasin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35330
Location: Orange County
Posts: 78
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to John_Chennavasin Send a message via Yahoo to John_Chennavasin

John_Chennavasin is offline IP: 208.54.143.1
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The E-TTL flash metering pattern in the D30 and D60 is very narrow--it's practically a spot meter. The flash exposure is based on what is under the selected focusing point when you press the shutter release. A typical scenario is I pre-adjust the flash exposure for the face, focus, and then find out that this gets thrown out of whack when I recompose (the three focusing points can only cover so much).

There are photographers who recommend using FEL (flash exposure lock), but it's not practical when photographing people.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to John_Chennavasin Visit John_Chennavasin's homepage! Find More Posts by John_Chennavasin
 
Re: sounds like...
Old 07-13-2003, 01:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
val
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35336
Location: manhattan
Posts: 31
Comments: 0

val is offline IP: 24.25.227.133
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

he wants to sell you a 10D. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

[ QUOTE ]

I asked a guy at the local pro photo joint to look at it, and he said his did the same friggin' thing. He then bought the 10D, and he reports that he has zero problems with it.

/quote]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to val Find More Posts by val
 
Re: Canon D60 exposure problems anyone?
Old 07-18-2003, 07:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
tommymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36369
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 273
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to tommymc

tommymc is offline IP: 64.12.96.9
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ive shot several thousand shots myself and never had a + or - exposure problem with the D60. Had lots on my D30. tommymc
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tommymc Visit tommymc's homepage! Find More Posts by tommymc
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue soupman Tech Talk Forum 14 05-21-2009 02:46 PM
Canon Exposure and Flash Compensation Stecyk Tech Talk Forum 4 09-18-2007 09:51 PM
Canon 10D / 550 flash problems..... luiszepeda Tech Talk Forum 1 06-20-2005 04:08 PM
Any focusing problems with the Canon D10 photolex Tech Talk Forum 12 06-04-2003 11:05 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamourô




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93