Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
so much for solid state...
Old 06-21-2003, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.9.244
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

shot about 300 images today on a fresh out of the box CF card. I was able to get the first 200 off. But now, evertime i put in the card reader it locks up the system. I restart and the same thing over and over. for kicks I put in the Microdrive. works like a charm...aint this a kick in the head.

but this is about par for the day. I was shooting a local golf tourney and one of the flights I was with had never played the course so I was kinda their tour guide. Then I popped off about how once I put the ball on the gree with my Utility wood on a par 3 of about 235 yards. The president of the local bank said I was full of it, and bet me a $1000 to my $100 that I couldn't do it again. when I said no, he said, "chicken?" Then my alter ego of Marty McFly kicked in and like a dumbass I got up to the tee with his club, cold, no practice and what do you know a swing and a miss!

today has been a booger!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Re: so much for solid state...
Old 06-22-2003, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35621
Location: Conway
Posts: 88
Comments: 0

Richie is offline IP: 65.66.69.235
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Clint, are you using the Canon supplied software? If so, ditch it and get Downloader Pro from http://www.breezesys.com - I would tend to believe that your problem lies in the software and not the media. The Canon software has locked up my 900MHz laptop several times. Never had a problem with Downloader though.

-Richie
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Richie Find More Posts by Richie
 
not canon software.
Old 06-22-2003, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.9.236
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

usually I just drag and drop from the card to a new folder. But this time I had to use the ZoomEX Browser and use the camera to get the images off.

speaking of this card...it is the ones you told me to buy. GRRR. Might have to make a trip to conway and pay you a visit! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] LOL!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Re: so much for solid state...
Old 06-22-2003, 02:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
GThompson
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 24.44.230.243
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Sounds like conflicing interupts. Did you plug the card reader in before booting the PC? Mine does that unless I plug in first then boot. Plug and play assigns interupts then. Additional peripherials afterwords may conflict and cause the system to freeze.
GT
 
 
Re: so much for solid state...
Old 06-22-2003, 10:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35621
Location: Conway
Posts: 88
Comments: 0

Richie is offline IP: 65.66.69.235
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Clint take a look at this thread. I would've never imagined that the Transcend cards would've given you trouble. Mine has worked flawlessly from day one in my PCMCIA reader on the laptop. Let me know what you find out, Clint.

The push to Conway is a long boring one anyways [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img][img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] HAHAHA

-Richie
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Richie Find More Posts by Richie
 
Re: so much for solid state...
Old 06-22-2003, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.9.74
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That ain't it. cuz I can load the microdrive in and everything is good. from reading richies post it might actually be a problem between the my delkin reader and the transcend card

I was able to transfer from the camera with no problem though....it just took forever
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Re: so much for solid state...
Old 06-23-2003, 02:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35621
Location: Conway
Posts: 88
Comments: 0

Richie is offline IP: 65.66.69.235
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

USB transfer is painfully slow with the 10D isn't it? I can't believe Canon didn't adopt USB 2.0, or heavens forbid, add a firewire port [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] If you are looking to replace your card reader in the future, consider this one at New Egg. The firewire reader, from Sandisk, is one of the better readers on the market for mobile use according to Rob Galbraith's roundup.

-Richie

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Richie Find More Posts by Richie
 
Re: so much for solid state...
Old 06-23-2003, 07:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Oddly Irritating

 
ErnieR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35404
Location: Paragould
Posts: 260
Comments: 2

ErnieR is offline IP: 147.97.130.87
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Clint, sounds like a card / card reader / computer conflict. If the card reader and computer work fine with other cards then it logically is a problem between the card and the reader. It's my opinion that when you get a card you get a card reader made by that manufacturer. That saves lots of problems later on, and it's even better if you have to install software to get the card reader to work. That means that the manufacturers drivers are now on your computer. You haven't said what reader you are using but it wouldn't be a bad idea to check for firmware or driver updates at their website.

I've got a Lexar FireWire card reader that has worked on every computer I've ever tried to use it on. And I've also got an off brand FireWire reader that worked fine until I plugged it into a computer running Mac OS X. It's not X compatible as it turns out and it is now taking up space in my junk cabinet because it has bit the big one. But it worked fine with both Lexar and Sandisk cards until I put it where it didn't want to go, or I should say where it couldn't go.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to ErnieR Visit ErnieR's homepage! Find More Posts by ErnieR
 
got it working...
Old 06-23-2003, 10:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.9.141
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

kinda funky though. I have to unplug the reader, load the card them replug the reader.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Truly Excellent Article On The State Of Our Industry PhotoDave1 Main Community Forum 3 07-18-2011 12:52 PM
Find models by state? photoman1625 Main Community Forum 1 05-01-2010 01:44 PM
The State of Professional Photographers rolandogomez Main Community Forum 6 02-23-2009 09:48 PM
Eastern State Part 2 kevgre Main Community Forum 4 04-26-2006 10:45 PM
New PInups from Minnesota State Fair danzfotog Main Community Forum 1 09-06-2005 03:09 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93