Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Starting studio lighting question
Old 06-21-2003, 07:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

Member GG#: 36017
Comments: 0

Longshot is offline IP: 12.247.66.151

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I am ready and take the plunge and get into studio lighting. With my budget I could get one White Lighting X1600 or a pair of Alien Bees B800s. My thought is that as a student, I would be better off with the X1600, a pair of reflectors, and heavy duty stands. This would force me to be creative with how I use light. The X1600 seems to be much more flexible light than the ABs also, and later I could always add a second.

On the other hand a second light for fill, hair or rim could come in handy.

I would deeply appreciate the experience of those who have gone before me.

Regards,

Edward
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Longshot Find More Posts by Longshot

Re: Starting studio lighting question
Old 06-21-2003, 08:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Amateur

Member GG#: 35246
Comments: 7

jford is offline IP: 151.201.218.14

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

First - I may not be the LEAST qualified person to answer this, but I'm probably in the lower 10% of the general GG participents, if ranked by photographic skill, as evidenced by glamour work post.

I have some modest experience, having shot a lot of 35 mm b/w, mostly all natural light, in another life, and having shot for some time with one, two and occasionally three hot lights, followed by about a years' modest experience (i.e., a couple of hundred rolls, tops) with two WL5000.