Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Need Help W/ Lightroom
Old 03-18-2011, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Moderator

 
PhotoDave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 51075
Location: Tampa
Posts: 407
Comments: 1
My Mood:
Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoDave1

PhotoDave1 is offline IP: 173.170.231.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Well after an extended dry spell I am back in the saddle again. I just landed a contract to provide photography services for the Sororities and Fraternities at a local University and I am having to rethink a workflow that served me well with Film but might be a bit dated with Digital.

I want to use Adobe Lightroom for the majority of my editing since the images will be for all intensive purposes identical in terms of lighting and exposure. I plan on taking my Laptop with me so the occassional client who is curious can take a peek over my wife's shoulder and see their image before they buy it.

This means that I will have to shoot Tethered and from my understanding the only two ways to shoot Tethered are with the Canon Capture software or Lightroom and if I am correct only Lightroom V3.0 allows previewing the images on a Laptop. Actually, I would prefer to shoot with the Lightroom software since to me I am getting a much better value. Canon charges $40.00 plus shipping for the Capture CD and all it does is upload photos to my computer while Lightroom V3.0 allows me to manipulate an entire series of images as well as serving as a conduit to upload my images to computer.

I have a couple of questions about this workflow:

1) Am I correct that Lightroom V3.0 will allow me to shoot Tethered to my Laptop and preview the images?

2) I am shooting with a Canon EOS 30D body. Do I have to buy anything additional or do I have to load any sort of Drivers in order to shoot Tethered with the Lightroom software?

3) How do I set Lightroom and my camera up to shoot Tethered?

4) I need to get the IFC-400PCU Cable to connect my camera to my Laptop. My local camera store, which is nothing to be impressed over, is perpetually out of this cable so my only option is to order it from Canon and pay an inflated price plus shipping. The kid at the camera store keeps telling me that I can use any USB Cable as long as it has a USB Mini Connector to plug into my camera. The problem I have with this is the official Canon Cable has a choke on it and an ordinary USB Cable does not. Will the lack of the choke cause any problems with transfer of the images?

Also, if I remember correct the Canon Connector Cable is 6' or less which doesn't give me a lot of room to work with. Will getting a longer Cable cause any problems as far as signal degradation?

Thanks for the assist.
__________________
3031 Photography
Tampa, FL
GG#: 51075
deallen313@yahoo.com
Skype IM: DAllen3031
Twitter: ThePhotoPro1
Web Page: www.flickr.com/photos/3031photography/
Gear: Canon EOS 40D w/Grip + EOS 1N w/Grip; Tamron 28-70mm F2.8; Tamron 70-200 F2.8; Canon 430EXll
  View Public Profile Send a private message to PhotoDave1 Visit PhotoDave1's homepage! Find More Posts by PhotoDave1
 
Re: Need Help W/ Lightroom
Old 03-19-2011, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
tjh1023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member GG#: 65385
Location: Haymerket
Posts: 16
Comments: 1
My Mood:

tjh1023 is offline IP: 65.121.105.3
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Glad you asked i have been wondering if I can use the usb cable that came with my 5D to do the same thing. It is kind of short, I believe that the large round thing on the usb cable is to help with electronic noise, I think. I used to know this stuff but it has been a really long time since I have used it.

Cheers

Tim
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tjh1023 Find More Posts by tjh1023
 
Re: Need Help W/ Lightroom
Old 03-19-2011, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Moderator

 
PhotoDave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 51075
Location: Tampa
Posts: 407
Comments: 1
My Mood:
Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoDave1

PhotoDave1 is offline IP: 173.170.231.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjh1023 View Post
Glad you asked i have been wondering if I can use the usb cable that came with my 5D to do the same thing. It is kind of short, I believe that the large round thing on the usb cable is to help with electronic noise, I think. I used to know this stuff but it has been a really long time since I have used it.

Cheers

Tim
Yes Tim,

You can use the USB Cable that came with your 5D. The "large round thing" on the cable is called a choke and it is there to reduce electronic or digital noise.

You are right that the cable is short, four or six feet I think, and my concern is that I am going to inadvertantly drag my laptop off the table and have it crash into the floor when using that cable and this is why I am wondering if I can use a longer cable.

Apparently there are not many people on GG who have experience at shooting Tethered owing to the lack of responses to my post. Hopefully there will be more responses and we all can learn something.
__________________
3031 Photography
Tampa, FL
GG#: 51075
deallen313@yahoo.com
Skype IM: DAllen3031
Twitter: ThePhotoPro1
Web Page: www.flickr.com/photos/3031photography/
Gear: Canon EOS 40D w/Grip + EOS 1N w/Grip; Tamron 28-70mm F2.8; Tamron 70-200 F2.8; Canon 430EXll
  View Public Profile Send a private message to PhotoDave1 Visit PhotoDave1's homepage! Find More Posts by PhotoDave1
 
Re: Need Help W/ Lightroom
Old 03-19-2011, 06:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50632
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 39
Comments: 0

Buster is offline IP: 98.220.75.254
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Dave and Tim,

Yes you can shoot tethered using lightroom 3 and you do not need anything else other than the cable. I use an extension that is about 12' long so I can move around a little.
I have pulled the laptop in the floor before though. Most of the time when I shoot tethered I shoot with my camera and laptop mounted to my tripod to prevent this from happening. However, as you know you can't shoot everything from a tripod.

When I shoot with Lightroom I create a folder for the shoot and direct all of the images to that folder. It is really nice being able to see the images on my laptop versus the camera LCD.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Buster Find More Posts by Buster
 
Re: Need Help W/ Lightroom
Old 03-19-2011, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 96.27.129.100
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Dave, the software that came with your 30D is all you need to shoot tethered. That being said, I vastly prefer Lightroom over Canon Capture. It's just a much smoother workflow. You will need to load the camera drivers that also came with the camera for the computer to recognize the camera. You can use any usb cable with a mini connector. I use one that is about 18 feet long and don't have any signal problems. and the lack of a ferrite core has never bothered me either.
__________________
"Nobody belongs to us,
except in memory"
~John Updike

www.hhphoto.net
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Need Help W/ Lightroom
Old 03-19-2011, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Moderator

 
PhotoDave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 51075
Location: Tampa
Posts: 407
Comments: 1
My Mood:
Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoDave1

PhotoDave1 is offline IP: 173.170.231.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfharper View Post
Dave, the software that came with your 30D is all you need to shoot tethered. That being said, I vastly prefer Lightroom over Canon Capture. It's just a much smoother workflow. You will need to load the camera drivers that also came with the camera for the computer to recognize the camera. You can use any usb cable with a mini connector. I use one that is about 18 feet long and don't have any signal problems. and the lack of a ferrite core has never bothered me either.
Mark:

Thanks for the info. I forgot to mention that the original cable and CD that I got in the box with my 30D were stolen a while back and until now I haven't been all that concerned with the ability to view images in real time but now I need to be so I guess I will be contacting Canon and paying $40.00 plus shipping for a CD that I should get for free seeing as how I have already paid for it once. Oh well, whats a guy to do . . .
__________________
3031 Photography
Tampa, FL
GG#: 51075
deallen313@yahoo.com
Skype IM: DAllen3031
Twitter: ThePhotoPro1
Web Page: www.flickr.com/photos/3031photography/
Gear: Canon EOS 40D w/Grip + EOS 1N w/Grip; Tamron 28-70mm F2.8; Tamron 70-200 F2.8; Canon 430EXll
  View Public Profile Send a private message to PhotoDave1 Visit PhotoDave1's homepage! Find More Posts by PhotoDave1
 
Re: Need Help W/ Lightroom
Old 03-20-2011, 02:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member GG#: 64585
Location: Wayland
Posts: 36
Comments: 0

jbirdmo is offline IP: 75.120.52.241
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Dave,
The Canon software is free to Canon users and can be obtained for free via their website http://usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer This link should take you directly to the support and drivers page where you start by selecting the camera system and then drill on down through selecting the OS for the computer that you will be loading it on to. You can then download the software and drivers for your 30D. My best guess for the reason that they are charging you $40 dollars is for the cost of the CD reproduction and packaging. I don't think it's too out of line to require payment for something they originally supplied to you. Would you think they should replace your 30D if it were stolen?

I hope this helps

---Jude
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jbirdmo Find More Posts by jbirdmo
Last edited by jbirdmo; 03-22-2011 at 11:02 PM..
 
Re: Need Help W/ Lightroom
Old 04-01-2011, 01:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
tjh1023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member GG#: 65385
Location: Haymerket
Posts: 16
Comments: 1
My Mood:

tjh1023 is offline IP: 65.91.246.2
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ive been off for a while thanks for all the answers. It sounds like i will need about 36 feet of usb cable, as my wife will confirm i have this clumsy habit and pulling the computer off the table when shooting is right up my alley.

Tim
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tjh1023 Find More Posts by tjh1023
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with Lightroom 3! Lumpy53 Main Community Forum 1 10-09-2011 02:10 PM
Adobe Lightroom PhotoDave1 Main Community Forum 5 09-08-2011 10:56 PM
Thinking About Adobe Lightroom PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 9 02-14-2009 01:28 AM
Is any one using lightroom? jcochran Digital Darkroom 9 06-24-2006 07:36 AM
Lightroom Tom_Hamilton Tech Talk Forum 1 01-21-2006 09:28 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93