Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Remote Desktop Setup
Old 01-24-2010, 07:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42991
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 377
Comments: 0
My Mood:

DocSmith is offline IP: 74.163.2.97
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm trying to set up a remote desktop application on XP w/Norton 360 so I can use CS4 remotely. Not having a lot of luck, although the procedure looks pretty simple. Anyone have experience with this application?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Doc
__________________
Michael Smith
Michael Smith Photography
PO Box 573
Gulf Breeze, Florida 32562
(850) 712-0639
www.michaelsmithphotography.biz

Studio One Pensacola
103 W. Intendencia Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
(850) 712-0639
www.studioonepensacola.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DocSmith Visit DocSmith's homepage! Find More Posts by DocSmith
 
Re: Remote Desktop Setup
Old 01-24-2010, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member GG#: 60479
Location: Southampton
Posts: 15
Comments: 0

solent is offline IP: 213.208.111.202
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I don't know Norton, but have you considered logmein.com which can connect to your PC over the internet (and is free).
  View Public Profile Send a private message to solent Find More Posts by solent
 
Re: Remote Desktop Setup
Old 01-24-2010, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
flx2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member GG#: 56572
Location: Houston
Posts: 230
Comments: 3
My Mood:

flx2000 is offline IP: 70.139.237.92
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by solent View Post
I don't know Norton, but have you considered logmein.com which can connect to your PC over the internet (and is free).
only problem with both of these apps are that without lots of bandwidth on both ends, it will be a pain to do graphic work, and retouching, you won't get to see the true colors, i have tried this, and my wife uses logmein on a daily basis. best bet is a laptop loaded with lightroom, so you can catalog your work and transfer it from computer to computer via external drive.

but if you must use software, then logmein is good.
only needs to be installed on host computer and small app on remote.
pretty simple to use.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to flx2000 Visit flx2000's homepage! Find More Posts by flx2000
 
Re: Remote Desktop Setup
Old 01-27-2010, 07:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36276
Location: Earth
Posts: 85
Comments: 0
My Mood:

kevinpieper is offline IP: 76.1.92.72
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You can't do it. Even on a Gigabit LAN, with VNC (lighter than RDP), it is painfully slow. CS3 and CS4 are resource hogs, and you can't effectively pipe everything through remote lines.

I load a laptop with my software.

I think TeamViewer is one of the best remote systems, followed by RealVNC, followed by Windows built-in RDP.
__________________
Photos coming soon.
Only use high quality blank DVDs for storing photos! See the list at www.digitalFAQ.com!
  View Public Profile Find More Posts by kevinpieper
 
Re: Remote Desktop Setup
Old 01-28-2010, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Amateur

 
jford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35246
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 2,724
Comments: 7

jford is offline IP: 71.60.63.140
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Kevin Pieper's probably right, a remote connection isn't likely to be too responsive. However, we've got a similar problem - viewing complex molecular structures remotely. There's a "bandwidth compression" tool called NX, available from NoMachine. It treats a desktop as a graphic image - like a jpeg - and compresses it before transmission. Works for us. NoMachine sells a commercial server and client, but also provides limited (two user max) versions for free. You might try it, probably won't be as responsive as you'd like, but it might be tolerable.

Good luck.
__________________
"Keeping shooting will do more for the excellence of your photography than most any camera will!" JimmyD, PGS Extraordinaire.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jford Visit jford's homepage! Find More Posts by jford
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Glamour/Roland's Lighting Setup jakeyt Tech Talk Forum 4 08-13-2010 03:48 AM
IR remote cwend Tech Talk Forum 4 03-28-2010 11:56 AM
Hensel Remote System - FUBAR!! eldor Tech Talk Forum 3 03-23-2006 03:26 PM
Hensel Remote & Optical Slaves eldor Tech Talk Forum 11 03-21-2006 05:12 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93