Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-14-2009, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member GG#: 63188
Location: Paterson
Posts: 15
Comments: 0
My Mood:

ChiCho is offline IP: 69.74.217.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi everyone...

Im fairly new to photography and not near the level you guys are at.. The Whole light-metering thing is really cracking my skull Is there a simple breakdown on Light Metering for glamour shoots (or shooting in general)?

thanks
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChiCho Find More Posts by ChiCho
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-14-2009, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 96.27.144.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

What are you metering with? Your in camera meter or a hand held meter? Do you understand the difference between reflected and incident metering?
__________________
"Nobody belongs to us,
except in memory"
~John Updike

www.hhphoto.net
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-14-2009, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member GG#: 63188
Location: Paterson
Posts: 15
Comments: 0
My Mood:

ChiCho is offline IP: 69.115.105.44
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Metering with the camera for now... As for reflective/incident.. I know I read about it but wont even pretend to understand.. I also don't understand how to meter a subject when using a monolight strobe since you wont see the level of liht the flash gives off until its fired.. ...Any info is GREATLY appreciated..

Thank you
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChiCho Find More Posts by ChiCho
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-15-2009, 08:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 96.27.144.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Your camera meter is a reflected available light meter. It will not read flash. It is a reflected light meter, which means it reads the light reflected off of the subject as opposed to an incident meter that would read the light falling on a subject. You can get a flash meter that will read both ways and measure flash and available light as well. The main thing to keep in mind about your camera meter is that is is calibrated to 18% grey. That means it is always trying to make the average of the scene expose to look 18% grey. for an average scene this usually works pretty good. However if you meter a white rabbit sitting in the snow it's not going to work so well! It a situation such as this you would have to override the meters decision and open up a stop or two. A really dark scene such as an actor in dark clothing on a dard stage is going to meter incorrectly too. Since the camera meter is trying to make that very dark scene come out to 18% grey, the image will come out very over exposed. You would have to manually override the camera and close down a few stops.
__________________
"Nobody belongs to us,
except in memory"
~John Updike

www.hhphoto.net
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-15-2009, 09:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member GG#: 63188
Location: Paterson
Posts: 15
Comments: 0
My Mood:

ChiCho is offline IP: 69.115.105.44
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thank you man,.. My situation is as such: I want to shoot glamour and mostly indoors. I have 2 IMPACT monolights 300w on hand .. Im currently only using 1 with my Canon Rebel Xsi at f/5.6 and finding myself having to use slower shutter speed and its causing slight blur... I know I'll beat this sooner or later.. lol
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChiCho Find More Posts by ChiCho
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-15-2009, 10:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 96.27.144.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

In a studio situation, you should not have to use a shutter speed slower then the normal sync speed for your camera. with the rebel you should be able to sync up to 250th of a sec. Using mono lights though I would suggest setting your shutter speed at 125th of a sec. You are shooting in Manual mode on the camera right? What is your ISO set to? You should not have to use a supper slow shutter speed with a 300 wat second light.
__________________
"Nobody belongs to us,
except in memory"
~John Updike

www.hhphoto.net
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-15-2009, 05:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member GG#: 63188
Location: Paterson
Posts: 15
Comments: 0
My Mood:

ChiCho is offline IP: 69.74.217.155
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

mfharper, you have no idea how much easier youve made it for me to get this.. Im shooting in Aperture Priority Mode.. I found the best results using ISO of 400. (then again this was during my confused state...) Do u recomned turning on other lights in the room that arent as directly involved in the shoot as the monolights..?

Thanks
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChiCho Find More Posts by ChiCho
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-15-2009, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37608
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 340
Comments: 0

Mark_Oehler is offline IP: 173.22.219.19
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

if you are shooting at the fastest synch shutter speed, then the ambient light will not be enough (in most cases) to show up in your images. I however shoot with the room lights out so I can get an idea of how the light is modeling the subject.

mark
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_Oehler Visit Mark_Oehler's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_Oehler
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-15-2009, 10:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member GG#: 63188
Location: Paterson
Posts: 15
Comments: 0
My Mood:

ChiCho is offline IP: 69.115.105.44
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks Mark, yeah Ive been shooting with the room lights off only having a distant hall light on...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChiCho Find More Posts by ChiCho
 
Re: Light Metering Qstn from a Newbie
Old 06-16-2009, 12:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 96.27.144.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiCho View Post
mfharper, you have no idea how much easier youve made it for me to get this.. Im shooting in Aperture Priority Mode.. I found the best results using ISO of 400. (then again this was during my confused state...) Do u recomned turning on other lights in the room that arent as directly involved in the shoot as the monolights..?

Thanks
When using studio flash, you should be shooting in manual mode. In a studio situation, while shooting with strobe, ambient light will not usually effect exposure. In most cases it's better to have the ambient level as low as possible so you can actually see the effects of the modeling lights.
__________________
"Nobody belongs to us,
except in memory"
~John Updike

www.hhphoto.net
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Ring(ing) Endorsement! Part I AND Part II Fish Main Community Forum 17 05-29-2007 06:26 PM
Glam lighting vs: Portrait lighting? nakins Tech Talk Forum 5 11-28-2006 11:53 AM
Minimum Strobes/Monolights power needed? RHWeiner Main Community Forum 11 11-27-2006 03:09 PM
How do you light a romantic theme ? That_Look_Photo Main Community Forum 9 05-12-2006 09:08 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93