Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamourô > Garage Glamourô Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-13-2009, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
soupman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member GG#: 52976
Location: Winter Haven
Posts: 121
Comments: 43
My Mood:

soupman is offline IP: 75.40.244.170
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I purchased a new 50D about two months ago and have shot about 500 photos (with and without studio strobes) with it so far. This weekend I was going to do a studio shoot and noticed that the in-camera exposure meter was pegged to the left and adjusting the shutter speed and aperature had no effect. I changed the battery, disconnected the transmitter for the strobes and tried to get the exposure meter working. (By the way, I was in Manual mode.)

I changed lens and still had the same problem. Then I went to the extreme and set the shutter speed to 3 seconds and the meter started working. It is like there is a dark lens on the camera. One example is I metered ambient light at F5.6 @ 125 and the camera metered the same light at F2.0 @ 3 seconds...and it took a good exposed photo at three seconds (barring the shake from holding the camera).

Has anyone experienced anything like this. I am e-mailing Canon for support and am about to mail the camera body back to the factory.

Thanks
  View Public Profile Send a private message to soupman Find More Posts by soupman
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-14-2009, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 96.27.144.221
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Was your camera ISO set the same as your hand held meter?
__________________
"Nobody belongs to us,
except in memory"
~John Updike

www.hhphoto.net
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-14-2009, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
NightOwl2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41836
Location: Concord
Posts: 16
Comments: 0

NightOwl2005 is offline IP: 98.24.3.209
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Are you using strobes or hot lights? Strobes you need to use a flash meter. Your in-camera meter will show very underexposed.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to NightOwl2005 Visit NightOwl2005's homepage! Find More Posts by NightOwl2005
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-15-2009, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
soupman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member GG#: 52976
Location: Winter Haven
Posts: 121
Comments: 43
My Mood:

soupman is offline IP: 75.40.244.170
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yes. I went through the test several times.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to soupman Find More Posts by soupman
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-15-2009, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
soupman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member GG#: 52976
Location: Winter Haven
Posts: 121
Comments: 43
My Mood:

soupman is offline IP: 75.40.244.170
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It had nothing to do with ther strobes...that is when I noticed it. Like I said in my note, my example was metering ambient light with a hand held light meter and then comparing to the in-camera meter.

I sent the body in to Canon yesterday.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to soupman Find More Posts by soupman
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-15-2009, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Moderator

 
PhotoDave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 51075
Location: Tampa
Posts: 407
Comments: 1
My Mood:
Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoDave1

PhotoDave1 is offline IP: 24.99.255.31
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

From what you have written I think you have just wasted the postage back to Canon not to mention you being without your camera for several weeks or months.

As stated here whenever you are doing studio flash you ALWAYS need to use a flash meter to set your camera's exposure. Your camera needs to be set to Manual exposure mode and the ISO in your camera should match the ISO that your flash meter is set to.

The meter in your camera does not work the way it has to in order to get a good exposure when you are using studio flash. Only a flash meter can do this for you.

I am sorry that you have lost the use of your camera for a however long, hopefully you have a backup camera and I hope Canon returns it to you in a reasonable time without charging you. Good luck.
__________________
3031 Photography
Tampa, FL
GG#: 51075
deallen313@yahoo.com
Skype IM: DAllen3031
Twitter: ThePhotoPro1
Web Page: www.flickr.com/photos/3031photography/
Gear: Canon EOS 40D w/Grip + EOS 1N w/Grip; Tamron 28-70mm F2.8; Tamron 70-200 F2.8; Canon 430EXll
  View Public Profile Send a private message to PhotoDave1 Visit PhotoDave1's homepage! Find More Posts by PhotoDave1
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-16-2009, 07:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 710
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 213.112.108.203
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoDave1 View Post
From what you have written I think you have just wasted the postage back to Canon not to mention you being without your camera for several weeks or months.

As stated here whenever you are doing studio flash you ALWAYS need to use a flash meter to set your camera's exposure. Your camera needs to be set to Manual exposure mode and the ISO in your camera should match the ISO that your flash meter is set to.

The meter in your camera does not work the way it has to in order to get a good exposure when you are using studio flash. Only a flash meter can do this for you.

I am sorry that you have lost the use of your camera for a however long, hopefully you have a backup camera and I hope Canon returns it to you in a reasonable time without charging you. Good luck.
Dave,
He states in his post that he is metering ambient light not flash, and comparing in camera to a hand held meter. Sounds like he's doing things correctly to me. My only question is was the hand held meter in reflected or indecent mode?
__________________
"Nobody belongs to us,
except in memory"
~John Updike

www.hhphoto.net
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-17-2009, 05:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
soupman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member GG#: 52976
Location: Winter Haven
Posts: 121
Comments: 43
My Mood:

soupman is offline IP: 75.40.244.170
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the lesson, Dave. But, I did it correctly.

Given the settings on my camera I mentioned above (at 100 ISO), how could I take a 3 second exposure in daylight and get a properly exposed photo?

Anyway, the camera is shipped off to Canon. Ugh!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to soupman Find More Posts by soupman
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-17-2009, 10:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member

 
NightOwl2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41836
Location: Concord
Posts: 16
Comments: 0

NightOwl2005 is offline IP: 98.24.3.209
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You metered f5.6 at 1/125 at ISO 100 as ambient light in a studio? That's a lot of light.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to NightOwl2005 Visit NightOwl2005's homepage! Find More Posts by NightOwl2005
 
Re: Canon EOS 50D Exposure Meter Issue
Old 05-18-2009, 05:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member

 
soupman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member GG#: 52976
Location: Winter Haven
Posts: 121
Comments: 43
My Mood:

soupman is offline IP: 75.40.244.170
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Wow, this is confusing.

I went out of the studio into the kitchen where I have a large patio door with daylight coming in. I did a lot of different things to try and troubleshoot the problem. I did not bother writing everything I did...just the result.

I guess no one else has had a problem like this. I am so lucky.

I have a wedding to shoot on June 20th and wanted to have two cameras just in case something (like this) happened to one of them.

I hope to get this camera back before then. I really like it.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to soupman Find More Posts by soupman
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon Exposure and Flash Compensation Stecyk Tech Talk Forum 4 09-18-2007 09:51 PM
Canon 5D & 24-70 f/2.8L interaction issue? Carpe Imago Tech Talk Forum 5 01-15-2007 03:45 PM
Nikon D200 and Sigma lenses. Driftwood Tech Talk Forum 9 01-05-2006 06:08 PM
Sneaky Exposure Meter Tips? StMarc Tech Talk Forum 14 06-04-2005 08:22 PM
Canon D60 exposure problems anyone? vipglamour Tech Talk Forum 5 07-18-2003 07:49 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamourô




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93