Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
light meter
Old 06-27-2008, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 41995
Location: Volcano
Posts: 100
Comments: 0

photoefx is offline IP: 72.130.249.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

My old Minolta light meter finally crapped out on me. I need a new one and really like the Sekonic L758D. Does anyone have any suggestions or recomendations?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to photoefx Find More Posts by photoefx
 
Re: light meter
Old 06-27-2008, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member GG#: 57919
Location: LA
Posts: 574
Comments: 1

kgphoto is offline IP: 69.235.92.100
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Get the 758dR This will allow you to trip/test your strobes without a cord.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kgphoto Find More Posts by kgphoto
 
Re: light meter
Old 08-05-2008, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
luisv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member GG#: 60758
Location: Miami
Posts: 45
Comments: 0

luisv is offline IP: 65.12.234.50
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The only option is the 758DR the other is a video meter and is listed as a "cine". In any event........

I use the 758 and it is outstanding. It is not as simple as Sekonic potrays to get it calibrated for your gear but a little tweaking here and there and you have a truly mighty tool. The unit is very clear and precise and you have both reflective and incident metering. Can't be beat. Worth every dime.

The wireless triggering of lights only works with the Pocket Wizard line of products. If you use Pocket Wizard then you are fine. If not, it's not a huge issue. You just need a work around. I, for example, use the Elinchrom Skyports b/c I can control the light output and other options remotely from a PC. The meter however cannot trigger the lights. I simply have a 4 inch sych cord that I slip into a transmitter and I am done. Works like a charm.
__________________
Luis V.
South Florida Photographer
http://www.photographybyluis.com/images/forum_ex/SiteBanner_sm.jpg
  View Public Profile Send a private message to luisv Find More Posts by luisv
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Suggestions For A Light Meter PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 4 07-16-2007 11:15 PM
A Ring(ing) Endorsement! Part I AND Part II Fish Main Community Forum 17 05-29-2007 06:26 PM
Minimum Strobes/Monolights power needed? RHWeiner Main Community Forum 11 11-27-2006 03:09 PM
Why is my light meter lying to me? objektiv Tech Talk Forum 8 01-07-2004 09:30 PM
Light Meter QUestion objektiv Tech Talk Forum 7 10-14-2003 12:54 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93