Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-13-2008, 06:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member GG#: 57919
Location: LA
Posts: 581
Comments: 1

kgphoto is offline IP: 69.235.87.26
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Looking to try to shoot my 5D tethered. Apparently no fire-wire available, just USB.

Never done this before. Tried with my wifes Fuji S2 and no luck. I think I am limited to a 12 foot max cord, but anyone have any other tips as to what is the best/easiest approach?

I have CS2 on a PC laptop with A/C adapter for the Laptop.

My goal is to shoot and have the images show up on the large screen on the lab top so I can see them quick and easy, allow the guest to make the choice as to which image, and then process in PS to do 1-5x7 and 4 wallets on one 8x10 sheet of photo paper. I want to have a water mark showing the event title and date and maybe a copyright notice for me.

I intend to print on an Epson inkjet printer. If anyone has a recommendation as to the printer I am open to that as well. I don't like ink jets and would rather rent one than own one, so buying a cheap one to toss at the end is an option as well. I used to have an inkjet, but the inks dried up and clogged it and it was more expensive to repair than replace.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kgphoto Find More Posts by kgphoto
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-15-2008, 09:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member GG#: 57919
Location: LA
Posts: 581
Comments: 1

kgphoto is offline IP: 69.235.139.92
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Bump?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kgphoto Find More Posts by kgphoto
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-15-2008, 09:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,048
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.76.104
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I can shoot tethered with my 20D, the cd that came with my camera has software,..Canon Utilities--Viewer Utility, and Remote Capture.

A 6' cord w/usb plug came with it also,..I bought a 10' usb extension @ Radio Shack and now have a 16' reach.

I have seen and heard of dried/clogged ink in Epsons, but have never had trouble with my HP printer.

Hope this helps.

Ron
__________________
RonC


---------------------------------------------------------------------
Nothing stays as good as it once was!
http://www.myspace.com/ronsphotos
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-15-2008, 10:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member GG#: 57919
Location: LA
Posts: 581
Comments: 1

kgphoto is offline IP: 69.235.153.181
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thank you Ron.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kgphoto Find More Posts by kgphoto
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-15-2008, 02:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36117
Location: Hiram
Posts: 142
Comments: 0

C_J_Samples is offline IP: 98.192.26.137
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Try looking at the Kodak Dye-sub printers. No messy ink and dry prints when they come out. I have used one for events over the last three years and never had issues with ink or toners. I wouldn't even think of using a ink jet at an event just for the drying factor alone. A few screwed up prints after the sale and your track record is shot.

Chris
  View Public Profile Send a private message to C_J_Samples Visit C_J_Samples's homepage! Find More Posts by C_J_Samples
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-17-2008, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Trekkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member GG#: 46884
Location: Wake Forest
Posts: 24
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Trekkie Send a message via AIM to Trekkie Send a message via MSN to Trekkie Send a message via Yahoo to Trekkie Send a message via Skype™ to Trekkie

Trekkie is offline IP: 67.232.23.171
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've shot tethered to both an iBook and an iMac Intel with Lightroom of various revisions on it.

It works great, once you do something strange to get the canon software to recognize the camera.

Make sure you camera is in PC Connect mode, connect up the camera, then either review an image, or take a trash shot and review it. Launch the EOS Utility, and then when the warning that the camera is busy pops up, clear the image you're viewing and you're connected.

This only started with Leopard, it didn't do it on 10.4. I'm guessing there's a glitch that Canon hasn't fixed/doesn't want to fix.

Once that is done, you can shoot from the computer if your camera is on the tripod, or hand hold if you like. You'll need to get a long enough USB cable or you'll find yourself yanking it off the table if you're not careful if you're hand holding. It's just a standard USB to Mini-USB cable nothing special needed.

Only warnings I've found so far -

1) I shoot to both card/computer. However when card fills and you change it, it disconnects you from the computer too. So make sure you reconnect. I was doing an event where we were printing live as I shot and suddenly no more photos were in Lightroom and had to do a scramble import.

2) I rarely shoot tethered, and I like to hand hold as recently my subjects have been small kids. So a standard height on a tripod is pretty hard to do with varying ages of kids. So that cable can be a PITA, and finding a good long one is either ridiculously expensive locally or hit or miss on the web with cable quality.

For on demand printing I use a mitsubishi 9550 and usually print 5x7s. There was a deal last year on them and the rebate was five or six boxes of paper. Have yet had to buy paper for the thing now and its been over a year.

Hope that helps.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Trekkie Visit Trekkie's homepage! Find More Posts by Trekkie
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-18-2008, 05:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Absolutely Digital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member GG#: 57204
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 34
Comments: 2

Absolutely Digital is offline IP: 202.33.109.12
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Freaking thanks for the work around. I was troubled with that connectivity problem for a while. I thought it was just me, with no time to trouble shoot the issue I used another avenue of approach.

I should pay you for that (lol)
__________________
No One got anywhere by themselves...Not even you! So the same way you remember someone helping you is the same way someone should remember you helping them.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Absolutely Digital Find More Posts by Absolutely Digital
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-18-2008, 04:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member GG#: 57919
Location: LA
Posts: 581
Comments: 1

kgphoto is offline IP: 69.235.147.103
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Trekkie,

Thanks for the info. I am PC based, so I don't know how much of that I will need to deal with, but I will keep it in mind. I bought the printer and cables to day and will download and practice tomorrow. I will be using the Canon software, as I don't have lightroom yet, but if I can't get it working, that will be the next step.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kgphoto Find More Posts by kgphoto
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-19-2008, 05:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Absolutely Digital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member GG#: 57204
Location: Fayetteville
Posts: 34
Comments: 2

Absolutely Digital is offline IP: 202.33.109.12
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I dont like lightroom because you have to import each image as opposed to it going straight into a repository to choose from. I guess that I am just use to photoshop as the application instead of lightroom.
__________________
No One got anywhere by themselves...Not even you! So the same way you remember someone helping you is the same way someone should remember you helping them.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Absolutely Digital Find More Posts by Absolutely Digital
 
Re: Anyone shoot Canon 5D tethered? If so, how?
Old 05-20-2008, 01:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member GG#: 57919
Location: LA
Posts: 581
Comments: 1

kgphoto is offline IP: 69.235.150.107
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I believe I found a tutorial online that shows how to use lightroom to download and open and find the files as you shoot. I lost all my bookmarks so I don't know exactly where that online info is, but I found it originally with Google.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kgphoto Find More Posts by kgphoto
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nikon d7000 vs canon 60d shakka Main Community Forum 2 02-28-2011 04:52 PM
Trade for Prints/CD, what's fair? kgphoto Model Topics 57 01-19-2011 02:38 PM
Getting Paid to Shoot Models and Others jimmyd Main Community Forum 2 08-28-2010 01:16 PM
Canon EF 85mm F1.8 adamww Tech Talk Forum 14 01-15-2007 04:07 PM
Sigma lens on Canon body... yes or no? Toad Tech Talk Forum 21 10-23-2006 08:57 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94