Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Canon 10D Lockup
Old 02-07-2008, 08:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member GG#: 37401
Location: minnetonka
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

krzma is offline IP: 75.72.62.98
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

re: Canon-10D..When in "M" (manual) mode with shutter set at x-synch, using strobes and shooting into relatively dark set, why will the camera not shoot. All you can notice is the autofocus moving back and forth. It seems some light (i.e modeling lights) need to be supplied in order for camera to work.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to krzma Find More Posts by krzma
 
Re: Canon 10D Lockup
Old 02-07-2008, 09:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
PhotosbyChuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member GG#: 45340
Location: Chicago
Posts: 402
Comments: 0

PhotosbyChuck is offline IP: 68.77.144.245
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

There's nothing wrong with your camera.

Your camera is trying to find something on which it can lock auto focus. Since the set is dark, there are no lines for it to resolve. As you said, a modeling light adds enough light for the AF to find a subject. You can also set focus and turn AF off if you're using a tripod and your subject won't move.

If you were using the popup flash, the AF assist lamp would fire to give the AF some help. Since you're in manual mode (and the flash is down), the camera cannot fire the assist lamp.
  View Public Profile Visit PhotosbyChuck's homepage! Find More Posts by PhotosbyChuck
 
Re: Canon 10D Lockup
Old 02-07-2008, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 76.199.113.233
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You can often just get a hot light that will act as a focusing light which you can turn on and point at the subject. This will allow the AF to work properly. Use the center focus spot as it is the most sensitive. Generally just having adequate modeling lights for the strobes is all that is needed. But some cheap strobes have underpowered modeling lights (check if their power can be increased). Also be sure that the modeling lights are at full power.
Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Lens Quality? Sigma vs Canon LePhoto Tech Talk Forum 21 12-23-2006 02:00 AM
Nikon vs Canon objektiv Tech Talk Forum 9 02-11-2005 12:12 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94