Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
White balance question
Old 01-25-2008, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 55764
Comments: 0
My Mood:

BenE is offline IP: 216.167.157.165

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Before I started shooting raw (OK, I was late in doing so, and a hard head), I used custom white balance because I have so many outside areas I use. Even at that I had trouble at times getting it correct.

Now comes my question. Everything I shoot now is raw, and the last time I set the custom white balance, it was for indoor. I don't even bother with setting it anymore, and I have great color whether indoor or out. I only have to tweak it a very little. I am very color critical, by the way.

I have been told that I still need to set the white balance, but does that matter when shooting raw?

Camera is Canon D60.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to BenE Visit BenE's homepage! Find More Posts by BenE

Re: White balance question
Old 01-25-2008, 12:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 35872
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 76.199.113.233

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenE View Post
Before I started shooting raw (OK, I was late in doing so, and a hard head), I used custom white balance because I have so many outside areas I use. Even at that I had trouble at times getting it correct.

Now comes my question. Everything I shoot now is raw, and the last time I set the custom white balance, it was for indoor. I don't even bother with setting it anymore, and I have great color whether indoor or out. I only have to tweak it a very little. I am very color critical, by the way.