Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-24-2008, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Member GG#: 55547
Location: SG
Posts: 13
Comments: 0

song is offline IP: 202.156.8.9
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

okie .. i would like to seek some help from you guys here.
used to shoot wedding for friends on my d70 and at times rented d200 if theres job. And mostly i would edit them in PSCS2.

All the while my monitor isnt calibrated. I used default settings. And all the while i have been developing the prints at the usual shop. Prints look great and no burn out. So far so good !

but during my last wedding .. i upgraded to s5pro and edit fully entirely on LR1.3.
As usual I shot in sRGB / film stimulation mode.
Import to LR and edit and then export out (sRGB) and send to print.

I was happy with all the editing but when i collected the prints. about 30% of the pic with the whites were blown off. Went back to the shop and he said my pics were too dark. most of the prints was push up to +3 and +5 on the fuji machine.

He printed out some pictures w/o correcting and ask me to adjust according to the photos. Is was very dark imo and i think tats not possible. He said maybe my s5 is a lemon??

I wonder what should i do next?
TIA
  View Public Profile Send a private message to song Find More Posts by song
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-24-2008, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 76.199.113.233
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You need to run tests with a color chart (like the Macbeth) to determine if its the camera or the fact that you appear to have made a major change in your workflow. This is usually something one tries to avoid --- that is not only changing cameras but also one's workflow all at the same time. In addition it sounds like you were also experimenting with features of the camera at the same time. For wedding work, blowing whites is very easy to do, so generally that is not the place to experiment with a new camera.

Why not post some samples of the blown out images (and a link to a full size example) and some of us can look at them).

Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-24-2008, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Member GG#: 55547
Location: SG
Posts: 13
Comments: 0

song is offline IP: 202.156.8.9
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

hi rfs
tks for the quick reply

the images are not blown in my screen after editing with LR
but they looked very dark at the developer screen.. so when he pushed up the exposure .. the whites were blown.

I reckon i should not do tat .. with new cam and work flow.
TIA
  View Public Profile Send a private message to song Find More Posts by song
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-24-2008, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50843
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 12
Comments: 0

KBSD102276 is offline IP: 64.73.242.82
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I agree with R_Fredrick_Smith you may have made to many changes to your workflow. Coming from the printing end, it is absolutely crucial that our monitor and printers be calibrated. You need to calibrate your monitor and camera. Get a profile from your developer if you can to plug in. That way you can soft proof on your monitor and what you see is what you get at the developers, or fairly close. When calibrating your monitor it is best to have the monitor in a place that will not move and the lighting is always constant, preferably dark. it also pays to have a good monitor.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to KBSD102276 Find More Posts by KBSD102276
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-24-2008, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
PhotosbyChuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member GG#: 45340
Location: Chicago
Posts: 402
Comments: 0

PhotosbyChuck is offline IP: 68.77.20.84
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The fact that it looks good on your screen, but not once printed makes me wonder if color depth isn't an issue. Your S5 is probably 14 bit? Before you were less? Maybe your printer isn't handling the increased depth well?
  View Public Profile Visit PhotosbyChuck's homepage! Find More Posts by PhotosbyChuck
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-24-2008, 09:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37608
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 343
Comments: 0

Mark_Oehler is offline IP: 12.226.16.186
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Can you post one of the images here?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_Oehler Visit Mark_Oehler's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_Oehler
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-24-2008, 09:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Member GG#: 54742
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 114
Comments: 0

Zipper7 is offline IP: 67.166.228.133
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You may try one thing: With your 'eye dropper' go over and sample a section of your photo that you think looks white and see if the RGB number are close to Red=255,Green=255,Blue=255.

If they are all in the area of 230 up to 255, then you have bright whites and your printer has a problem, but if your RGB numbers are below 200, then your monitor is set too bright and is making things that are gray to appear white (in other words, your camera is underexposing and your monitor is making up for it).

The numbers are the only thing that aren't subjective. R=255, G=255, B=255 should be absolute white on any system.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Zipper7 Find More Posts by Zipper7
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-25-2008, 09:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
David_L_Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38676
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 178
Comments: 0

David_L_Brown is offline IP: 70.173.221.237
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

TIA, here is a 32 step gray target. Right-click and save it so you can open it up in your editing program. Can you see all of the individual transitions? If not you have a problem with your monitor. If you can then the issue is somewhere else.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to David_L_Brown Find More Posts by David_L_Brown
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-26-2008, 06:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Member GG#: 55547
Location: SG
Posts: 13
Comments: 0

song is offline IP: 202.156.8.9
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

hi there
tks for the reply..

ok .. slight correction on my side
my monitor was corrected when someone taught me PS MANY months back at my home.
But i do know that we need to re-calibrate on a frequent basis.

And just now i rushed to a friend and borrowed his eye1 display1 and dl the new match 3 software.

Before calibrating I could not really see the last 2 extreme bar on each side posted by DavidL.B (tks)
But after calibrating (using advance mode ) each of the 32 bars can see clearly in LR.
But the monitor was a pain to look at !! Pics also appeared brighter as well.

so wats next?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to song Find More Posts by song
 
Re: inaccurate prints ..
Old 01-26-2008, 04:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member

 
David_L_Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38676
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 178
Comments: 0

David_L_Brown is offline IP: 70.173.221.237
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The next step is printer calibration. If you don't have access to software you'll have to do it poor man's style. Make up a test print that has the gray scale bar on it plus one or two photos that have a nice range of tones including skin. Send it to your lab and ask that no corrections be made. When you get it back compare it to your screen version and make a home-made profile using curves (preferably) or levels. You're trying to make the changes that will make future prints match the screen. If your print is too dark then lighten the screen image. If the print is too red then reduce the red in your screen image, etc etc. It will look like you are messing up your nice screen version but persevere. After you have made these changes save them. Look for the option that says "save preset" before you close the curves (or levels) window. Now send this version to the lab and get another print. When you get it back you will still probably have to fine tune it a little more depending on how good your eye is. Open up your preset and tweek it and resave it. Repeat this entire process until you are satisfied. Hopefully it won't take more than two trips to the lab to accomplish your goal.

Once you're happy with your home-made profile just apply it to anything you are sending to the lab "after" you have finished your regular editing. In other words, make it look good on your calibrated screen as you usually do. Then save it for your personal use. Then apply your curves preset and save that version to take to the lab. If you're printing a bunch of photos just create an action that applies your preset and run it in a batch.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to David_L_Brown Find More Posts by David_L_Brown
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large Prints sflimey Tech Talk Forum 4 03-24-2009 11:01 PM
Where to have prints made that involve topless content Dman65 Main Community Forum 15 04-20-2007 08:26 AM
Large format prints Vidar Tech Talk Forum 9 10-11-2005 09:22 PM
Digital Prints come out too dark! What the heck? RoshGlamour Tech Talk Forum 11 04-13-2005 09:51 AM
My prints from film look like they came from a digital source?? 2276 Tech Talk Forum 4 03-23-2005 05:25 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94