Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
WB setting for strobes?
Old 12-18-2007, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 60155
Comments: 0

LePhotography08 is offline IP: 74.4.72.253

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Hey all,
It's been a long time since I've been on here but had to come back Anyway, I just purchased some new equipment including 2 Alien Bees B400's w/softboxes. This may be a dumb question but what WB setting should I be using? I don't have cards for a custom WB, just using the generic settings on the camera sunny, cloudy, flast etc. The lights say they are rated for daylight...does that mean i shoot be shooting w/daylight WB? So in other words...help! I've never used lights before except for the sun so I'm in learning mode.
Any help/tips would be greatly appreciated!
Sean
  View Public Profile Send a private message to LePhotography08 Find More Posts by LePhotography08

Re: WB setting for strobes?
Old 12-18-2007, 04:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Amateur

Member GG#: 35246
Comments: 7

jford is offline IP: 144.80.192.130

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Yes, unless you use a custom balance setting, you ought to use "Daylight" for studio strobes like the ABs. Be sure to allow enough time between shots for a complete recharge - I don't have AB's but the (much) earlier White Lightnings and they will fire (if triggered) before they're truly ready.
Have fun.

Old 12-18-2007, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 57204
Comments: 2

Absolutely Digital is offline IP: 202.33.109.12