Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-09-2007, 08:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DHDSP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member GG#: 43515
Location: Grebenstein nr. Kassel
Posts: 145
Comments: 0

DHDSP is offline IP: 84.58.22.42
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi everyone !

I'm sitting on about 1000 images which I would like to get printed by a commercial lab (to cut cost : 0,01€ from 500-1000). Now the cheap labs all take the pictures and CROP them to the format supported - there is no way to tell them the pictures should be printed with white space e.g.

Does anyone know of a programm to automatically convert 1000's of pictures to a certain format (like 3:2) keeping proportions and if necessary adding white space?

TIA
Peter
__________________
Mae West: You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DHDSP Find More Posts by DHDSP
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-09-2007, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
isaiahbrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39216
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 1,180
Comments: 2
Send a message via MSN to isaiahbrink Send a message via Yahoo to isaiahbrink

isaiahbrink is offline IP: 69.106.179.48
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Well, in this amount, my best recomendation is something I use to resize images before I give them to the client. I have created actions within Photoshop, one called "Vertical" and one called "Horizontal" obviously simplifed, where it will open the image, change one deminsion, and the resolution, save it, and then close it. To do a large amount, which, while I do, but not in your higher quantity (it would still work though, just take longer) but what I do after that is copy them to my desktop (total seperate copy in case I screwed up) and then go to "File - Automate - Batch" where another window will open with several options, just make sure you select the new folder on your desktop. Maybe create a second destination folder as well. I hope this helps in some way.

Isaiah
__________________
I know that I am one with beauty, And that my comrades are one. Let our souls be mountains, Let our spirtis be stars, Let our hearts be worlds.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to isaiahbrink Find More Posts by isaiahbrink
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-09-2007, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Driftwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member GG#: 45232
Location: Swansea, UK
Posts: 357
Comments: 0

Driftwood is offline IP: 88.105.125.114
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If your images are initially all the same size (straight out of the camera) then it is fairly easy to do this in Photoshop.
Create an action which resizes the canvas slightly larger than your current file image dimensions and in the proportions you require. Choose a white canvas.
Then you can batch process the files to run the action.
__________________
Regards,
Kevin.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Driftwood Find More Posts by Driftwood
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-09-2007, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Amateur

 
jford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35246
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 2,730
Comments: 7

jford is offline IP: 144.80.192.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Look into ImageMagick It's a Linux-derived open-source command-line beauty that is available in Windows (and, I believe, Mac) versions. If I understand you correctly, you want to take an M x N pixel image and add blank canvas to create an image that fits into a 3 x 2 (or whatever) frame. I am confident that that's possible in ImageMagick, although I've only used it for batch format conversions, batch cropping, and batch resizing. Quite flexible and powerful.
__________________
"Keeping shooting will do more for the excellence of your photography than most any camera will!" JimmyD, PGS Extraordinaire.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jford Visit jford's homepage! Find More Posts by jford
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-09-2007, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 76.236.210.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Most digital cameras produce a photo that is 3x2. Most labs will print 6x4 prints. Since that's the same ratio, I not sure what you're after. What is the pixel resolution of the photos right out of the camera? If it is very close to 3x2 then 6x4 prints will preserve the whole photo. Now this would be different for an Olympus camera which I believe is 4x3.
Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-10-2007, 04:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DHDSP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member GG#: 43515
Location: Grebenstein nr. Kassel
Posts: 145
Comments: 0

DHDSP is offline IP: 80.69.192.135
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the replies guys!

I'm currently looking into imagemagick , but after reading for half an hour I haven't found the solution yet - I didn't find a resize option that will keep the resolution at its original, but change the format.

The problem is the images are a mix of orientations , sizes and formats. Some of them were produced by my camera, some are graphics - even small webgraphics. eg. an image sized 200x200 pixels should come out as 300x200 , filling 100x200 pixels white.

That means even just selecting by orientation would take for ever.

If I find a solution I'll let you know.

CU
Peter

Ps: maybe I should just convert them to a certain absolute PIXEL ratio , say 3000x2000 , looking into this too
__________________
Mae West: You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DHDSP Find More Posts by DHDSP
Last edited by DHDSP; 12-10-2007 at 08:55 AM..
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-10-2007, 12:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Member GG#: 53661
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 56
Comments: 2

colt is offline IP: 70.145.101.109
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Check out Dr. Brown's 123 image processor (script) for photoshop. Or just use photoshop's image processor and canvas size command . Use bridge to select between portrait and landscape. I think Qimage will also do what you want - just set a fixed output size and just tell it to center the pic in that space, again using bridge to select portrait or landscape.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to colt Visit colt's homepage! Find More Posts by colt
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-22-2007, 08:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Mal at Hidden Creek Photo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Member GG#: 53414
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 45
Comments: 0

Mal at Hidden Creek Photo is offline IP: 66.32.143.94
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

For fast conversion there is also a fairly simple program called Faststone Image Viewer. You can specify conversions in either percentages, pixels, dpi, etc. Its a good viewer with some good utilities, but it is not a pro-level image editor. -- Oh, and its free.
__________________
Digital photography - Whatever happened to cave painting?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mal at Hidden Creek Photo Find More Posts by Mal at Hidden Creek Photo
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-22-2007, 11:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DHDSP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member GG#: 43515
Location: Grebenstein nr. Kassel
Posts: 145
Comments: 0

DHDSP is offline IP: 82.82.43.126
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

In the end I used Dr. Brown's scripts for CS3 (after finding out the online printing co. DOES do a fit to the required dimensions - but did refuse to print low resolution images). I can really recommend these scripts (and they are free).

Merry Xmas !
CU
Peter
__________________
Mae West: You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DHDSP Find More Posts by DHDSP
 
Re: batch format convert - no crop ?
Old 12-30-2007, 06:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
AHG_Photography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Member GG#: 58497
Location: Belgrade, Montana. USA
Posts: 7
Comments: 1

AHG_Photography is offline IP: 153.90.196.61
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHDSP View Post
Hi everyone !

I'm sitting on about 1000 images which I would like to get printed by a commercial lab (to cut cost : 0,01€ from 500-1000). Now the cheap labs all take the pictures and CROP them to the format supported - there is no way to tell them the pictures should be printed with white space e.g.

Does anyone know of a programm to automatically convert 1000's of pictures to a certain format (like 3:2) keeping proportions and if necessary adding white space?

TIA
Peter
The free software IrfanView will do batch conversions of image files easily. Download at:

http://www.irfanview.com/

Nude, Glamour, and Fashion Photography of Montana
On G1 as AHG_Photography
  View Public Profile Send a private message to AHG_Photography Find More Posts by AHG_Photography
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camera format or Computer format a memory card? insanepinoy Tech Talk Forum 10 05-17-2007 08:08 PM
Answer to question on sensor size vs crop factor Brad Tech Talk Forum 17 01-02-2006 10:40 PM
batch process help PSCS Sean_Armenta Tech Talk Forum 3 03-01-2005 11:10 AM
Batch processing riosun Digital Darkroom 14 12-14-2004 02:12 AM
Medium format system discussion for model-oriented photography Marko Tech Talk Forum 1 10-31-2004 03:16 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94