Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
is my shutter fried?
Old 05-20-2003, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
val
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35336
Location: manhattan
Posts: 31
Comments: 0

val is offline IP: 24.25.227.133
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I know somebody brought up this subject before but I want to confirm the cause/symptoms.

Canon d60, approx 50,000 images shot. In the middle of shooting it will "lock up" with a darker than normal view through the viewfinder, and there will be an error message flashing in the top window. Usually turn off, remove CF and battery, reload and try again, then it usually works okay, but this is starting to happen more often and sometimes takes a cooling off period with a new card and battery before the camera will work again. Is this the shutter dying? If so, is it worth a repair (how much $) or should I be looking at a 10D? Advice, opinions appreciated. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]


  View Public Profile Send a private message to val Find More Posts by val
 
Re: is my shutter fried?
Old 05-20-2003, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35204
Location: Freehold
Posts: 59
Comments: 0

dksun is offline IP: 67.84.118.191
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If the problem is temporary, my guess would be something other than shutter failure.

From reading various forums, the only thing I can think of is dirty electrical contacts between the lens and the camera body. I'd suggest carefully cleaning the contacts on both your lenses and the camera body with a pencil eraser...making sure you don't get eraser bits into the camera body and onto the image sensor.

If you are using the D60 for paid assignments, I'd make sure that a backup body is available. (Actually, a backup is a good idea regardless of what body you're using.)

FWIW- I had similar lockups with an EOS3. It happened only once. I cleaned the contacts after the incident and have not had a problem with it since. No problems so far with either the D60 or the 10D.)
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dksun Visit dksun's homepage! Find More Posts by dksun
 
I\'ve absolutely no idea, but ...
Old 05-20-2003, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35218
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 716
Comments: 0

Doug_Lester is offline IP: 216.175.67.113
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've absolutely no idea, but the more I read on this board about the many problems people are having, the less interested I am in dropping a few thousand bucks on a camera which apparently can't be trusted.
My place, all reliable film.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Doug_Lester Visit Doug_Lester's homepage! Find More Posts by Doug_Lester
 
Re: thanks
Old 05-20-2003, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
val
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35336
Location: manhattan
Posts: 31
Comments: 0

val is offline IP: 24.25.227.132
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That's good advice and I think you may be onto something because I do seem to experience it (now that i think about it) after several lens changes in fairly humid conditions, and I did have a similar experience once w/my EOS 3. You are 100% right about the importance of a backup too. Thanks, [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to val Find More Posts by val
 
Re: good point
Old 05-20-2003, 06:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
val
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35336
Location: manhattan
Posts: 31
Comments: 0

val is offline IP: 24.25.227.132
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That's why I always bring a film body and film as backup. But on the other hand, the cost of buying and processing a similar number of images velvia or even t-max in the home darkroom is much, much more than the few thousand bucks cost of a good digital body and a few CF cards.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to val Find More Posts by val
 
Off the subject
Old 05-20-2003, 07:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
gonzales23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member GG#: 35794
Location: Pueblo
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

gonzales23 is offline IP: 67.164.226.177
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I like the picture . Did you use any fill or reflectors?

Patrick
  View Public Profile Send a private message to gonzales23 Visit gonzales23's homepage! Find More Posts by gonzales23
 
Re: Off the subject
Old 05-21-2003, 09:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
val
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35336
Location: manhattan
Posts: 31
Comments: 0

val is offline IP: 24.25.227.133
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

No, just natural light sun behind with a 200mm (x1.6). Thanks, [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to val Find More Posts by val
 
Re: is my shutter fried?
Old 05-22-2003, 01:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.8.160
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Does it do it with every lens? I had this problem with and Elan 7 and it turned out that it was the DEP button . It was faulty and gave me fits for about three days then when I jiggled it a little, tadaaa,,, it was "fixed" however I never used the DEP button again
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max shutter speed w/strobes? LePhotography08 Tech Talk Forum 7 01-10-2008 07:20 PM
shutter speed question GCook Tech Talk Forum 8 01-25-2007 04:08 PM
Cordless Flash Mode and Shutter Speed Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 9 06-03-2006 04:00 PM
Shutter Replacement on Canon D60 AMaginations Tech Talk Forum 4 03-01-2005 10:40 PM
Shutter Lag Specification for 20D JohnPaul Tech Talk Forum 3 10-01-2004 11:11 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93