Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-11-2007, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42991
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 377
Comments: 0
My Mood:

DocSmith is offline IP: 74.163.1.120
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have 3.12 GB of RAM installed on my PC and that is what shows up when I check Control Panel > System. However in CS3, under Edit > Preferences > Performance, only 1.7 GB of RAM is displayed as available. Right now, I have 100% allocated with no problems, although CS3 recommends allocating only 70% of this value. Why doesn't the full 3.12 GB show as available, instead? Any info will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Doc
__________________
Michael Smith
Michael Smith Photography
PO Box 573
Gulf Breeze, Florida 32562
(850) 712-0639
www.michaelsmithphotography.biz

Studio One Pensacola
103 W. Intendencia Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
(850) 712-0639
www.studioonepensacola.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DocSmith Visit DocSmith's homepage! Find More Posts by DocSmith
 
Re: RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-11-2007, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RobArtLyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member GG#: 55042
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 411
Comments: 0
My Mood:

RobArtLyn is offline IP: 141.156.191.201
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

From the Adobe TechNote "Optimize performance of Photoshop CS3 on Windows XP and Vista" available here:

http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/view...1088&sliceId=2

Quote:
Photoshop CS3 is a 32-bit application. When it runs on a 32-bit operating system, such as Windows XP Professional and some versions of Windows Vista, it can access the first 2 GB of RAM on the computer.The operating system uses some of this RAM, so the Photoshop Memory Usage preference displays only a maximum of 1.6 or 1.7 GB of total available RAM. If you are running Windows XP Professional with Service Pack 2, you can set the 3 GB switch in the boot.ini file, which allows Photoshop to use up to 3 GB of RAM.

Important: The 3 GB switch is a Microsoft switch and may not work with all computers. Contact Microsoft for instructions before you set the 3 GB switch, and for troubleshooting the switch. You can search on the Microsoft support page for 3gb for information on this switch.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RobArtLyn Find More Posts by RobArtLyn
 
Re: RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-11-2007, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42991
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 377
Comments: 0
My Mood:

DocSmith is offline IP: 74.163.1.120
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Rob -

Thanks! So the 1.7 GB is what I should expect with a limit of 2 GB. Here is how set the 3 GB switch to access the additional RAM I have aboard:

http://softimage.wiki.avid.com/index...he_/3GB_Switch

About to learn something,
Doc
__________________
Michael Smith
Michael Smith Photography
PO Box 573
Gulf Breeze, Florida 32562
(850) 712-0639
www.michaelsmithphotography.biz

Studio One Pensacola
103 W. Intendencia Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
(850) 712-0639
www.studioonepensacola.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DocSmith Visit DocSmith's homepage! Find More Posts by DocSmith
 
Re: RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-11-2007, 06:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42991
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 377
Comments: 0
My Mood:

DocSmith is offline IP: 74.163.1.120
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Oh, Baby!

Up to 2.65 GB Available and I'm allocating 70% of that to CS3... Buying antoher 1 GB tomorrow...

Thanks, as always,
Doc
__________________
Michael Smith
Michael Smith Photography
PO Box 573
Gulf Breeze, Florida 32562
(850) 712-0639
www.michaelsmithphotography.biz

Studio One Pensacola
103 W. Intendencia Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
(850) 712-0639
www.studioonepensacola.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DocSmith Visit DocSmith's homepage! Find More Posts by DocSmith
 
Re: RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-12-2007, 05:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Aspiring Photographer

 
CatCynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50625
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 432
Comments: 0

CatCynic is offline IP: 220.253.41.102
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Don't bother buying another 1Gb - the max you can use under 32bit Windows is 3Gb.
__________________
they say you have to take a thousand bad photos before you can take a good one - I have mastered the bad photos part...
  View Public Profile Find More Posts by CatCynic
 
Re: RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-12-2007, 06:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42991
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 377
Comments: 0
My Mood:

DocSmith is offline IP: 74.163.1.225
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I thought that was for application software/hardware and the rest, i.e., anything over 3 GB was used by the OS, but I could be wrong - wouldn't be the first time!

Thanks,
Doc
__________________
Michael Smith
Michael Smith Photography
PO Box 573
Gulf Breeze, Florida 32562
(850) 712-0639
www.michaelsmithphotography.biz

Studio One Pensacola
103 W. Intendencia Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
(850) 712-0639
www.studioonepensacola.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DocSmith Visit DocSmith's homepage! Find More Posts by DocSmith
 
Re: RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-12-2007, 09:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41719
Location: West Plano, TX
Posts: 558
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to srwatters Send a message via Yahoo to srwatters

srwatters is offline IP: 65.197.247.151
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The application can't use what it can't reach. The 32 bit address space is limited to 4GB. Subtract from that what IO is memory mapped for devices (like your 256MB video RAM) and you have left what the OS can reach.
__________________
Scott Watters
http://www.polodigital.net
Nikon | Hasselblad | Phase One | Hensel | Apple
  View Public Profile Send a private message to srwatters Visit srwatters's homepage! Find More Posts by srwatters
 
Re: RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-12-2007, 09:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42991
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 377
Comments: 0
My Mood:

DocSmith is offline IP: 74.163.1.225
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Sounds like the additional Gb wouldn't do much for me since I'm over 3 Gb as it is, and I'm very satisfied with the speed and capacity...

Thanks, anyway
Doc
__________________
Michael Smith
Michael Smith Photography
PO Box 573
Gulf Breeze, Florida 32562
(850) 712-0639
www.michaelsmithphotography.biz

Studio One Pensacola
103 W. Intendencia Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
(850) 712-0639
www.studioonepensacola.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DocSmith Visit DocSmith's homepage! Find More Posts by DocSmith
 
Re: RAM allocation and CS3 Performance
Old 07-13-2007, 06:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42991
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 377
Comments: 0
My Mood:

DocSmith is offline IP: 74.163.2.141
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

After viewing Deke McClelland's CS3 Setup tutorial for larger RAM configurations on Lynda.com, I've lowered the amount of CS3 RAM to 40% of available RAM instead of 70% and gained even more speed. Seems the higher percentage was for lower RAM (1 Gb) machines.

Doc
__________________
Michael Smith
Michael Smith Photography
PO Box 573
Gulf Breeze, Florida 32562
(850) 712-0639
www.michaelsmithphotography.biz

Studio One Pensacola
103 W. Intendencia Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
(850) 712-0639
www.studioonepensacola.com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DocSmith Visit DocSmith's homepage! Find More Posts by DocSmith
Last edited by DocSmith; 07-13-2007 at 06:46 AM.. Reason: Spelling, as always
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93