Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 01:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
insanepinoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42503
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 368
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to insanepinoy

insanepinoy is offline IP: 71.146.168.180
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When using a new memory card is it best to format the card via camera or computer or does it make a difference? I think the mini manual that came with my Ridata 4gb said to format it before use but didn't specify where.

I used my 4gb Ridata compact flash card yesterday for an important shoot and when I tried uploading it only 146 out of 500 showed up. I was going nuts until I purchased photorescue which was able to recover most of the files missing. I would say 98% of it. I was up half the night last night trying to recover the images.

I've used this card several times before and had no problems until yesterday. I also own a 2gb Ridata and a 2gb Kingston which I used for almost a year with my Canon 30d without problems either. Anyone have any prior experiences to this?

Last week I ordered a Lexar 8gb which I might get rid of to get a few 2gb or 4gb cards just to play it safe the next time around.
__________________
Randy Reyes Photography
  View Public Profile Send a private message to insanepinoy Visit insanepinoy's homepage! Find More Posts by insanepinoy
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 02:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,048
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.76.104
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi Randy,
I have Always heard/read Format in Camera.
That's what I do after Every upload and have never had any problems.
__________________
RonC


---------------------------------------------------------------------
Nothing stays as good as it once was!
http://www.myspace.com/ronsphotos
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member GG#: 52576
Location: Northridge
Posts: 131
Comments: 0
My Mood:

TheGoldy is offline IP: 198.188.145.106
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

While you can format the card in the computer, it's probably better to do it in the camera because the camera may add additional information during formatting which helps with file compatibility, etc. for the camera.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to TheGoldy Find More Posts by TheGoldy
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 76.186.138.153
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Always format in the camera. When you format in the computer it often just does a quick format and this leaves the files there, and just updates the fat table. Thus if some problem occurs, you can end up with photos garbled, etc. The camera format is clean and is optimized for the camera's use.
Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 03:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
TomRobin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37855
Location: Pocasset
Posts: 150
Comments: 1

TomRobin is offline IP: 151.204.241.197
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Every source says to format in the camera!
__________________
I'll let you be in my dream
if I can be in yours
--Bob Dylan
  View Public Profile Send a private message to TomRobin Visit TomRobin's homepage! Find More Posts by TomRobin
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41719
Location: West Plano, TX
Posts: 558
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to srwatters Send a message via Yahoo to srwatters

srwatters is offline IP: 65.197.247.151
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Fredrick_Smith View Post
Always format in the camera. When you format in the computer it often just does a quick format and this leaves the files there, and just updates the fat table. Thus if some problem occurs, you can end up with photos garbled, etc. The camera format is clean and is optimized for the camera's use.
Cheers,
rfs
I won't disagree with formatting in camera, but if anyone thinks that the camera does any more error checking than a quick format in the computer, you're kidding yourself. Count the time it takes from when you hit format, until it's ready to shoot, then divide that by the size of the card. If it's anywhere near the read (let alone write) speed of the card, then maybe it's checking for bad sectors. Truth be told that embedded into the firmware of the camera is FAT code that most likely originated in a commercial OS and was ported to the camera processor. I do this for a living (not with cameras, but other embedded systems) and nobody re-writes this code from scratch. Too hard to test, so you buy the library source and port it.

It may write some other data to the card, but it is not doing any more checking than the format utility does.
__________________
Scott Watters
http://www.polodigital.net
Nikon | Hasselblad | Phase One | Hensel | Apple
  View Public Profile Send a private message to srwatters Visit srwatters's homepage! Find More Posts by srwatters
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 04:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator

 
SteveB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35840
Location: Highland Mills, NY
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:

SteveB is offline IP: 74.36.20.217
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

In the camera!
In the camera!
In the camera!
In the camera!

It is not uncommon when formatted by computer to make it so the camera and card can no longer read each other.
__________________
Remember, photography is supposed to be fun!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to SteveB Visit SteveB's homepage! Find More Posts by SteveB
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 07:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
insanepinoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42503
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 368
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to insanepinoy

insanepinoy is offline IP: 71.146.145.230
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

ok so i've been formatting my cards in camera all the time and this was my first time to come across this problem. i guess the card was mishandled somehow after switching cards? i won't be using this card again thats for sure. thanks guys.
__________________
Randy Reyes Photography
  View Public Profile Send a private message to insanepinoy Visit insanepinoy's homepage! Find More Posts by insanepinoy
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 07:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41719
Location: West Plano, TX
Posts: 558
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to srwatters Send a message via Yahoo to srwatters

srwatters is offline IP: 71.123.161.97
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Are you sure your camera supports 4GB cards?

There is a limit on FAT16 file systems with 32KB clusters of 2GB. If the camera supports 64KB clusters (unknown) or uses FAT32 (supported), then you are in business. If you formatted it in the PC with FAT16 and 64KB clusters then you might have an issue.

Always pays to RTFM...
__________________
Scott Watters
http://www.polodigital.net
Nikon | Hasselblad | Phase One | Hensel | Apple
  View Public Profile Send a private message to srwatters Visit srwatters's homepage! Find More Posts by srwatters
 
Re: Camera format or Computer format a memory card?
Old 05-17-2007, 07:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member

 
vsrdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member GG#: 42806
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 163
Comments: 0

vsrdan is offline IP: 72.129.190.56
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

ALWAYS format in the camera. In fact, some cameras don't "like" computer formatted memory cards.

Also, always buy memory cards from "known" manufacturers (such as SanDisk, PQI, Kingston, Transcend, Corsair, etc.)
__________________
-Dan(R)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/photo36/
  View Public Profile Send a private message to vsrdan Visit vsrdan's homepage! Find More Posts by vsrdan
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Film Vs Digital mray Tech Talk Forum 41 11-02-2011 11:28 AM
"light field camera" - A new era in photography? mrayburn Tech Talk Forum 10 11-25-2005 02:15 AM
what medium format camera? markomiscevic Tech Talk Forum 18 05-23-2005 06:58 PM
Memory Card Question... PremierPhoto Tech Talk Forum 13 11-19-2004 08:30 PM
cf cards corrupting camera markee Tech Talk Forum 3 10-18-2004 08:57 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94