Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-26-2007, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
insanepinoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42503
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 368
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to insanepinoy

insanepinoy is offline IP: 71.146.156.37
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

First of all I owned the Tamron lens for a little over a year and the 30d about almost a year now. No problems at all.

Last weekend I took off the battery grip and shot around for a while until I got an err99. I was able to get some shots before the error. Thought nothing of it. So I took the lens off and battery. It worked. Then it didnt. Off and on it worked.

So I get home search online an exhausted mosts resources as I could. I cleaned the contacts, changed/formatted cards, and changed batteries.
A buddy of mine came buy with his 20d and same lens. We switched and sure enough its the lens.

Has anyone worked with Tamron and their warranty services? Timeframe of repair? Extra costs? Hidden fees? I was seriously thinking of picking up a new lens but cant afford to. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
__________________
Randy Reyes Photography
  View Public Profile Send a private message to insanepinoy Visit insanepinoy's homepage! Find More Posts by insanepinoy
 
Re: Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-26-2007, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
maxposure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member GG#: 56015
Location: villa hills
Posts: 7
Comments: 0

maxposure is offline IP: 161.6.218.73
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

As fas as I know its a problem between the connection of the lens and the camera. I had this issue with my rebel XT. I was told to take an eraser and rub the connection points on the lens and the camera (be careful when rubbing the cameras points) to get off all the crap that might be interfering. Im not positive thats what was causing the problems but it has worked since then for me.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to maxposure Find More Posts by maxposure
 
Re: Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-26-2007, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
insanepinoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42503
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 368
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to insanepinoy

insanepinoy is offline IP: 71.146.156.37
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

thanks. i wish it was that easy.

i know its the lens because i swapped it into my buddy's 20d and got the same error. he has the same lens which i mounted on my 30d and it was fine.
__________________
Randy Reyes Photography
  View Public Profile Send a private message to insanepinoy Visit insanepinoy's homepage! Find More Posts by insanepinoy
 
Re: Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-27-2007, 12:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member GG#: 57919
Location: LA
Posts: 581
Comments: 1

kgphoto is offline IP: 68.125.149.40
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If the contacts on the lens were bad, then it would transfer from camera to camera. Clean them and see what happens.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to kgphoto Find More Posts by kgphoto
 
Re: Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-30-2007, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Member GG#: 46114
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 120
Comments: 0

dledeaux is offline IP: 70.249.41.33
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I realize you have a Canon, but I had a similar weird error happen with my Tammy 28-75 on my Nikon. Turned out I had slipped the aperture ring into a manual aperture instead of auto mode.

I sent my lens to Tamron under warranty. It needed recalibration. It took them about 3 weeks not including shipping. I think all together it was 5 weeks. They swear this is not the norm for them.

The first step is to call them and speak to a tech. They are more than willing to help you over the phone if possible. Then you'll need to send them the lens and a copy of the reciept where you bought it, along with a RMA form from their website.

There's no fees other than shipping (I think they pay the return shipping).
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dledeaux Visit dledeaux's homepage! Find More Posts by dledeaux
 
Re: Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-30-2007, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
numee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member GG#: 43624
Location: Pollock
Posts: 98
Comments: 4
Send a message via MSN to numee

numee is offline IP: 65.0.59.17
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It's "dayum" if you do and "dayum" if you don't....own a 20D and 30D and had the same problem....using non-canon lenses....
Finally got a Canon Rep. to give me the "skinny"...both the 20D & 30D have contacts set for Canon lenses...
Not to say non-canon lenses won't work...but you have to send them back to the Mfg. example; Sigma, Tamron, Tokina....and they will modify the lenses. If they are under warrenty, will only cost you shipping..however, if they are not warrenty...the Mfg. will "dob" you with a charge...
Oh, by-the-way, have Sigma lenses on both cameras..
Good luck,
  View Public Profile Send a private message to numee Find More Posts by numee
 
Re: Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-30-2007, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member

 
insanepinoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42503
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 368
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to insanepinoy

insanepinoy is offline IP: 71.146.177.158
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks everyone for your replies. I sent out my lens yesterday after doing everything I could with cleaning the contacts. I decided to send it directly to Tamron and not any of the authorized dealers. It just seemed like a smarter move to avoid any hassles or delay because of parts etc.

I sent out my lens, copy of proof of purchase, copy of warranty, and a form printed from their website. They said it will take 2-3 weeks but I'm guessing it will be longer. If the condition of my lens requires extra costs to repair they will contact me prior to any work done.

Anyways, I love this lens and used it as my primary lens ever since I purchased it. Now I'm looking into purchasing the Canon 24-70 2.8L. I'll have to rent one first to fully convince me from laying down $1200!

dledeaux: so after recieving the lens back from tamron did it perform as expected? how long ago was it?
__________________
Randy Reyes Photography
  View Public Profile Send a private message to insanepinoy Visit insanepinoy's homepage! Find More Posts by insanepinoy
 
Re: Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-30-2007, 02:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 76.186.138.153
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by numee View Post
It's "dayum" if you do and "dayum" if you don't....own a 20D and 30D and had the same problem....using non-canon lenses....
Finally got a Canon Rep. to give me the "skinny"...both the 20D & 30D have contacts set for Canon lenses...
Not to say non-canon lenses won't work...but you have to send them back to the Mfg. example; Sigma, Tamron, Tokina....and they will modify the lenses. If they are under warrenty, will only cost you shipping..however, if they are not warrenty...the Mfg. will "dob" you with a charge...
Oh, by-the-way, have Sigma lenses on both cameras..
Good luck,
I don't think the Canon Rep gave you the "skinny", he gave you the "baloney".

The contacts are virtually identical in all of the lens that work for the Canon line of cameras. There is, however, a chip (a computer chip) inside the lens that controls certain electronic and interface issues. If you buy an older Sigma or Tamron lens, for example, then there might need to be an update made to the chip. But the contacts would not be changed at all. However I've used Sigma and Tamron lens on my Canon 10D and 20D that go back almost 7 years and they have all worked perfectly. I still have a Tamron 28-300 that I used to use on my old Elan Film camera and it worked perfectly there also. I later sold the Elan on eBay along with the Tamron 28-75 f2.8.

In the case of the original post, it can't be a chip issue or the lens would not have been working for the last year. What sometimes happens, on any lens, is that some of the electronics that are inside the lens (that you don't see) can come loose and as a result, you have to have a repair.

Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Canon 30d Error 99 w/ Tamron 28-75 2.8
Old 03-30-2007, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Member GG#: 46114
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 120
Comments: 0

dledeaux is offline IP: 70.249.41.33
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by insanepinoy View Post
dledeaux: so after recieving the lens back from tamron did it perform as expected? how long ago was it?
Oh this must have been around October last year. My problem was that the lens was way too soft wide open. Ridiculous. I couldn't even use it. In fact, for the first 10 months of ownership I hardly used it because it made me sick. I bought a 50mm and it was my primary.

After sending it to Tamron, it came back tack sharp. I was so impressed with it after that I later bought another Tamron, the 17-50 2.8. Another very nice little lens.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dledeaux Visit dledeaux's homepage! Find More Posts by dledeaux
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Tamron AF 28-75 vs Canon 28-70 L jimmyd Main Community Forum 14 03-28-2010 05:13 PM
Lens Quality? Sigma vs Canon LePhoto Tech Talk Forum 21 12-23-2006 02:00 AM
Tamron 28-75 vs Canon 24-70 / 28-70? JohnPaul Tech Talk Forum 5 06-28-2005 12:24 AM
Nikon vs Canon objektiv Tech Talk Forum 9 02-11-2005 12:12 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94