Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
PC Synch Speed Question
Old 05-12-2003, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35623
Location: Springfield
Posts: 173
Comments: 0

bscott3125 is offline IP: 66.119.16.21
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Have a question regarding synch speeds. Just want to make sure I fully understand what I think I understand [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] I have a Canon 10D which the PC Synch is 1/60. Does this mean that I can not shoot at a shutter speed above this...say 1/125, but 1/30 would be ok.

I know this is probably a silly question just want some clarification.

Thanks,
Brent
  View Public Profile Send a private message to bscott3125 Visit bscott3125's homepage! Find More Posts by bscott3125
 
Re: PC Synch Speed Question
Old 05-12-2003, 11:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35737
Location: Foley
Posts: 180
Comments: 0

David Bunch is offline IP: 209.102.144.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You might want to check your manual more carefully...Canon's US website shows a flash sync speed of 1/200th sec. for the 10D.

As for your question, that speed is the TOP sync speed. The use of slower sync speeds (to allow more ambient light to influence exposure) is known as "dragging the shutter", and is quite effective in many circumstances.

David
  View Public Profile Send a private message to David Bunch Visit David Bunch's homepage! Find More Posts by David Bunch
 
Re: PC Synch Speed Question
Old 05-12-2003, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35623
Location: Springfield
Posts: 173
Comments: 0

bscott3125 is offline IP: 66.119.20.253
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

From the way I read the manual any flash connected via the hot shoe will perform at 1/200 but the PC Terminal only 1/60. Basically what I've noticed is in the studio I have been shooting 1/125 and the majority of the images look underexposed and the white balance is a bit off. I'm just wondering if this is why. Going to experiment with it tonight but I just wanted to make sure I was understanding this all correctly. Which it sounds like maybe I am.

Thanks,
Brent
  View Public Profile Send a private message to bscott3125 Visit bscott3125's homepage! Find More Posts by bscott3125
 
Re: PC Synch Speed Question
Old 05-12-2003, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35475
Location: Madison, Alabana
Posts: 9
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to CharlieG

CharlieG is offline IP: 24.214.119.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have a Canon 10D...... and shootr2 is right about the1/ 200th sync with the internal flash.....But from my reading the manual... external flashes sync at 1/60th ( which is odd) I have been shooting at 1/90th without any problems useing my Vivatar 285 flash.....and I think it will go up to 1/200th as the internal flash does....I will have to experiment more


Charlie G
  View Public Profile Send a private message to CharlieG Find More Posts by CharlieG
 
Yup & Yup. (NM)
Old 05-12-2003, 12:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 165.95.207.169
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

NM
 
 
on a D60
Old 05-12-2003, 01:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member GG#: 35795
Posts: 48
Comments: 0

orlphoto is offline IP: 65.33.235.93
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I use 1/180 with no problems plugged into the sync...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to orlphoto Visit orlphoto's homepage! Find More Posts by orlphoto
 
Re: PC Synch Speed Question
Old 05-12-2003, 02:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35195
Posts: 440
Comments: 0

rjwarren is offline IP: 12.145.192.117
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Brent

If you have the wrong synch speed, you won't get underexposure and color shift. You'll get part of the image exposed. For example, if your PC connection only takes 1/60 for a synch speed and you shoot at 1/125 you should see about 1/2 the image exposed perfectly (assuming all else is correct) and the other half BLACK. No exposure. Amazing how these devices work!

I've screwed up the synch speed at least twice. Once on my M645 where the synch speed is 1/60 I had the dial set to 1/125 and didn't notice -- untill I got the film back! On the other, the manual said synch to 1/250 -- but that was the internal flash and the manufacturer's units. The external flash (studio strobes) were only good at 1/125. Again, 1/2 of every frame was exposed.

If you're getting underexposure and color shift, it could be your flash units. Perhaps they're not putting out the amount of light you think they are. If there is a problem with the electrical system and they're not getting proper power, that could also account for low output.

Best of luck.

Bob

Something from my studio:
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rjwarren Visit rjwarren's homepage! Find More Posts by rjwarren
 
Re: PC Synch Speed Question
Old 05-12-2003, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35623
Location: Springfield
Posts: 173
Comments: 0

bscott3125 is offline IP: 66.119.20.253
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Excellent, that's the kind of information I was looking for. It's tough trying to track it down to what it is when there are so many variables involved. I just wonder if my light meter isn't acurate. Will have to experiment further, but I mainly curious about synch speed and ruling it out.

Thanks for the great info!

-Brent
  View Public Profile Send a private message to bscott3125 Visit bscott3125's homepage! Find More Posts by bscott3125
 
Re: PC Synch Speed Question
Old 05-14-2003, 08:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Marko
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 195.29.173.226
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yes, that's exactly what it means. Anything slower works. Anything faster means that a portion of your image will not expose because the focal-plane shutter will be blocking a portion of the image when the flash pops and your flash will not expose that portion of the image, obviously.

Hey, you mean to tell me that the 10D only syncs to 1/60th? They are charging WAY TOO MUCH for that thing! An EOS REBEL will sync to either 1/90th or 1/125 depending on exactly which, for pete's sake!
 
 
Re: PC Synch Speed Question
Old 05-15-2003, 09:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35542
Posts: 2
Comments: 0

WesApple is offline IP: 208.254.170.98
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Bob,

I thought the same thing at first re half-black image, but the Canon 10D he's using is a digital. So.... I don't think that the whole concept of a shutter curtain applies.

Given that, I'm not sure just what *does* happen when a digital is fired with a flash at higher-than-sync speed. Maybe it really does evenly underexpose the entire frame(?), as the CCD "sees" full-frame, but for only a fraction of the flash duration.

I don't know, just a thought...

Wes
  View Public Profile Send a private message to WesApple Find More Posts by WesApple
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shutter speed question GCook Tech Talk Forum 8 01-25-2007 04:08 PM
Cordless Flash Mode and Shutter Speed Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 9 06-03-2006 04:00 PM
Metering 550EX flash in High Speed Sync Mode Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 10 07-22-2005 06:41 PM
write speed question? Clint Tech Talk Forum 2 04-27-2003 09:03 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93