Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Lock D200 Settings?
Old 12-18-2006, 04:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Member GG#: 46114
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 120
Comments: 0

dledeaux is offline IP: 69.154.246.215
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Anyone know if there is a menu option, switch, button, something to lock D200 settings in when shooting in studio? I'll be shooting and occasionally look down and realize that somehow I've gone from 1/250 to 1/200 or some other dumb thing because I bumped a wheel or button. I would love to make my settings and then lock everything down.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dledeaux Visit dledeaux's homepage! Find More Posts by dledeaux
 
Re: Lock D200 Settings?
Old 12-18-2006, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Mark_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35470
Location: Atlanta / Roswell, GA USA
Posts: 325
Comments: 0

Mark_A is offline IP: 65.6.134.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

LOL - Yep, has happened to me too... I use a thin strip of gaffers tape over the speed dial and lock the 4 way button.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_A Visit Mark_A's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_A
 
Re: Lock D200 Settings?
Old 12-18-2006, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Member GG#: 46114
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 120
Comments: 0

dledeaux is offline IP: 69.154.246.215
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Well problem is I use the crap out of the dials when reviewing images. I think that's where it happens to me. Plus I have a grip so I have dials all over the place
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dledeaux Visit dledeaux's homepage! Find More Posts by dledeaux
 
Re: Lock D200 Settings?
Old 12-18-2006, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Mark_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35470
Location: Atlanta / Roswell, GA USA
Posts: 325
Comments: 0

Mark_A is offline IP: 65.6.134.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

In the studio I use the WT3a grip and transmiter to do wireless transfer to the computer so reviewing on the camera isn't something I do. I really wish there was a way to lock the focus point and not the dial. The speed dial is the one I usually mess up so I tape it. Do you use it for review?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_A Visit Mark_A's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_A
 
Re: Lock D200 Settings?
Old 12-24-2006, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member GG#: 36702
Location: Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Posts: 353
Comments: 4
Send a message via AIM to dustylenscap

dustylenscap is offline IP: 68.1.26.154
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yep, I have the same problem, get to go shooting and the next thing I know the shutterspeed is out of sync, I was hoping someone had replied with a fix by now, guess it is something the Nikon people will have to solve.

Dusty
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dustylenscap Visit dustylenscap's homepage! Find More Posts by dustylenscap
 
Re: Lock D200 Settings?
Old 12-25-2006, 04:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Aspiring Photographer

 
CatCynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50625
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 432
Comments: 0

CatCynic is offline IP: 220.253.32.136
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_A View Post
In the studio I use the WT3a grip and transmiter to do wireless transfer to the computer so reviewing on the camera isn't something I do. I really wish there was a way to lock the focus point and not the dial. The speed dial is the one I usually mess up so I tape it. Do you use it for review?
I've wanted to lock the focus point on occasion on my Canon - I just flick the switch to manual focus - do Nikon lenses have an AF/MF switch?

I do understand the problem with dials, though - have it myself on occasion. Worst was when I accidentally knocked shutter speed from 1/160 to 1/250 (flash sync is 1/200) - wondered why I was getting a dark edge down the right side of a series of images (portrait mode images). Took me over 15 images to realise what I'd done.
  View Public Profile Find More Posts by CatCynic
 
Re: Lock D200 Settings?
Old 12-26-2006, 09:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
lsc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36482
Location: Charleston
Posts: 527
Comments: 2

lsc1 is offline IP: 70.144.49.50
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

There is no way I've found to "lock" the D200 settings to solve this. However, I've learned personally that "technique" will fix this problem. I found when I was shooting too fast, this was when the settings drifted and I didn't notice. Remember, we have all the info in the viewfinder so if we're taking our time, we are more likely to see the settings aren't what we originally desired. Digital has caused a lot of us to just shoot away, because it's free, and see what comes out the other end. Some call this the "spray and pray" method.

Please don't misunderstand that I am assuming this is what you're doing and I know this is a different answer than I'm sure you were looking for. But when I've read, or spoken with more accomplished photographers than myself, every one of them advocates slowing down and taking more time to get better shots. I've found this includes looking at the info in the viewfinder and that all my settings issues have gone away. Not having a settings lock has forced me to slow down and for me this is a good thing.

Cheers,
LSC
  View Public Profile Send a private message to lsc1 Find More Posts by lsc1
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nikon D200 and Adobe Camera RAW (ACR) DocSmith Digital Darkroom 3 12-07-2007 03:49 PM
D200 Settings - Cropping Issues srose911 Tech Talk Forum 2 10-24-2007 06:01 PM
S3 Pro comparison settings photos Saltwater Servitude Tech Talk Forum 2 12-25-2006 07:57 PM
Nikon 2.0 firmware update for D2X, D200 and D2H MDPierce Tech Talk Forum 5 11-22-2006 03:05 PM
Digital Rebel - Manual versus Auto settings Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 10 01-21-2005 10:24 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93