Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Umbrella position questions
Old 12-18-2006, 07:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 47251
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Zakd is offline IP: 195.250.110.130

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I'm an amateur in working with flashes and I would like to have some information over position of Umbrella. Specialy I'm interested in HIGHT of umbrella and how does hight effect on shadows.
I have two flashes. I mount one flash off camera with umbrella as diffueser light and it is main light and one flash on camera for fill. Also I have 2 reflectors for fill.

What hight is appropriate for different needs and does it changes when using in studio or outdors for fill with the Sun light and as outdor main light on a cloudy day.
Thanks for Help.
Rgds zak
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Zakd Find More Posts by Zakd

Re: Umbrella position questions
Old 12-18-2006, 09:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 48366

eoym is offline IP: 24.118.115.224

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

As with any other light source, the position of an umbrella in relation to the subject will always have an effect on the shadows produced.
Generally speaking, you want the light source level with or somewhat above the eyes of your subject.
The higher your light source in relation to the subject the longer the shadows under the nose and chin will be.
Learn to study photographs and determine where the lights were positioned by the shadows. You can also judge this by looking at the catch-lights in the eyes.

I'll post some photos here and describe how they were lit, umbrella's were used in all of these photos.