Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
generator to run studio lights on location?
Old 11-05-2006, 02:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Aspiring Photographer

 
CatCynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50625
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 432
Comments: 0

CatCynic is offline IP: 220.253.37.86
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I was looking at the horrible price of those "travel packs" - the huge battery sources for running studio lights on location (out of reach of a power socket). My brother suggested using a generator instead. He has, he says, used a generator successfully to power a set of Elinchrom studio strobes.

I must admit to being surprised - I thought the draw of studio strobes (plenty of amps, sporadically) would be exactly what a generator would hate and I wasn't sure that a generator power output (not "clean" power) would suit the strobes, either.

Has anyone (else!) used a generator with studio lights? Any information to share? Any suggestions as to the best type of generator to use? (I don't think I can afford one of those huge container ones that they use for location filming...)
  View Public Profile Find More Posts by CatCynic
 
Re: generator to run studio lights on location?
Old 11-05-2006, 03:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Engineer

 
Bevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36340
Location: Macon Georgia
Posts: 113
Comments: 7

Bevan is offline IP: 68.1.136.182
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yes I use a generator wilh my white lightngs a lot a gen puts out a sine wave and is clean power un like the square wave inverters check the amp draw on the lighting set you wish to use "amps" I think you will find it is lower than you think. I use a little honda and have seen the new Honda 1000 work as well it Has the advantage of a cable to connect two together if you need more power for a big lighting set.and you can rent an extra one when you need it.
__________________
http://www.pbase.com/bpryor

Nikon D200 D70 D1
It is not the camera it is the eye!
The hardest part is to Start.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Bevan Visit Bevan's homepage! Find More Posts by Bevan
 
Re: generator to run studio lights on location?
Old 11-05-2006, 12:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member GG#: 45671
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 301
Comments: 0

gaborm is offline IP: 69.19.4.79
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Forget the genarator, it's noisy, it stinks and you have to carry gasoline with you all the time.

I use the tronix explorer 1200 and it works like a charm. For what it costs, you can by a couple and go all day long without worries.

http://www.innovatronix.com/cgi-bin/...alog/index.asp
  View Public Profile Send a private message to gaborm Find More Posts by gaborm
 
Re: generator to run studio lights on location?
Old 11-05-2006, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Evangelical Ne'er-do-well

 
ChipBulgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42306
Location: Severna Park, MD
Posts: 482
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to ChipBulgin

ChipBulgin is offline IP: 68.55.248.119
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have used generators, Uninterruptable Power Supplies (UPSs), and other battery-powered solutions. None of them are particularly cheap, and depending on how much power you need, not all of them are suitable.

You need a pure sine wave output and your solution needs to deliver enough amperage to handle the current draw of your lights. Honda makes a series of generators (the EU series) that are clean, quiet, small, and perfectly suited to the task of powering strobes. They start around $700 for a unit, (EU1000i) that will supply 900W @ 7.5 Amps. That's enough for most lights up to 600 W/S. However, you're looking at about 30 lbs. and up.

You can also use an appropriately sized UPS. However, these end up costing just as much, if not more than, a photo-dedicated battery solution. In order to handle the current draw of two 300 W/S monolights, you need a 2000 VA UPS. Something in this range will run you over $1200 and weigh somewhere in the neighborhood of 70 lbs.

A poster above mentioned the Tronix Explorer 1200. It's a reasonable choice as long as you don't intend to use it with lights that exceed 600 W/S. There's a brief article here that gives it a decent review: http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/con...id=7-7883-7908

Also note that according to the unit's compatibility chart: http://www.innovatronix.com/cgi-bin/...g/compatib.asp, the unit might not be compatible with some strobes that have digital output control and displays.

Among the photo-specific solutions, the AlienBees Vagabond 300 is reasonable, at ~$500, and performs very decently with 600 W/S worth of strobes. It's a little on the bulky side, though certainly easier to lug around than a generator or UPS. Other solutions, like the Dynalite XP1100 will handle power packs or monolights up to 1100 W/S, but start to get expensive.


-Chip
__________________
People who do stupid things with dangerous substances often die! -me
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChipBulgin Find More Posts by ChipBulgin
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My .02 Worth On Studio Lights PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 5 10-31-2007 10:55 AM
Interested in getting 3rd Hensel light for studio and on location. Which one? jinspin Tech Talk Forum 0 03-02-2007 01:42 AM
Battery powered studio lights, location which one? spa86 Tech Talk Forum 4 06-02-2006 06:43 PM
studio lights (cool lights) & digital backdrops **DONOTDELETE** Tech Talk Forum 0 01-12-2005 05:35 AM
using studio strobe lights with a canon 300d ...? DR_User Tech Talk Forum 9 08-03-2004 07:55 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93