Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
CANON 20D
Old 09-19-2006, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
numee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member GG#: 43624
Location: Pollock
Posts: 97
Comments: 4
Send a message via MSN to numee

numee is offline IP: 70.153.166.130
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Anyone ever had problem like;
My 20D will shoot maybe 3-10 shots and then just lock up...sometime it will display an error 99 message and then sometimes it won't display nuttin...
Sent it back to Canon and they didn't fix...I have three lenses and all are Canon EF lenses....no matter the lense it still locks up....
The only remedy for getting to to work again is to drop the battery and reinsert it ..sometimes you may have to do this 1-3 times and it will start working briefly..
Thanks
  View Public Profile Send a private message to numee Find More Posts by numee
 
Re: CANON 20D
Old 09-19-2006, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 24.0.6.170
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by numee
Anyone ever had problem like;
My 20D will shoot maybe 3-10 shots and then just lock up...sometime it will display an error 99 message and then sometimes it won't display nuttin...
Sent it back to Canon and they didn't fix...I have three lenses and all are Canon EF lenses....no matter the lense it still locks up....
The only remedy for getting to to work again is to drop the battery and reinsert it ..sometimes you may have to do this 1-3 times and it will start working briefly..
Thanks
Have had a 20D for several years. Maybe one or two times in all that period, it would lock up with no error. Then I would remove battery and replace and all was normal. But if it is doing it as frequently as you say, then you have no choice but to get Canon to fix it. What did Canon say when you sent it to them? Also is the problem with every lens and with every memory card?
Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: CANON 20D
Old 09-19-2006, 03:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member GG#: 38897
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 51
Comments: 1

tomrock is offline IP: 65.26.178.254
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Wasn't this a pretty common problem when the 20D was new? Have you checked the firmware? I would guess that if you sent it to Canon they did but you never know.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tomrock Visit tomrock's homepage! Find More Posts by tomrock
 
Re: CANON 20D
Old 09-19-2006, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 24.0.6.170
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomrock
Wasn't this a pretty common problem when the 20D was new? Have you checked the firmware? I would guess that if you sent it to Canon they did but you never know.
I still have the original firmware as when I bought the camera about one week after it hit the market. I've taken 20,000 or so photos with it and only 2 or 3 times every had a lockup. I don't recall that being one of the problems. When I would look at the firmware fixes, they always seem to be for something that I had no problem with. I know that any electronic device will occasionally lock up. But if it takes only a few seconds to clear it and it only happens 2 or 3 times in 2 years, then it is of no real importance, in my view.

Now in user numee's case, it does sound like a problem and if it happens with all the lens he has and with each memory card, then its likely the camera. But a bad memory card can cause lockups and a lens problem (usually with the connection point to the body) can also be the culprit.

Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: CANON 20D
Old 09-19-2006, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50518
Location: Tampa / Clearwater
Posts: 462
Comments: 1
My Mood:

That_Look_Photo is offline IP: 68.200.100.150
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Fredrick_Smith
I still have the original firmware as when I bought the camera about one week after it hit the market. I've taken 20,000 or so photos with it and only 2 or 3 times every had a lockup. I don't recall that being one of the problems. When I would look at the firmware fixes, they always seem to be for something that I had no problem with. I know that any electronic device will occasionally lock up. But if it takes only a few seconds to clear it and it only happens 2 or 3 times in 2 years, then it is of no real importance, in my view.
Now in user numee's case, it does sound like a problem and if it happens with all the lens he has and with each memory card, then its likely the camera. But a bad memory card can cause lockups and a lens problem (usually with the connection point to the body) can also be the culprit.
Cheers,
rfs
I also would try a new compact flash card. I had an odd named card that worked in another camera just fine but in the 20D it would show as if it was loading a picture into the flash card for a long time. I new card and no more problem.

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to That_Look_Photo Visit That_Look_Photo's homepage! Find More Posts by That_Look_Photo
 
Re: CANON 20D
Old 09-19-2006, 11:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Member GG#: 52074
Location: Wichita
Posts: 17
Comments: 0

Jim M. is offline IP: 68.102.186.43
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

After two years of hard use, I had a 10D that started locking up frequently with the error 99 message most of the time. I sent it to Canon several times and the cure never seemed to last very long at all. Finally a service tech on the phone convinced me to rub the contacts on the batteries with an eraser regardless of how I had cleaned them before. I did it and I never had another lock up. It's certainly cheap enough to try.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jim M. Find More Posts by Jim M.
 
Re: CANON 20D
Old 09-20-2006, 08:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member

 
ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member GG#: 45715
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 29
Comments: 1

ruben is offline IP: 207.81.158.56
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by numee
Anyone ever had problem like;
My 20D will shoot maybe 3-10 shots and then just lock up...sometime it will display an error 99 message and then sometimes it won't display nuttin...
Sent it back to Canon and they didn't fix...I have three lenses and all are Canon EF lenses....no matter the lense it still locks up....
The only remedy for getting to to work again is to drop the battery and reinsert it ..sometimes you may have to do this 1-3 times and it will start working briefly..
Thanks

I seem to remember reading somewhere that using non-canon lenses can sometimes cause this error code... a friend who was shooting with a tamron lens encountered it a few times, but randomly, not all the time.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ruben Visit ruben's homepage! Find More Posts by ruben
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Lens Quality? Sigma vs Canon LePhoto Tech Talk Forum 21 12-23-2006 02:00 AM
Canon Advice Needed Brad Tech Talk Forum 24 01-02-2006 06:59 AM
Nikon vs Canon objektiv Tech Talk Forum 9 02-11-2005 12:12 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93