Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
flash meter ?
Old 08-11-2006, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
randy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50522
Location: Medford
Posts: 49
Comments: 0

randy1 is offline IP: 69.130.237.234
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the info on studio flash , I now own a pair of alien bees . I didn't realize I would also need a flash meter (duh?) and they say that I can't use camera in auto mode and I don't have a problem with going manual but if there is a way I figure you guys will know how and share , and if there's any tips on what to look for in a flash meter I'll certainly appreciate any comments in that area . Thanks for your time and I love this site and look forward to posting something in the future .
  View Public Profile Send a private message to randy1 Find More Posts by randy1
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-11-2006, 11:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member GG#: 52386
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 110
Comments: 0

Arkie is offline IP: 207.119.74.216
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

There are a lot of good light meters out there. Gossen, Sekonic, Minolta just to name a few. Don't hesitate to spend a little money here, it is worth the investment. Sure, the digital camera can show you that the image is there, but the meter can allow you to se the controls on each light individually for a better photo. My meter now is the Sekonic L-508, but I did have a Gossen Luna Pro until it got lifted from my car. I wore out a Minolta (fifteen years) before that. One thing I really like about my meter: it uses a AA battery instead of some high dollar specialty cell. It also has a tripod mount so I can screw in a little table top tripod and reach over and trip the flash to get a reading. Oh, and be sure whatever you buy says "Flash meter" instead of just "light meter".
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Arkie Find More Posts by Arkie
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-11-2006, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
lsc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36482
Location: Charleston
Posts: 528
Comments: 2

lsc1 is offline IP: 70.153.44.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Another very popular meter is the Sekonic L-358. It is very cost effective and for an extra $50 you can put in a module/chip that allows for remote triggering of a Pocket Wizard equipped light. Very handy time saver!

Cheers,
LSC
  View Public Profile Send a private message to lsc1 Find More Posts by lsc1
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-11-2006, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37827
Location: newport
Posts: 7
Comments: 0

colmeg is offline IP: 71.210.30.51
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsc1
Another very popular meter is the Sekonic L-358. It is very cost effective and for an extra $50 you can put in a module/chip that allows for remote triggering of a Pocket Wizard equipped light. Very handy time saver!

Cheers,
LSC

All you need is a gray card!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to colmeg Visit colmeg's homepage! Find More Posts by colmeg
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-12-2006, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
lsc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36482
Location: Charleston
Posts: 528
Comments: 2

lsc1 is offline IP: 74.230.230.88
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by colmeg
All you need is a gray card!
Not very helpful when the gentlemen is asking about meters. While it's true that you can use a gray card, there are a good many exceptional photographers who use meters regularly. I bet it's not because they like to spend more money or complicate the process!

Cheers,
LSC
  View Public Profile Send a private message to lsc1 Find More Posts by lsc1
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-12-2006, 10:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
SnJPhotography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Member GG#: 39369
Location: So Cal
Posts: 79
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to SnJPhotography Send a message via Yahoo to SnJPhotography

SnJPhotography is offline IP: 68.228.85.219
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I'm sure what he meant to say was, you can use a grey card to get the metering as well, by shooting the grey card then checking your histogram. I've used this technique several times, mostly when I forget my meter or the battery was dead on the meter. But you can do this very cheaply and quickly once you get the hang of it.
As for meters, I've had the Sekonic, 308s, 358 and 558R. Loved them all. Currently down to the 558 and 308. 308 is tiny and goes in my bag when traveling light.
Did you get 2 of the same light ratings? If so, you can get close to the right ratios just by the settings on the light and keeping an eye on your light to subject distances. Remembering that twice the distance equals half the light etc... If you have differing power heads, just do the additional math and your set.
Cheers.
Scott
__________________
Irvine, California
  View Public Profile Send a private message to SnJPhotography Find More Posts by SnJPhotography
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-12-2006, 07:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Gunslinger101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member GG#: 38285
Location: Discovery Bay
Posts: 172
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to Gunslinger101

Gunslinger101 is offline IP: 66.245.32.150
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I use the Sekonic L-558. It also has the Cine feature, which I don't use, but when I bought it, it was free upgrade with the pocket wizzard chip. Who am I to pass up a deal? I llike it alot, and you can set two different iso's and just togggle the one you want.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Gunslinger101 Find More Posts by Gunslinger101
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-12-2006, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.239.87.6
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

A light meter will be needed to use your studio lights , IF I read your post right you want to know if you can get away without one for a while until you do get one ... YES
fairly simple to do if you are shooting digital, would be near imposssible if shooting film !!

Didn't the lights come with a basic guide for starters ??

#1 - Start out with the camera in manual mode
#2 - set the shutter for your camera's sync speed ( 1/90 to 1/125 good place to start )
#3 - set your aperature to f 8 or f 11 ( one of these SHOULD be close )
#4 - use the lcd ( preferably the histogram to check exposure )
#5 - adjust ONE variable to suit ( if dark=open aperature OR move lights closer OR adjust power of lights)

remember that the shutter speed will not have any noticable effect when using strobes !
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-13-2006, 10:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 37827
Location: newport
Posts: 7
Comments: 0

colmeg is offline IP: 71.210.30.51
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnJPhotography
I'm sure what he meant to say was, you can use a grey card to get the metering as well, by shooting the grey card then checking your histogram. I've used this technique several times, mostly when I forget my meter or the battery was dead on the meter. But you can do this very cheaply and quickly once you get the hang of it.
As for meters, I've had the Sekonic, 308s, 358 and 558R. Loved them all. Currently down to the 558 and 308. 308 is tiny and goes in my bag when traveling light.
Did you get 2 of the same light ratings? If so, you can get close to the right ratios just by the settings on the light and keeping an eye on your light to subject distances. Remembering that twice the distance equals half the light etc... If you have differing power heads, just do the additional math and your set.
Cheers.
Scott

THANK YOU!!!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to colmeg Visit colmeg's homepage! Find More Posts by colmeg
 
Re: flash meter ?
Old 08-13-2006, 12:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Evangelical Ne'er-do-well

 
ChipBulgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42306
Location: Severna Park, MD
Posts: 485
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to ChipBulgin

ChipBulgin is offline IP: 68.55.197.148
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnJPhotography
--snip-- If so, you can get close to the right ratios just by the settings on the light and keeping an eye on your light to subject distances. Remembering that twice the distance equals half the light etc... --snip--
Scott
Actually, twice the distance equals one-fourth the light. (Inverse square law means distance is squared, so three times the distance is one-ninth the light.)

-Chip
__________________
People who do stupid things with dangerous substances often die! -me
  View Public Profile Send a private message to ChipBulgin Find More Posts by ChipBulgin
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time for a new flash meter..Mine bit the dust That_Look_Photography Tech Talk Forum 16 06-27-2005 10:08 PM
Metering the shadows..someone set it strait..please That_Look_Photography Tech Talk Forum 15 06-02-2005 04:24 PM
Flash meter help gonzales23 Tech Talk Forum 3 08-20-2003 01:24 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94