Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Dual Monitors
Old 07-22-2006, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35616
Location: Cedar Bluff
Posts: 21
Comments: 0

trainstation is offline IP: 69.130.52.108
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am thinking of reconfigureing my display to a dual monitor system. I have the proper video card an Radeon X700 PRO and am running Windows XP MCE CS2 Premium Suite. I think I remember being told or reading somewhere that you could put your tools on one screen and your image on the other. Am I right ? And is it a simple matter of dragging the image? Thanks for any input I cannot seem to put my hands on the proper material at this moment. David C.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to trainstation Find More Posts by trainstation
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-22-2006, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Member GG#: 52576
Location: Northridge
Posts: 131
Comments: 0
My Mood:

TheGoldy is offline IP: 66.133.224.135
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When you tell the system you've got 2 monitors, there's a checkbox that says to extend your desktop onto the second monitor. Then, yes, you'd drag one window onto one monitor and put the other window on the other. It's as if they're side-by-side on the same monitor (or that's what the OS thinks anyway).
  View Public Profile Send a private message to TheGoldy Find More Posts by TheGoldy
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-22-2006, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35616
Location: Cedar Bluff
Posts: 21
Comments: 0

trainstation is offline IP: 69.130.52.108
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for the information
  View Public Profile Send a private message to trainstation Find More Posts by trainstation
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-23-2006, 11:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
moscato_images's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member GG#: 43840
Location: Peoria
Posts: 606
Comments: 2
Send a message via ICQ to moscato_images Send a message via AIM to moscato_images Send a message via Yahoo to moscato_images

moscato_images is offline IP: 74.135.251.0
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yep. You can put all of your PS menus on one screen and work on your image on your main screen. I have had the setup two different times but always revert back to one 19"-22" monitor. It simply became a hassel.

-joshua
  View Public Profile Send a private message to moscato_images Visit moscato_images's homepage! Find More Posts by moscato_images
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-23-2006, 11:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member GG#: 41014
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 465
Comments: 0

RoshGlamour is offline IP: 24.99.162.99
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

You've gotten good information. I like to put my image on the main monitor and drag my tool windows to the second monitor.

It also helps to save the setup (under the Windows menu) and save another one for single monitor. There are times when I need to confine my work to one monitor and having the two saved tool configurations allows a quick change.

Greg

__________________
Not bad for someone in his jimjams, huh? How very Arthur Dent. - The 10th Doctor
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RoshGlamour Visit RoshGlamour's homepage! Find More Posts by RoshGlamour
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-23-2006, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41498
Location: Windsor
Posts: 220
Comments: 0
Send a message via ICQ to HMetal Send a message via Skype™ to HMetal

HMetal is offline IP: 72.38.226.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainstation
I am thinking of reconfigureing my display to a dual monitor system. I have the proper video card an Radeon X700 PRO and am running Windows XP MCE CS2 Premium Suite. I think I remember being told or reading somewhere that you could put your tools on one screen and your image on the other. Am I right ? And is it a simple matter of dragging the image? Thanks for any input I cannot seem to put my hands on the proper material at this moment. David C.
I use dual 19" LCD monitors on Windows XP and I've got to tell you that it is fantastic!

All of my Photoshop palettes load up on one monitor (after initially taking a few moments to position them there by dragging), giving me the full 1280x1024 screen real estate (minus main Photoshop tool and status bars) to work on the image I'm processing.

It gets even better if you use a Wacom drawing tablet. You can set the tablet to traverse the whole virtual desktop (both monitors) or just bind it to the one you use for actually working on the image. I use the latter.

Simply put, it is awesome! I use the mouse to select tools and tool options and use my drawing tablet for the actual touch-ups.

I'm lovin' it and don't plan on ever going back to a single monitor setup. When I have to use my wife's computer if she asks how to do something, I feel claustrophobic.

Good luck with your dual setup. It takes a few seconds of getting used to but once you grow into it, it's like your favorite lens, the one that you never want to go without.



Best,
__________________
"There should be nothing normal about glamour. Except that it should be, for you, the most normal thing in the world." - Dita Von Teese

Ray A. Akey
My PBase Galleries (nudity warning)
My Flickr (nudity)
My Commercial Website (work-safe)
  View Public Profile Send a private message to HMetal Visit HMetal's homepage! Find More Posts by HMetal
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-23-2006, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35616
Location: Cedar Bluff
Posts: 21
Comments: 0

trainstation is offline IP: 69.130.52.108
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks for all the input, I do indeed have a Wacom tablet and note that there is out a new model just for dual monitors. I have discovered that I need a longer DVI cable so it will be a few days before I actually make the change so until then Many Many thanks to everyone David C.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to trainstation Find More Posts by trainstation
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-23-2006, 04:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Photomart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36974
Location: Dallas Fort Worth
Posts: 938
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Photomart is offline IP: 24.0.204.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've been using dual 19" monitors for about 5 years and absolutely LOVE it. I always feel "confined" when I try to use someone's one monitor system. At first I tried using two ATI video cards, which were supposed to support dual monitors. They didn't, so ... I switched to a Matrox 450 Dual Head card and it's been wonderful! My Wacom tablet spans both monitors and I can see full screen images on one monitor, and use the other for tools. It was easy for me to get used to two monitors because I spent 10 years in video production where I often used four or five monitors. Good luck ... you'll LOVE it!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Photomart Visit Photomart's homepage! Find More Posts by Photomart
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-23-2006, 08:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
PowderDay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member GG#: 43581
Location: Littleton
Posts: 10
Comments: 0

PowderDay is offline IP: 71.208.50.98
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I would add that three monitors are even better. Photo and main pallets in center cinema display, Actions pallet on the right monitor (I have a lot of actions), and Bridge on the left monitor (or iTunes, Finder windows, etc.).
__________________
Mike...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to PowderDay Visit PowderDay's homepage! Find More Posts by PowderDay
 
Re: Dual Monitors
Old 07-24-2006, 12:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50763
Location: Seattle Area (Renton)
Posts: 14
Comments: 4
Send a message via MSN to silver tip images Send a message via Yahoo to silver tip images

silver tip images is offline IP: 24.19.195.171
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

All in what you like and get used to. Tried it for six months and did not like it. Am now back to one monitor and prefer that. I have a tablet and love that but I do lots of things with my computer and its not all PS.
__________________
Jerry .Silver Tip Images
  View Public Profile Send a private message to silver tip images Visit silver tip images's homepage! Find More Posts by silver tip images
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitors moscato_images Main Community Forum 1 06-14-2006 08:36 PM
Portrait Monitors RodB Tech Talk Forum 2 04-04-2005 03:33 PM
Color management between monitors and to Web issues Lmorales Tech Talk Forum 8 01-17-2005 07:53 PM
ViewSonic Monitors MikeV Tech Talk Forum 7 11-14-2004 08:56 AM
A Question About CRT Monitors Ed_Quigley Tech Talk Forum 2 09-30-2004 09:18 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94