Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Scanner Help
Old 06-22-2006, 11:45 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member GG#: 51075
Comments: 1
My Mood:
Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoDave1

PhotoDave1 is offline IP: 70.190.161.6

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I have a feeling that this post will separate the seasoned veterans from the rank newbees.

I have recently found it necessary to break out, dust off, and reactivate my Epson Perfection 3200 Scanner to digitize some photos for a client and this has brought back a flood of memories, both good and bad from my days of working with film, which I still do from time to time.

I have been photographing for over 15 years and have run countless rolls of film through the cameras I have used and I have scanned thousands of prints and I have always had trouble in getting whatever scanner I owned at the time to do what I wanted it to. I have owned several combination (film and prints) flatbed scanners as well as a high res Nikon film scanner and the Nikon film scanner was the most frustrating of all of them to use.

None of the scanners I have owned and used have had anything even approaching what I would call adequate documentation and as a result I have missed out on a lot of the capabilities of the scanners I have used over the years so my main question is this: How in the world am I supposed to learn how to use and more importantly get the maximum out of my scanners or any other of my photographic equipment for that matter??