Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Shutter speed problems
Old 06-04-2006, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Zakd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member GG#: 47251
Location: YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 302
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Zakd is offline IP: 194.106.187.214
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Do not really know if I may ask here this kind of question.

I'm amateur and at the beginning of my learning.
I have improvising studio at home and constantly having a problems with my shutter speed even if I'm not shooting withthe black background.
Ussually I have 1/4s shutter speed at f4 and Iso 100 with Canon EOS350D and kit lens. Metering is partial or centerweighted but it is little better when centerweighted.
I see in the referance of people who are working with the black background shutter speed not bellow 1/125s..... too far away.
I did try to increase ISO 400 and with wide open lens with f2.8 to obtain 1/25s.... but could not go faster and with hand held shoots I can not have sharp image as I want.
Is there some tutorial or any how that I could learn some secrets for this problem.
Thanks
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Zakd Find More Posts by Zakd
 
Re: Shutter speed problems
Old 06-04-2006, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
DeanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member GG#: 42326
Location: Greeley
Posts: 369
Comments: 0

DeanP is offline IP: 67.161.141.163
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Are you using strobes or ambient/constant lights? I shoot mostly at 1/125 using strobes.

Cant say I know it all, but glad to help if I can. Just need a bit more info on what you are using.

Dean
__________________
Even a blind squirrel finds a nut now and then..... me
  View Public Profile Send a private message to DeanP Find More Posts by DeanP
 
Re: Shutter speed problems
Old 06-04-2006, 01:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RSStory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38048
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 916
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to RSStory Send a message via MSN to RSStory Send a message via Yahoo to RSStory

RSStory is offline IP: 216.65.172.177
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zakd
Do not really know if I may ask here this kind of question.
I'm amateur and at the beginning of my learning.
I have improvising studio at home and constantly having a problems with my shutter speed even if I'm not shooting withthe black background.
Ussually I have 1/4s shutter speed at f4 and Iso 100 with Canon EOS350D and kit lens. Metering is partial or centerweighted but it is little better when centerweighted.
I see in the referance of people who are working with the black background shutter speed not bellow 1/125s..... too far away.
I did try to increase ISO 400 and with wide open lens with f2.8 to obtain 1/25s.... but could not go faster and with hand held shoots I can not have sharp image as I want.
Is there some tutorial or any how that I could learn some secrets for this problem.
Thanks
The answer is easy...You need more light. regardless of the source you definately need more light.

Scott
__________________
Trying to tame a red head is like trying to herd cats!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RSStory Visit RSStory's homepage! Find More Posts by RSStory
 
Re: Shutter speed problems
Old 06-04-2006, 10:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StanTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36777
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 568
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to StanTom

StanTom is offline IP: 24.239.84.207
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Your post doesn't explain the problem very well.
SOUNDS like you aren't getting enough light for a faster shutter speed.

BUT your portfolio seems to have good examples of lit subjects

Maybe you meant to ask about darkening the background to actual black ????
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StanTom Find More Posts by StanTom
 
Re: Shutter speed problems
Old 06-04-2006, 11:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
eoym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member GG#: 48366
Location: Golden Valley
Posts: 228
Comments: 0

eoym is offline IP: 67.190.241.97
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

We'll need to know if you're shooting with studio strobes or with hot-lights of some sort?

Maybe you'd gain something from this?;

http://www.glamour1.com/forums/tech-...ter-speed.html
  View Public Profile Send a private message to eoym Visit eoym's homepage! Find More Posts by eoym
 
Re: Shutter speed problems
Old 06-05-2006, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Zakd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member GG#: 47251
Location: YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 302
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Zakd is offline IP: 195.252.85.78
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Sorry for beeing uncomplete in explanation.

The point is really slow shutter speed and the question why?
I use one umbrella with lamp of 150W viseversa from the model and one lateral light source of 100W through diffuser. Nothing more, no strobes no nothing more...... but I se on the forum shutter speed 1/125s with only one lateral light source and black background......

I can get a proper exposure with 1/4s or 1/8s and model beeing very still, but what would I do if I have to shoot a model in jump for motion photos????

Thanks for reading and reply-ing
Zak
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Zakd Find More Posts by Zakd
 
Re: Shutter speed problems
Old 06-05-2006, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
mfharper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35664
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 711
Comments: 1
My Mood:

mfharper is offline IP: 12.64.134.238
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

The images in your portfolio seem to be well exposed. Are they coming out of the camera that way, or are you having to do alot of post processing? If your subject is coming out way overexposed, it could be nothing more the the black background fooling your meter. Don't forget that your in camera meter it trying to turn that black background 18% gray.
__________________
"Nobody belongs to us,
except in memory"
~John Updike

www.hhphoto.net
  View Public Profile Send a private message to mfharper Visit mfharper's homepage! Find More Posts by mfharper
 
Re: Shutter speed problems
Old 06-05-2006, 03:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Photomart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36974
Location: Dallas Fort Worth
Posts: 938
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Photomart is offline IP: 24.0.204.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
I use one umbrella with lamp of 150W viseversa from the model and one lateral light source of 100W through diffuser. Nothing more, no strobes no nothing more...... but I se on the forum shutter speed 1/125s with only one lateral light source and black background......

I can get a proper exposure with 1/4s or 1/8s and model beeing very still, but what would I do if I have to shoot a model in jump for motion photos????

Thanks for reading and reply-ing
Zak
Zak, I'm going out on a limb and say that you're probably using two standard issue house lamps of 100W and 150W. That's not enough light to shoot quality images at the shutter speeds you desire. Most of the guys you read about who shoot with one light against a black background are using a much more powerful strobe light.

You can either buy a set of strobe lights, or add a few more powerful house loghts ... or ... if you have a flash head that attaches to the top of your camera -- take the flash off your camera and connect it with a sync cord, then fire it into your umbrella. I started out with three oldl flash heads, a sync cord and a couple of wireless optical slaves -- and got great images!

Good luck,
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Photomart Visit Photomart's homepage! Find More Posts by Photomart
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max shutter speed w/strobes? LePhotography08 Tech Talk Forum 7 01-10-2008 07:20 PM
shutter speed question GCook Tech Talk Forum 8 01-25-2007 04:08 PM
Cordless Flash Mode and Shutter Speed Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 9 06-03-2006 04:00 PM
Longer shutter speed equals added saturation moscato_images Main Community Forum 8 12-31-2005 11:30 AM
Metering 550EX flash in High Speed Sync Mode Earl_B Tech Talk Forum 10 07-22-2005 06:41 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94