Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Microdrive?
Old 04-30-2006, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member GG#: 37202
Location: Muskegon
Posts: 22
Comments: 0

xxxx is offline IP: 24.11.87.15
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I see you can get a 4 GB microdrive for about the same price as a 2GB CF card. I have never used a microdrive...anyone ever used them? Was your luck good or bad?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to xxxx Visit xxxx's homepage! Find More Posts by xxxx
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 04-30-2006, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35255
Location: Fairfax
Posts: 24
Comments: 0

MDPierce is offline IP: 71.126.158.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've had a 1gb microdrive since I bought the Nikon D1 when it first came out; never had a problem. I would say that if you do mostly indoor/studio work, its no problem - travel work may or may not have more problems as it is basicaly a micro hard drive with spinning disks.
__________________
ShutterAlley.Com
  View Public Profile Send a private message to MDPierce Visit MDPierce's homepage! Find More Posts by MDPierce
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 04-30-2006, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
J T Smith

 
jtsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35390
Location: Pittsfield
Posts: 882
Comments: 0

jtsmith is offline IP: 216.43.64.242
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

In the past and they may have improved.....

I have had two microdrives go down hard. I have seen another 5 go down hard.

Some never have a problem with them but I have seen professional photographers reschedule shoots because of it's past woes. I have seen photographers spend for retouching and data recovery on corrupted files and drive.

J T
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jtsmith Visit jtsmith's homepage! Find More Posts by jtsmith
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 04-30-2006, 09:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
tommymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36369
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 273
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to tommymc

tommymc is offline IP: 152.163.101.11
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've had an IBM for about 4 or five years and never had a problem but I just bought 2 4 gig Hitachi's units and were both bad. I now only shoot with 1gig pro 80X Lexar. I cant stand the idea of missing (that Image) . You know, perfect eveverthing and you miss it. I just wont take the chance any more.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tommymc Visit tommymc's homepage! Find More Posts by tommymc
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 04-30-2006, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35378
Location: Kennedale
Posts: 68
Comments: 0

cohibaron is offline IP: 66.140.61.232
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've had one for about 4 years, actually first media I bought, never had a problem. I take it to sporting events but have been very careful, only dropped once on carpet. Since it is a mini hard drive do not know how hard impact would affect but like anything else doubt it would be good.
__________________
He who dies with the most toys, wins.
Ron
  View Public Profile Send a private message to cohibaron Find More Posts by cohibaron
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 04-30-2006, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
BGPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member GG#: 45260
Location: USA!!! USA!!! USA!!!
Posts: 607
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to BGPhoto

BGPhoto is offline IP: 24.98.67.22
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I think there was a time when the added capacity was worth the risk of failure. Now that flash is so inexpensive, I think the applications for MicroDrives are few and far between.
__________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wantws us to be happy." -- Benjamin Franklin
  View Public Profile Send a private message to BGPhoto Visit BGPhoto's homepage! Find More Posts by BGPhoto
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 05-01-2006, 04:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StuHaluski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36068
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 350
Comments: 1

StuHaluski is offline IP: 24.131.44.53
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I will deliberately drop a flashcard with my files in it. Can you say you will do the same with a microdrive?

I wouldn't.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StuHaluski Visit StuHaluski's homepage! Find More Posts by StuHaluski
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 05-01-2006, 07:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Mark_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35470
Location: Atlanta / Roswell, GA USA
Posts: 325
Comments: 0

Mark_A is offline IP: 65.6.134.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I've used 2 Microdrives for about 3 years and never had a failure (a 340M and 1G). But, I'd rather not use an electro mechanical device if there is something solid state that can do as well, so I have been buying 1G CF Lexar 133X cards lately. I also don't buy really large cards because I don't want to take the risk of losing everything if it's all on the same card. I think of them like a roll of film - I get 60 shots to each 1 gig card (well, it's a long roll of film... )
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_A Visit Mark_A's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_A
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 05-01-2006, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
johne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35558
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 254
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to johne

johne is offline IP: 207.137.21.111
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Mark,

I used 6, IBM 1GB Microdrives and a 1 1/2GB MD for several years and finally replaced them all with 2GB CF cards. In all of that time (years) I had only one failure and that was with the 1/2GB MD card and even then, it failed AFTER I had copied the images from the card to the computer. So nothing was lost.

I was just very careful to treat them with extreme care when outside of the camera and never dropped them.

Best regards,
John
  View Public Profile Send a private message to johne Visit johne's homepage! Find More Posts by johne
 
Re: Microdrive?
Old 05-03-2006, 12:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxx
I see you can get a 4 GB microdrive for about the same price as a 2GB CF card. I have never used a microdrive...anyone ever used them? Was your luck good or bad?
I've been using a 1gb IBM microdrive for many years and four different cameras. I bought it at the same time as I bought the just introduced Canon G2. So that will tell you how old it is. It still works like a champ. Just used it yesterday for a major shoot for a large catalog and newspaper. I also have a 2gb Hitachi (it only cost $67 new with rebate). I've used it for about 6 months. No problems.

But that being said, I am only buying solid state cards for future use, because common sense tells me that a device with a spinning platter and moving head is bound to be more fragile than the solid state cards. Also the drives do have a altitude limit, so that can be a problem if you take it on a mountain climb.

As for cost, I've found that the 2gb and 1gb solidstate cards are now so cheap that there really isn't much of a cost difference. I prefer to have cards in the 1gb to 2gb range since it tends to not put as many eggs in one basket as a 4gb. With the Canon 20D, I can get 212 RAW images on the 2gb card, and I rarely shoot more than 500 shots during a day's work, so with 3 1gb cards and 1 2gb card, I have plenty of space. The 1 gb fast cards can currently be found for around $30 if you shop around. So you're getting 4gb for about $120 (usually rebates are involved).

Here's one of my old shots using the IBM microdrive:



Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4GB microdrive, 50% off, some hacking required ABosio Tech Talk Forum 1 03-08-2004 09:04 PM
WHO has had a micro drive fail Clint Tech Talk Forum 30 06-15-2003 09:15 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93