Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Hot spots!
Old 04-28-2006, 02:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

Member GG#: 36573
Comments: 1

FrankParis is offline IP: 68.58.187.40

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I started shooting a new model today. She is a fitness model. I have never shot a model like this. I want to do a good job.
The problem I am running in to is hot spots on her face and various places on her body. She covers her body with oil. She looks very sexy but it gives my camera fits.
how can I overcome these hot spots?

Re: Hot spots!
Old 04-28-2006, 07:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Amateur

Member GG#: 35246
Comments: 7

jford is offline IP: 144.80.193.138

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

The hot spots are caused by specular reflectance - the oil is causing her skin to reflect light like a mirror rather than its more typical behavior, diffuse reflectance. If you want to eliminate the hot spots, you need to control the light striking her. A more diffused source will give less specular reflectance. OTOH, you might want to simply be more careful in your framing and composition, b/c those hot spots emphasize her muscular definition as well as being characteristic of oiled skin. If you've got enough gear and patience, you can use flags and skims to achieve highlights where you want them and none on her face.

Old 04-28-2006, 07:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
J T Smith

Member GG#: 35390
Comments: 0

jtsmith is offline IP: 12.45.209.149

Specular highlights on her body is not necessarily a bad thing with body builders. Sometimes it can accent their tone.