Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
RAW help please ... images too dark
Old 04-13-2006, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Photomart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36974
Location: Dallas Fort Worth
Posts: 938
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Photomart is offline IP: 24.0.204.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ok. I know my way around Photoshop and my D100, but I rarely shoot in RAW mode, so this has got me puzzeled. I just completed a shoot for a liquor company with my camera teatherd to my laptop. The images look good on the camera LCD, they look good in Nikon View, they looked good in the Nikon View histogram, they even looked good when I displayed them full screen. Then I used Adobe bridget to convert the images to JPGs and all the images are a stop or two darker. I opened all the images in Photoshop and they're all about two stops darker. WTF? This has also happened to several photographer I know, and they were not a big help. SO .... HELP!

Thanks,
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Photomart Visit Photomart's homepage! Find More Posts by Photomart
 
Re: RAW help please ... images too dark
Old 04-13-2006, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
roninsps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member GG#: 35855
Location: Blue Bell
Posts: 44
Comments: 0

roninsps is offline IP: 69.249.21.97
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photomart
Ok. I know my way around Photoshop and my D100, but I rarely shoot in RAW mode, so this has got me puzzeled. I just completed a shoot for a liquor company with my camera teatherd to my laptop. The images look good on the camera LCD, they look good in Nikon View, they looked good in the Nikon View histogram, they even looked good when I displayed them full screen. Then I used Adobe bridget to convert the images to JPGs and all the images are a stop or two darker. I opened all the images in Photoshop and they're all about two stops darker. WTF? This has also happened to several photographer I know, and they were not a big help. SO .... HELP!

Thanks,
Need more Info...like what version photoshop? When was the last time you got a raw file update for photoshop? What color profile gamut you were shooting in? When you viewed them full screen, what mode were you in? what program did you use? was it still nikonview?

Nikon view will open the file up in whatever colorspace you took the photo in, and display it as "real" as opposed to say, taking the pic in adobe colorspace and opening that file up in an sRGB program like windows or acdsee. The colors and lighting look dramatically different. Also photoshop automatically adjusts the image when you open up a raw or dng file... You need to turn off all of the functions that are embedded both in your camera or in photoshop raw...You need to be more clear...

-Steve
  View Public Profile Send a private message to roninsps Visit roninsps's homepage! Find More Posts by roninsps
 
Re: RAW help please ... images too dark
Old 04-13-2006, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member GG#: 44631
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 57
Comments: 0

KMiller is offline IP: 24.241.252.129
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Marty,

Just initially, without knowing more details, assuming you are using ACR and Bridge/CS2, it sounds like you have the 'Auto' adjustments on in ACR. Might need to turn them puppies off.

Hope that helps.

Ken
__________________
  View Public Profile Send a private message to KMiller Find More Posts by KMiller
 
Re: RAW help please ... images too dark
Old 04-13-2006, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Bob_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37643
Location: Littleton CO
Posts: 55
Comments: 2
Send a message via MSN to Bob_S

Bob_S is offline IP: 12.42.64.69
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I suggest using the Nikon Capture 4 software to do your .jpeg conversions. I've not had much luck with the Adobe Bridge or Adobe RAW converter....I guess CS3 is going to have a much improved version, but I also know that Nikon/Nik are coming out with a brand new version of the Capture software. Hope this helps.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Bob_S Visit Bob_S's homepage! Find More Posts by Bob_S
 
Re: RAW help please ... images too dark
Old 04-14-2006, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Photomart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36974
Location: Dallas Fort Worth
Posts: 938
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Photomart is offline IP: 24.0.204.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Yeah! G1 photographers come though and save the day!

Thank you for all your information. My images were frosted Vodka bottles shot against a white background. I discovered that I my RAW converter in Photoshop was defaulted to "Use Auto Adjustment." Whe it saw all that white, it darkened my pictures. When I unchecked the "Auto Adjustments", the images brightened up and looked the same as when I viewed them on my laptop. Now I just need to find out how to set this as my default so it doesn't always try to auto correct my images. AND, I need to figure out how to make Adobe Bridge browser show all the images without the Auto Adjustment But that's another day ...

Thanks again!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Photomart Visit Photomart's homepage! Find More Posts by Photomart
 
Re: RAW help please ... images too dark
Old 04-14-2006, 09:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41719
Location: West Plano, TX
Posts: 558
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to srwatters Send a message via Yahoo to srwatters

srwatters is offline IP: 71.240.167.32
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

In the raw converter window (ACR), click the right arrow for the context menu and then select 'save as new camera raw defaults'. Done deal.
Welcome to the 'real' RAW world!
__________________
Scott Watters
http://www.polodigital.net
Nikon | Hasselblad | Phase One | Hensel | Apple
  View Public Profile Send a private message to srwatters Visit srwatters's homepage! Find More Posts by srwatters
 
Re: RAW help please ... images too dark
Old 04-14-2006, 10:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Engineer

 
Bevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member GG#: 36340
Location: Macon Georgia
Posts: 113
Comments: 7

Bevan is offline IP: 68.99.172.134
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Let s start over when you use raw you have pixel onfo only color and illumination
no color space or adobe work space info yet.
Now if you open a raw file in PS you allow adobe to assign a work space color
and a defalt croma for your monitor.
Adobe will open the file with its raw reader and allow you to see the processed
raw file as an psd photoshop file which you must then save as a jpg.

So as you are opening the raw file before you click open you must tell PS cs2
how you want the file processed. as all the custom settings in the camera
color space and white balance and compensation are ignored and you can
process the image any way you like in any color space or white balance or
expos f stop or contrast. Just raw data to be processed.

Now use the sliders to set Levels to adjust the Histogram for the best white
and black output levels and then the center histogram slider for the density
you desire.
and the white ballance to the correct temp. flash around 5900K
then ec to fix expos problems.
and open or prosess the raw file.
I t is a time consuming work Flow but you will have total controle of the data
to make the photo after you shoot the photo. lol
__________________
http://www.pbase.com/bpryor

Nikon D200 D70 D1
It is not the camera it is the eye!
The hardest part is to Start.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Bevan Visit Bevan's homepage! Find More Posts by Bevan
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Posting images from Portfolio Problems!!!! R_Fredrick_Smith Main Community Forum 1 12-10-2006 02:08 AM
Images and Thanks for you C&C's heavenly_light Photo Reviews & Critiques Only 3 10-30-2006 05:21 AM
Images Shot Are Models Property Since When? prokop Main Community Forum 20 09-20-2005 10:59 PM
Stolen Images? bruggemj Main Community Forum 8 08-22-2005 12:41 PM
Help with dark web images? nltrapani Tech Talk Forum 5 12-04-2003 03:58 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94