Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Photoshop CS activation question
Old 03-29-2006, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50912
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 5
Comments: 0

Jay Jay is offline IP: 205.188.116.7
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have CS on my PC at work and activated it when first installed. I had some serious issues with the computer and ended up needing to have work done on it and the hard drive mirrored to a new one. When I booted it up after getting back to the office I got a message about my configuration changing and needing to reactivate, which I did.

I am wanting to install the program on my laptop but and concerned that using another activation will screw me if I have a problem and need to reinstall again. Anyone know if I should "save" the installation or if I would be alright installing on my laptop.

Thanks,
Jay Jay
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Jay Jay Find More Posts by Jay Jay
 
Re: Photoshop CS activation question
Old 03-29-2006, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
StuHaluski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 36068
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 350
Comments: 1

StuHaluski is offline IP: 24.131.44.53
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Read the EULA I believe it says you may install your Photoshop on a mobile computer as long as you do not use both your laptop and your desktop at the same time.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to StuHaluski Visit StuHaluski's homepage! Find More Posts by StuHaluski
 
Re: Photoshop CS activation question
Old 03-30-2006, 09:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
johne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35558
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 254
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to johne

johne is offline IP: 207.137.21.111
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I had some massive problems with a Mac G5 tower last year that included failed hard drives (x2) and failed mother board (x1) and finally the total replacement of the machine with a new G5 Quad :-) I had the same activiation issues, but a phone call to Adobe (each time I reinstalled after I had reached the max activations) with an explanation of what had happened and they were happy to grant a new activiation each time.

John
  View Public Profile Send a private message to johne Visit johne's homepage! Find More Posts by johne
 
Re: Photoshop CS activation question
Old 03-30-2006, 10:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41719
Location: West Plano, TX
Posts: 558
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to srwatters Send a message via Yahoo to srwatters

srwatters is offline IP: 65.197.247.151
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I second what johne says. Just call Adobe. I find their customer support to be in a class above all other software companies that I have ever dealt with. I know the software isn't cheap, but I'm willing to pay for the excellent product and support that comes with it.

I recently had a main logic board failure on my G5 iMac (rev A, a known issue). I was lucky to de-activate it before I took it in for repair. When I got is back a simple re-activation did the trick. Have your proof of purchase available when you call and a fax will get you back working again.

Good luck.
__________________
Scott Watters
http://www.polodigital.net
Nikon | Hasselblad | Phase One | Hensel | Apple
  View Public Profile Send a private message to srwatters Visit srwatters's homepage! Find More Posts by srwatters
 
Re: Photoshop CS activation question
Old 03-31-2006, 01:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

At some point if you re-install and re-activate enough times it triggers a message that you can't activate it again. However, in most cases, all you need do is call Adobe and explain what happened and they complete the activation for you.
Cheers,
rfs
__________________

"The map is not the Territory"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photoshop Question PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 10 05-03-2007 02:11 AM
A question For The PhotoShop Guru's PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 4 07-04-2006 01:46 AM
Photoshop question - yet another batch job question Soujrnr Tech Talk Forum 4 12-24-2004 02:48 PM
Photoshop "Automate/Batch" question Gunfitr Tech Talk Forum 12 08-11-2003 07:09 AM
Photoshop Question... ejphoto Tech Talk Forum 11 03-18-2003 06:07 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93