Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Canon 20D ..hot spots ?
Old 03-19-2006, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member GG#: 50518
Location: Tampa / Clearwater
Posts: 462
Comments: 1
My Mood:

That_Look_Photo is offline IP: 68.200.100.150
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

While getting to know the 20D I noticed that when in the AV mode I was getting hot spots on things that were white. But in program mode the camera made sure that did not happen. I thought when in AV mode the camera picks the right shutter speed with a user set aperture. So you would think the camera should see the blown out part and change shutter speed right ? If this is the case I guess I should always shoot raw with jpg to cover my butt right ?

Mike

That Look Photo
  View Public Profile Send a private message to That_Look_Photo Visit That_Look_Photo's homepage! Find More Posts by That_Look_Photo
 
Re: Canon 20D ..hot spots ?
Old 03-19-2006, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RSStory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38048
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 916
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to RSStory Send a message via MSN to RSStory Send a message via Yahoo to RSStory

RSStory is offline IP: 216.65.173.234
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by That_Look_Photo
While getting to know the 20D I noticed that when in the AV mode I was getting hot spots on things that were white. But in program mode the camera made sure that did not happen. I thought when in AV mode the camera picks the right shutter speed with a user set aperture. So you would think the camera should see the blown out part and change shutter speed right ? If this is the case I guess I should always shoot raw with jpg to cover my butt right ?
Mike
That Look Photo
I cant answer about the hotspots in AV mode as I always shoot in manual. It is what I learned on back in the days of film and manual only cameras. But the part about shooting in RAW format is a big yes... You should definately do that

Scott
__________________
Trying to tame a red head is like trying to herd cats!
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RSStory Visit RSStory's homepage! Find More Posts by RSStory
 
Re: Canon 20D ..hot spots ?
Old 03-19-2006, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35629
Location: Toronto
Posts: 392
Comments: 0

grsphoto is offline IP: 70.51.140.114
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Shooting in RAW won't save the image if it is blown out. Once it goes over there is no pulling it back.

What might be happening is in Program mode the metering is reading a larger area then you have it set for in AV mode.

Glenn
__________________
www.grsphoto.ca <-----my photography
www.Toronto-photographers.com <-------Toronto Photo Resources
  View Public Profile Send a private message to grsphoto Visit grsphoto's homepage! Find More Posts by grsphoto
 
Re: Canon 20D ..hot spots ?
Old 03-20-2006, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
moscato_images's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member GG#: 43840
Location: Peoria
Posts: 606
Comments: 2
Send a message via ICQ to moscato_images Send a message via AIM to moscato_images Send a message via Yahoo to moscato_images

moscato_images is offline IP: 12.221.236.136
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally Posted by That_Look_Photo
While getting to know the 20D I noticed that when in the AV mode I was getting hot spots on things that were white. But in program mode the camera made sure that did not happen. I thought when in AV mode the camera picks the right shutter speed with a user set aperture. So you would think the camera should see the blown out part and change shutter speed right ? If this is the case I guess I should always shoot raw with jpg to cover my butt right ?
Mike
That Look Photo

I believe in Av mode you don't have the option to change the EV scale with the round right hand thumb button. When you are on P, you have the option to move the EV scale. I would guess that when you go to P mode, your EV scale is not on 0, it's higher which gives you hot spots.

-joshua
  View Public Profile Send a private message to moscato_images Visit moscato_images's homepage! Find More Posts by moscato_images
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Lens Quality? Sigma vs Canon LePhoto Tech Talk Forum 21 12-23-2006 02:00 AM
Canon Advice Needed Brad Tech Talk Forum 24 01-02-2006 06:59 AM
Nikon vs Canon objektiv Tech Talk Forum 9 02-11-2005 12:12 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93