Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 12:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Foto_Highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38762
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 120
Comments: 0

Foto_Highway is offline IP: 70.161.57.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I just got an S3 and have noticed a really bad light fall off on one side of the frame when using studio lights. The fall off only occurs using studio lights...never outside with ambient.

I have used a 18-70mm lens -removed the lens hood - and a normal 50mm lens and it does it with both.

Anyone had this issue?

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Foto_Highway Visit Foto_Highway's homepage! Find More Posts by Foto_Highway
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Bawdy Little Monkey

 
SamBeasley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41173
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 1,387
Comments: 1
Send a message via AIM to SamBeasley Send a message via Yahoo to SamBeasley

SamBeasley is offline IP: 24.183.227.46
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I don't have an S3, and not trying to insult your intelligence here, but it looks and sounds like your shutter speed's too fast for your strobes. Maybe your shutter is set faster than the sync speed of your camera?

Sam
  View Public Profile Send a private message to SamBeasley Visit SamBeasley's homepage! Find More Posts by SamBeasley
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
rdavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member GG#: 37651
Location: Houston
Posts: 442
Comments: 0

rdavis is offline IP: 69.15.164.92
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have an S3 and have shot everything on it in the studio with out seeing this. Might be a flaw in your camera.

All these are S3



  View Public Profile Send a private message to rdavis Visit rdavis's homepage! Find More Posts by rdavis
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RSStory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38048
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 916
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to RSStory Send a message via MSN to RSStory Send a message via Yahoo to RSStory

RSStory is offline IP: 216.65.172.241
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

That would make sense Sam...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RSStory Visit RSStory's homepage! Find More Posts by RSStory
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
J T Smith

 
jtsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35390
Location: Pittsfield
Posts: 883
Comments: 0

jtsmith is offline IP: 12.45.209.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

sync speed should be set at 180 or below in the studio.

jt
  View Public Profile Send a private message to jtsmith Visit jtsmith's homepage! Find More Posts by jtsmith
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Foto_Highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38762
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 120
Comments: 0

Foto_Highway is offline IP: 70.161.57.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

sych is at 60....that aint it. any other possibility other than faulty camera? Wierd...cause it only happens in studio - nuffin else.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Foto_Highway Visit Foto_Highway's homepage! Find More Posts by Foto_Highway
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Foto_Highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38762
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 120
Comments: 0

Foto_Highway is offline IP: 70.161.57.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

sych is at 60....that aint it. any other possibility other than faulty camera? Wierd...cause it only happens in studio - nuffin else.

google came up zilch. Maybe I'm the one unlucky person.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Foto_Highway Visit Foto_Highway's homepage! Find More Posts by Foto_Highway
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 05:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39173
Location: Hermitage/Nashville
Posts: 363
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to LarryAB

LarryAB is offline IP: 68.52.149.80
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It does look like a shutter blade in the way. Are you using a radio slave setup that might be affecting your sync timing? Maybe try rear curtain sync instead of front curtain?

Maybe there's a problem with your strobes and they fire late for some reason. It's hard to image what could cause this other than some sort of sync problem.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to LarryAB Visit LarryAB's homepage! Find More Posts by LarryAB
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 05:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Foto_Highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member GG#: 38762
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 120
Comments: 0

Foto_Highway is offline IP: 70.161.57.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

U R THE MAN!

It IS the cheap radio slave. I tried a sych cord - problem solved. Damn. I shot 2 people with the black line on the side. That f*cking sucks.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Foto_Highway Visit Foto_Highway's homepage! Find More Posts by Foto_Highway
 
Re: Fuji S3 Vignette
Old 03-02-2006, 05:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39173
Location: Hermitage/Nashville
Posts: 363
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to LarryAB

LarryAB is offline IP: 68.52.149.80
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I only said that because my non-cheap radio setup does that to me once in a blue moon. Every now and then it'll fire late and I'll get the second blade across the bottom of my pic. At least now you don't have to cuss your expensive camera.

Glad ya got it worked out. Sucks about all those pics though.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to LarryAB Visit LarryAB's homepage! Find More Posts by LarryAB
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Vignette ... R_Fredrick_Smith Main Community Forum 3 12-21-2007 10:51 AM
Fuji S2 and S3 stuff Al_Nowak Tech Talk Forum 3 01-29-2006 04:13 AM
Fuji S4 on the way? Al_Nowak Tech Talk Forum 9 10-18-2005 01:52 AM
Fuji s20 pro lenses Fantasiesimage Tech Talk Forum 6 03-22-2005 08:04 PM
Fuji or Kodak Paper???? Clint Tech Talk Forum 7 04-15-2003 01:35 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94