Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Studio Work Question
Old 02-18-2006, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Still Learning

 
Bonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36942
Location: Ventura
Posts: 569
Comments: 1
My Mood:

Bonner is offline IP: 69.230.232.69
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I may have missed this topic in the past but, are there many studio shooters out here that tether your cameras to a laptop while shooting? I use it with Nikon Capture.

We D70 shooter have a very small LCD on our cameras and it is great to see the images pop up on the full screen of the laptop. I think, also, it is good for the models to see their poses, hair, makeup and expressions.

Jim



Elizabeth
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Bonner Visit Bonner's homepage! Find More Posts by Bonner
 
Re: Studio Work Question
Old 02-18-2006, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35629
Location: Toronto
Posts: 393
Comments: 0

grsphoto is offline IP: 70.51.140.114
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I don't want my subjects, to be distracted by video screen... and i don't want to as well.

I will use the on camera display to do a check before starting to shoot, then download to lap top/ studio computer after the set to check poses, make up etc.,

The only time I would think to display each shot, as I shoot it, would be in a client situation, or in a workshop...other wise it would really break the flow.

Glenn
  View Public Profile Send a private message to grsphoto Visit grsphoto's homepage! Find More Posts by grsphoto
 
Re: Studio Work Question
Old 02-18-2006, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Free Member

 
Photomart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36974
Location: Dallas Fort Worth
Posts: 938
Comments: 0
My Mood:

Photomart is offline IP: 24.0.204.220
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When I'm shooting product photography (like jewelry) or am on a location shoot I always tether my D100 to my laptop. It's a great way to make sure the shoot looks good, and my clients love to look at what I'm shooting and make suggestions.

For my studio work, I rarely tether my camera (it slows me down). The only time I tether my camera on a studio shoot is when I'm trying a new complex lighting setup or when the MUA wants to see how the model looks on camera.

Unfortunately, my D100 has an the USB 1.0 port and it's WAY too slow for me to use it regularly. I can't wait to get my hands on a D200 and see how fast my shoot go with the USB 2.0.



  View Public Profile Send a private message to Photomart Visit Photomart's homepage! Find More Posts by Photomart
 
Re: Studio Work Question
Old 02-18-2006, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I like to use tethered when doing workshops, but most of the time I wouldn't use it in a live model shoot since it proves to be distracting. The model is seeing the photos before they have been retouched, softened, cropped, etc and often what they see will not be what they expected. If you are working with a model who is perfectly made up and you crop exactly in camera as you want, then its a maybe. But with today's ultra sharp lens, even a made up model will often not be too enthusiastic about the details she sees.

Like others, I really like tethered for product shots, since then you can see if you have the DOF right which is often critical, especially on macro shots. I've have little demo page that shows the awesome difference that can occur between f2.8 and f22 on macro work. See this link to compare:

http://rfredricksmith.com/macro/

Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Studio Work Question
Old 02-19-2006, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Mark_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35470
Location: Atlanta / Roswell, GA USA
Posts: 325
Comments: 0

Mark_A is offline IP: 65.6.134.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I tether in the studio all the time. I've never found it to be a distraction or a problem in any way with clients or models. I actually find that it helps the interactivity of the session because we can critique the shots every several frames and decide on what we like and don't like. Even in nude shoot with cliients, they put on their robe and review the images between poses and many times it has helped make the client happier with the end results.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_A Visit Mark_A's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_A
 
Re: Studio Work Question
Old 02-19-2006, 10:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Still Learning

 
Bonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36942
Location: Ventura
Posts: 569
Comments: 1
My Mood:

Bonner is offline IP: 69.230.232.69
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I agree...it is there for those that like it. I can clearly see the color balance or any unwanted areas of the image much more easily. I'm a tripod studio shooter but can see a problem for those that more around without one.

Jim

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Bonner Visit Bonner's homepage! Find More Posts by Bonner
 
Re: Studio Work Question
Old 02-20-2006, 10:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
Mark_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35470
Location: Atlanta / Roswell, GA USA
Posts: 325
Comments: 0

Mark_A is offline IP: 65.6.134.149
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I seldom use a tripod for shots in the studio. I have a "powered" USB cable for my D70S and a range extender for my D1X -- I can move around fairly easily becasue I have about 25' of cable from my system. I'd love to have wireless, but it's not as fast and really expensive at this time. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Mark_A Visit Mark_A's homepage! Find More Posts by Mark_A
 
Calling all D70 shooters!!! Help!
Old 02-21-2006, 10:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member GG#: 35679
Location: Escondido
Posts: 852
Comments: 0
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Soujrnr Send a message via Yahoo to Soujrnr

Soujrnr is offline IP: 207.5.230.65
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I am shooting with a D70 but I have been under the impression that I can't tether it to my laptop. Am I mistaken? If I am, how do I do it and what software will import it while I'm shooting? I have Photoshop CS currently. My laptop is a Dell running at 2.4 GHz but nothing fancy for a video board; just the default C840 driver from Dell for the onboard video. I'd love to tether for some things I shoot. Your thoughts would be most helpful.

Good day!

Mike
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Soujrnr Visit Soujrnr's homepage! Find More Posts by Soujrnr
 
Re: Calling all D70 shooters!!! Help!
Old 02-21-2006, 11:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
srwatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member GG#: 41719
Location: West Plano, TX
Posts: 558
Comments: 0
Send a message via AIM to srwatters Send a message via Yahoo to srwatters

srwatters is offline IP: 24.1.179.246
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

[ QUOTE ]
I am shooting with a D70 but I have been under the impression that I can't tether it to my laptop. Am I mistaken? If I am, how do I do it and what software will import it while I'm shooting? I have Photoshop CS currently. My laptop is a Dell running at 2.4 GHz but nothing fancy for a video board; just the default C840 driver from Dell for the onboard video. I'd love to tether for some things I shoot. Your thoughts would be most helpful.

[/ QUOTE ]
You can teather it, but it runs USB 1.1 so it's slooooooowwwww. You're much better off with a Sandisk Ultra II or Extreme III and a fast USB or firewire reader. You may need Nikon Capture Camera Control (extra $) also.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to srwatters Visit srwatters's homepage! Find More Posts by srwatters
 
Re: Calling all D70 shooters!!! Help!
Old 02-22-2006, 10:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Still Learning

 
Bonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36942
Location: Ventura
Posts: 569
Comments: 1
My Mood:

Bonner is offline IP: 69.230.232.69
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I use a D70 with a year-old Dell laptop. Nikon Capture (on their web page) is about $99 and your camera came with a USB cable. That's all you need.

With my setup it takes only about 3 seconds to see your image full screen on the computer. The other advantage, you bypass your flash memory and have the resoures of you computer for the memory (no downloads). You can also use the computer to run your camera as a remote.

Elizabeth MOP # 217060

  View Public Profile Send a private message to Bonner Visit Bonner's homepage! Find More Posts by Bonner
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Answer a Photo Question then leave a Photo Question? rolandogomez Main Community Forum 35 12-02-2007 07:00 PM
Answer to question on sensor size vs crop factor Brad Tech Talk Forum 17 01-02-2006 10:40 PM
Studio Lighting Newbie shopping for a basic setup - Input Appreciated! TimH Main Community Forum 23 12-29-2005 05:59 AM
Studio Work on a Friday Night Make-up by DeAnn Main Community Forum 2 11-05-2005 10:19 AM
Tampa Area Photographers - Good News- Studio Opens mcpo22 Main Community Forum 2 09-17-2005 05:10 PM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94