Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Canon D20 Questions
Old 02-12-2006, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
CorpusPhotog
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35722
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 48
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to luiszepeda

luiszepeda is offline IP: 24.175.160.215
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Will I be able to use the CF cards on both D10 and D20? I know one is 6.3mp the other is 8some, are they interchangeable with images on them? I know from experience that I cannot see the images shot on the D10 on the G2 less megapixels but Im afraid of shooting to find out. Has anyone done that? Will there be a folder for the 4 mp 6 mp and 8mp if i decide to shoot on all three with one CF card.... Just curious...also anyone find any glitches on the D20 that are bothersome?

Thanks,
Luis
  View Public Profile Send a private message to luiszepeda Visit luiszepeda's homepage! Find More Posts by luiszepeda
 
Re: Canon D20 Questions
Old 02-12-2006, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member GG#: 39173
Location: Hermitage/Nashville
Posts: 363
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to LarryAB

LarryAB is offline IP: 68.52.149.80
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If I understand you correctly, you want to take some pics with the 20D, then take the CF card out, put it in a 10D and continue to take pics? You can do that. Not sure why you'd want to do it, but it will work.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to LarryAB Visit LarryAB's homepage! Find More Posts by LarryAB
 
Re: Canon D20 Questions
Old 02-12-2006, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
CorpusPhotog
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Member GG#: 35722
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 48
Comments: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to luiszepeda

luiszepeda is offline IP: 24.175.160.215
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Thanks....don't really want to do that but I've been in a situation when I wanted to shoot a CF card on my G2 and find out that I had some images on it from the D10 I wasn't sure if I would lose those images on the card. Using my D10 as a back now and just curious. I know Canon doesnt like to lose money thus the new battery grips with each new camera but I needed to know if the cards/images were backward compatible so to speak.... Thanks again

Luis
  View Public Profile Send a private message to luiszepeda Visit luiszepeda's homepage! Find More Posts by luiszepeda
 
Re: Canon D20 Questions
Old 02-12-2006, 11:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,691
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

If I recall, it may mess up the file numbering scheme. But that would be the only problem, and a fairly minor one. But just try it. Put the card in 20D and Format. Then shoot 10 shots. Then take out and put in the 10D. Shoot 10 shots. Then look at the card and see what you get. The worst that can happen is that you'd just put in back in the 20D and reformat.
Cheers,
rfs
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Canon D20 Questions
Old 02-13-2006, 01:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member GG#: 38049
Location: Tracy
Posts: 101
Comments: 0

Michael_G is offline IP: 67.187.196.167
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

It should record images from both cameras. I've even written edited files from my PC back to a card and then taken more shots on it. You probably won't be able to view the images shot on the other camera but there's no reason why the card would be corrupted or won't write the shots. Like the others said, avoid it if you can. Cards are so cheap these days it's easier to carry a few than get into file numbering issues and not being able to view shots taken on another camera.

MG
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Michael_G Visit Michael_G's homepage! Find More Posts by Michael_G
 
Re: Canon D20 Questions
Old 02-14-2006, 11:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member

 
yancey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member GG#: 37438
Location: Huntsville
Posts: 11
Comments: 0

yancey is offline IP: 24.214.88.150
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

As a 10D and 20D owner, I can confirm what the others have said about the interchangability. It will screw with the numbering somewhat, but I have been in a situation where I needed a few more shots from the 20D and the only card handy was in the 10D, so I pulled it out and stuck it in the 20D.

Good luck
  View Public Profile Send a private message to yancey Visit yancey's homepage! Find More Posts by yancey
 
Re: Canon D20 Questions
Old 02-18-2006, 12:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
JohnPaul
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 4.252.156.190
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote



I haven't had too much trouble with that,...but I have had to reformat the cards when I tried it between the 5D and 1DMk2 bodies to insure that I won't have screwed up files.. I just reformat the card every time I insert it into my camera..and don't swap cards between bodies, even if they are the same kind..

Losing images sucks, and learning that once is too many times.. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

JP
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon EOS 30D Digital SLR Camera & Canon....$550USD upsales Model Topics 1 07-07-2010 11:02 PM
Lens Quality? Sigma vs Canon LePhoto Tech Talk Forum 21 12-23-2006 02:00 AM
Canon EOS users...a few questions, please. RHWeiner Tech Talk Forum 5 02-09-2006 09:17 AM
Breaking away from Nikon to Canon.. Now the questions for Canon people.. That_Look_Photography Tech Talk Forum 17 09-13-2005 07:29 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94