Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Portable light advice & Hensel vs. Elinchrom
Old 02-11-2006, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

Member GG#: 37661
Comments: 1

eldor is offline IP: 70.81.96.35

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

I could use some lighting equipment advice...

My background is a couple of years experience with Alien Bees (2xB400 and 4xB800) with Photoflex umbrellas, several softboxes and a 5' Octodome. I also have the Vagabond battery pack.

I'm ready to move up to more serious lighting, particularly for use on location where there might not be power available. My main frustration with AB lights is that the power output is not consistent at low output (neither is the color temperature) and it's been confirmed by AB tech support that more consistent performance is only when using 1/8th power or more. And I really like less power because I favor large apertures and shallow DOF for portraits.

Anyway, I think I've narrowed down my selection to either the Hensel Premium Porty or the Elinchrom Ranger RX AS. Neither system is available locally (Montreal) and I've also not found a source in Canada so I'll probably end up ordering from B&H (which I've done many times before).

Does it make any sense at all to use either of those systems in the studio as well as for on location stuff? I guess the weakness is with the modeling light more than anything else (in that there's no proportional modeling light output).

With the Hensel, is the radio receiver compatible with Pocket Wizards?