Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 08:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35383
Location: Franklin
Posts: 33
Comments: 0

MichaelJ is offline IP: 204.95.65.190
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Ok, I have PS7; I need to automate an open/save/close function. I basically need to open every tiff file (individually) in one folder, save it as a jpeg into another folder, close it, and do the next one. I have 250 files to do this with. I have the actions recorded, and they work fine. Problem is, when I start it with Automate/Batch, it opens each file like it's supposed to, but then it just overwrites the first file with the next one. What am I doing wrong?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to MichaelJ Visit MichaelJ's homepage! Find More Posts by MichaelJ
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Free Member

 
R_Fredrick_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member GG#: 35872
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth Area
Posts: 3,660
Comments: 41

R_Fredrick_Smith is offline IP: 67.174.71.224
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

When you open the Automate | Batch dialog, you'll see an area which says "Override Action Save command". Check that, and then use the part below it to establish the filenameing convention you want for the jpg file.
Cheers,
Roger
  View Public Profile Send a private message to R_Fredrick_Smith Visit R_Fredrick_Smith's homepage! Find More Posts by R_Fredrick_Smith
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 09:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,046
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.80.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hi Michael,
If my memory serves me correct, you had a similar question awhile back, and the "fix" was to put a check mark in the "override save as" box.
Don,t know if this helps or not,...also are using "save" or "save as"?

On another note: I remember you had a problem with a micro switch on the cf card door of your D-rebel,...what was the outcome?
Ron
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35383
Location: Franklin
Posts: 33
Comments: 0

MichaelJ is offline IP: 204.95.65.190
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Wow, you have a better memory than I do! Yep, this is the same old automate problem I had before. I had set the project aside and now I have a deadline to meet.

I'm checking Override Action "Save As" Commands, and choosing File Naming as "Document Name"+"extension". I want to use the original document name, although I don't have to, if choosing something else makes it work.

What it's doing is, opening file_1.tif, saving into proper folder as file_1.jpg, opening file_2.tif, saving into proper folder as file_1.jpg, opening file_2.tif, saving into proper folder as file_1.jpg, and on and on. And the one photo that always appears in the folder is the very first one it opened.

And yes, I had a problem with the CF card door sensor; bought another used body, and I've been using it ever since. I really do need to get that broken one sent back to Canon...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to MichaelJ Visit MichaelJ's homepage! Find More Posts by MichaelJ
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35383
Location: Franklin
Posts: 33
Comments: 0

MichaelJ is offline IP: 204.95.65.190
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I have that checked, but what happens is it opens file_1.tif, saves into proper folder as file_1.jpg, opens file_2.tif, saves into proper folder as file_1.jpg, opens file_2.tif, saves into proper folder as file_1.jpg, and on and on. And the one photo that always appears in the folder is the very first one it opened.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to MichaelJ Visit MichaelJ's homepage! Find More Posts by MichaelJ
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,046
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.80.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

when you made your action,..did you use "save" or "save as",.. maybe it makes a difference,..I don't know. When I have made an action to save tif to jpg, I used "save as" and had no problems.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 10:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35383
Location: Franklin
Posts: 33
Comments: 0

MichaelJ is offline IP: 204.95.65.190
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I used "save as", because otherwise it would just save it as the original tiff format. I'm sure I'm missing something really simple...
  View Public Profile Send a private message to MichaelJ Visit MichaelJ's homepage! Find More Posts by MichaelJ
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 11:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer

 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member GG#: 36882
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Posts: 1,046
Comments: 2
My Mood:

RonC is offline IP: 24.4.80.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I just created an action and saved tif's to jpg's from a source fldr to a destination fldr, and it worked fine,..I have PS7 also.
Here is a screen shot of the batch command window the way I had it set.
Maybe you need to start over and see if that works [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Sorry I can't be more help.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to RonC Visit RonC's homepage! Find More Posts by RonC
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 11:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member GG#: 39608
Location: Hillsborough
Posts: 474
Comments: 0

hipchildreth is offline IP: 66.57.105.187
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Under 'Destination:' > 'File Naming', do you have it set to serialize the filenames? For instance have the 'File Naming' drop downs set to 'Document Name' + '3 Digit Serial Number' + 'extension'.

That's the only thing I can think of right now.

Chip
  View Public Profile Send a private message to hipchildreth Visit hipchildreth's homepage! Find More Posts by hipchildreth
 
Re: Help! Photoshop Automate/Action
Old 02-02-2006, 11:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35383
Location: Franklin
Posts: 33
Comments: 0

MichaelJ is offline IP: 204.95.65.190
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Hey, that worked! I didn't have Override Action "Open" Commands checked; but I'd swear I had tried it that way before. Either way, it appears to be chugging along right now. Thanks for the input.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to MichaelJ Visit MichaelJ's homepage! Find More Posts by MichaelJ
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke and Mirrors ... and Photoshop! Photomart Main Community Forum 3 12-14-2009 10:18 AM
PhotoShop CS2 Problem PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 2 10-21-2008 10:48 AM
Photoshop Question PhotoDave1 Tech Talk Forum 10 05-03-2007 02:11 AM
Photoshop, what version to buy or steal StuHaluski Tech Talk Forum 11 03-24-2005 07:27 PM
Poll on Photoshop CS StuHaluski Tech Talk Forum 9 11-13-2003 10:56 AM

Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93