Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
New photog needs light kit advice, build portfolio
Old 01-31-2006, 03:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 49795
Comments: 0

tedbragg is offline IP: 24.167.39.203

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Hey everybody!

I'm new to photography, and need some help picking out a good, budget light kit. I work for a local magazine, and will be shooting people for covers, editorials, advertisements, etc...basically everything (I'm their art director) but I'm stumped with what to get.

Up until now, I've supplied painted artwork and graphic design to make up for the lack of photos -- but our advertisers demand a slicker looking venue, so...

Anyway here I am, SLR in hand and ready to get started...

I work in tight quarters (10'x12' area) so a small setup is prefered. On eBay they've got $250 1250watt kits, but I'm not sure to get softboxes, umbrellas, or what...

The magazine wants pics like what you'd find in major newsstand mags like Vanity Fair and Rolling Stone's features -- that's the lighting style we're aiming at.

Along with people, I'll be shooting products for our reviews and such...

Also, i'm in a catch 22: I can't get models to work with me because I don't have a portfolio yet. I can't build a port without shooting models. What can I do?
  View Public Profile Send a private message to tedbragg Find More Posts by tedbragg

Re: New photog needs light kit advice, build portfolio
Old 01-31-2006, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fantasiesimage

Member GG#:
Comments:

IP: 68.103.164.252

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!