Photo Tips Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  


 
Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Tech Talk Forum
 

Tech Talk Forum Photography & Technical Related Only!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
OK I need some help here.
Old 03-28-2003, 11:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.8.131
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Two things

1) I found this Site which has Linear and Non-linear ICC Profiles. I am a non linear video editor by trade, but I have no idea what the heck a non linear ICC profile is. Will someone explain please.

2) I have some images I want to have printed from my 10D. But I hate inkjets. And I refuse to sell any of my images unless they are printed by a profesional lab. My regular lab will do them, but I have been unhappy with some of the service as of late (ordering 8x10s and getting 8x12s regularly, that sorta thing) So what digital labs do you recommend and how do i get in touch with them.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Re: OK I need some help here.
Old 03-29-2003, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member GG#: 35623
Location: Springfield
Posts: 173
Comments: 0

bscott3125 is offline IP: 12.218.160.12
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

I too was a bit lost when I saw the ICC profiles at the link you provided. I'm still not completely clear but once I have my 10D and can experiment I think this will help. Mine is still on order [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

At any rate, take a look at the following links:

http://dx.sheridan.com/advisor/icc_profiles.html
http://www.color.org/
http://www.adobe.com/support/techgui...lossary/I.html

Hope this helps!

-Brent
  View Public Profile Send a private message to bscott3125 Visit bscott3125's homepage! Find More Posts by bscott3125
 
Re: OK I need some help here.
Old 03-29-2003, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Amateur

 
jford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35246
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 2,725
Comments: 7

jford is offline IP: 68.162.153.198
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

(i) check here International Color Consortium for more info on ICC profiles and color management in general

(ii) no idea. Sorry.

  View Public Profile Send a private message to jford Visit jford's homepage! Find More Posts by jford
 
Re: OK I need some help here.
Old 03-29-2003, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35195
Posts: 440
Comments: 0

rjwarren is offline IP: 24.160.121.2
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Clint

I've been producing prints for delivery to clients from EZ Prints

There are quick, cheap, and the package they ship has no invoice information in it -- so you can order the prints sent directly to the client without letting them know how little you paid! I think they also have a "pro" side of their site where you can set up purchasing by the client directly from them at your prices. I've not yet explored that.

Can't answer the question on linear vs non-linear as relates to ICC profiles for the 10D. I went out to the ICC site and they didn't list anything relating to "linear" in the current spec.

Bob
  View Public Profile Send a private message to rjwarren Visit rjwarren's homepage! Find More Posts by rjwarren
 
Re: OK I need some help here.
Old 03-29-2003, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lifetime Photographer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35204
Location: Freehold
Posts: 59
Comments: 0

dksun is offline IP: 67.84.118.191
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Canon's linear vs. nonlinear...as I understand it. Please correct me if I am mistaken.

A linear conversion takes a compressed RAW image file and creates a readable, but unprocessed (as in straight, linear) image as output. This allows you to decide how you want to process the raw data from your camera's sensor.

A non-linear conversion through Canon's software will process your RAW file through whatever steps Canon has decided is the best way to produce a good output image...given the various settings chosen by the user through the program. This includes sharpening, brighness, contrast, and color adjustments.

People (like Fred Miranda) have created collections of Photoshop actions to process the linear output in various ways...allowing the user to specify what kind of processing they want done to each individual image. In many cases, alternative (to Canon's) methods of image sharpening are also employed. Using different actions will result in various combinations of output sharpness, color balance, saturation, etc...depending on the judgement of each action's creator and what they feel is the "best".

(Hmm...I hope this is somewhat clear.)

As far as digital output goes, I've used ofoto.com on occasion and they seem to be ok. Many local one-hour labs are converting to digital and can handle jpegs and tiffs. I've heard that many Walmarts, Costcos, Sam's, Ritz, etc also have digital minilabs that can do this.
  View Public Profile Send a private message to dksun Visit dksun's homepage! Find More Posts by dksun
 
Hey thanks.. .
Old 03-29-2003, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member GG#: 35360
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 300
Comments: 0

Clint is offline IP: 65.148.9.37
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

that simplified my question quite nicely.

but as far as prints I want a lab that uses Kodak or Fugi paper that says "Professional" and or "Copyrighted"
  View Public Profile Send a private message to Clint Visit Clint's homepage! Find More Posts by Clint
 
Ordering prints.
Old 03-31-2003, 09:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Member GG#:
Posts: n/a
Comments:

IP: 165.95.207.169
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

First, you must learn to communicate with your lab. They do not read minds. The 35mm format will not print to 8x10, unless you either indicate an appropriate crop, or request "strip print". The "strip print" means to print the full image to 10 inches, and allow the 8" dimension to fall where it will, which is about 6 3/4 inches.

So, learn how to communicate correctly with the lab, and you will solve a whole lot of printing issues. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsors


New To Site? Need Help? Photographer & Model Links
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.

© 1999-2017 Garage Glamour™




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93